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JUVENILE 
GUARDIANSHIP 
UNDER THE 
JUVENILE CODE 

 
STATE LAW 

 
2008 PA 200 [MCL 
712A.19a] 

This act amended the Juvenile Code to permit the court to appoint 
a guardian at a permanency planning hearing in lieu of terminating 
parental rights or returning the child home; requires the court to 
order the Department of Human Services (DHS) to conduct a crimi-
nal record check and central registry clearance within 7 days and a 
home study within 30 days if a child is placed in a guardian’s or pro-
posed guardian’s home; requires the court to review a guardianship 
for a child annually; and requires the court to terminate or revoke a 
guardianship if it is found that continuation of the guardianship is 
not in the child’s best interest.  

2008 PA 202 [MCL 
712A.19] 

This act amended the Juvenile Code to allow DHS to implement 
concurrent planning. Concurrent planning includes working toward 
family reunification while at the same time establishing an alterna-
tive permanency plan to place a child for adoption or with a legal 
guardian, including identifying appropriate in-state or out-of-state 
options in case the child cannot be returned home safely.  

2008 PA 203 [MCL 
712A.19c]  

This act amended the Juvenile Code to permit the court to appoint 
a guardian for a child who remains in placement following the 
termination of parental rights if the court determines that such an 
appointment is in the best interest of the child. The court may not 
appoint a guardian for a state ward without the written consent of 
the Michigan Children’s Institute (MCI) superintendent. Other than 
obtaining the MCI superintendent’s consent, the procedures for 
implementing a guardianship for a state ward are the same as 
those required under 2008 PA 200. 
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2008 PA 260 [MCL 
722.871 et seq.] 

This act created the subsidized guardianship assistance act in 
Michigan, which allows the DHS only to pay assistance payments 
to caretakers who are appointed as juvenile guardians of foster chil-
dren. 

2009 PA 15 [MCL 
722.871 et seq.] 

This act amended the Guardianship Assistance Act, MCL 722.871 
et seq. to define the eligibility requirements for Michigan to utilize 
federal reimbursements for title IV-E eligible children. 

FEDERAL LAW 
 

Public Law 105-89 

The Adoption and Safe Families Act (ASFA) of 1997 amends Part 
B and Part E of the Social Security Act [42 USC 620-635 and 670-
679]. The basic premise of the law is that safety, permanency and 
child well-being must be the major concerns of child welfare agen-
cies. The act: 

 Redefines when reasonable efforts to reunify a family must be 
made. 

 Requires criminal history record checks for prospective foster 
and adoptive parents. 

 Prohibits placement of children with foster or adoptive parents 
convicted of certain felonies. 

 Requires documentation of efforts to place a child in an 
adoptive or other permanent home. 

Public Law 109-248 

The Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 requires 
states to have procedures in place to conduct criminal background 
and central registry checks on prospective foster and adoptive par-
ents regardless of whether foster care maintenance payments or 
adoption assistance payments are to be made on behalf of the child 
under the state plan.  
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In addition to the criminal background check procedures specified 
in the title IV-E state plan, P.L. 109-248 requires states to submit 
fingerprint-based checks of prospective foster and adoptive parents 
to a national crime information database before the prospective 
foster/adoptive parent may be finally approved for placement of a 
child.  

Public Law 110-351  

The Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions 
Act of 2008 amended parts B and E of title IV of the Social Security 
Act (42 USC 601 et seq.) to connect and support relative caregivers 
and improve outcomes for children in foster care. This federal act 
allows states to enter into a guardianship assistance agreement to 
provide assistance payments to relatives who assume legal guard-
ianship of title IV-E eligible children for whom they have cared as 
licensed foster parents. 
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OVERVIEW 

Juvenile guardianship is available for temporary and permanent 
court wards and state wards when reunification or adoption have 
been ruled out as permanency goals. The court, at a permanency 
planning hearing, may appoint a juvenile legal guardian for a child 
in lieu of terminating parental rights or returning the child home. 
MCL 712A.19 states that “reasonable efforts to place a child for 
adoption or with a legal guardian, including in-state or out-of-state 
options, may be made concurrently with reasonable efforts to 
reunify the child and family”. The court, with the consent of the 
Michigan Children’s Institute (MCI) superintendent (for a state 
ward), may appoint a juvenile legal guardian for a child after 
termination of parental rights. 

The guardianship shall be a legally created relationship between 
the child and the guardian that is intended to be permanent and 
self-sustaining as evidenced by the transfer to the guardian of the 
following parental rights with respect to the child: 

 Protection. 

 Education. 

 Care and control of the person. 

 Custody of the person. 

 Decision making. 

A guardian’s powers include receiving money paid for the child’s 
support (including guardianship assistance payments, child support 
and governmental benefits), authorizing medical treatment, and 
consenting to the child’s marriage or adoption. If parental rights 
have not been terminated, a guardian may facilitate contact 
between the child and a parent, unless the court has limited the 
guardian’s authority to do so.  

JUVENILE 
GUARDIANSHIP 
ASSISTANCE 

When a prospective guardian is requesting guardianship assis-
tance, the DHS juvenile guardianship assistance certification and 
agreement process must be completed prior to the appointment of 
the guardian by the court. The assigned worker is responsible for 
completing the process; see GDM 700 - 745. 

Note:  When the child is a temporary or permanent court ward and 
the prospective guardian is not requesting juvenile guardianship 
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assistance per the DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist, the worker is not required to receive DHS subsidy office 
approval prior to the court appointing a juvenile guardian. When the 
child is an MCI ward, the worker must request consent from the 
Michigan Children’s Institute (MCI) superintendent on all MCI 
cases, including those in which juvenile guardianship assistance is 
not being requested by the prospective guardian or the prospective 
guardian is not eligible for juvenile guardianship assistance.  

DETERMINING 
GUARDIANSHIP AS 
A PERMANENCY 
GOAL 

A caseworker should first determine whether juvenile guardianship 
is an appropriate permanency goal for a child or youth by complet-
ing the DHS-2052 or DHS-2053, Caseworker’s Permanency Plan-
ning Checklist. The caseworker must also explain the differences 
between adoption and guardianship to the prospective guardian 
and child, using DHS Publication 140, “Making the Decision to 
Become a Child’s Permanent Family”, and assist the prospective 
guardian and child to complete the DHS-2051, Caregiver’s 
Permanency Planning Checklist. If parental rights have not been 
terminated, the caseworker should discuss the proposed juvenile 
guardianship arrangement with the child’s parent(s), if possible. 
Although not legally required, the parent’s consent to the juvenile 
guardianship will help ensure the future stability of the 
guardianship.  

Before pursuing a juvenile guardianship for a child, a caseworker 
must document in the case service plan why reunification (if 
parental rights have not been terminated) or adoption are not 
appropriate permanency plans for the child. Examples of reasons 
why adoption may not be appropriate include: 

 Strong cultural beliefs that are in opposition to termination of 
parental rights. 

 It is in the child’s best interest to maintain the parental rights of 
the birth parent(s) because the child and parent(s) have a 
meaningful relationship as evidenced by attachment and 
regular visitation. However, the parent, due to physical, 
medical or mental health disabilities is unable to provide day-
to-day supervision and care for the child. The guardianship 
would allow the child to be cared for by a guardian on a 
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permanent basis and maintain a relationship with the birth 
parent. 

 In the case of a youth age 14 or older who has been provided 
information and counseling concerning permanency options 
and outcomes, the youth may choose not to be adopted but is 
willing to enter into a juvenile guardianship relationship. 

 A relative is willing to provide a permanent home for the child 
but does not want to change the legal relationship (for 
example, grandparent or aunt) to the child. 

 There are obstacles to adoption by a relative who has been 
determined to be the best placement for the child. 

 Based on a long term placement with a foster family that has 
decided not to adopt, the placement is the best choice to pro-
vide a permanent family for the child through a juvenile guard-
ianship. 

For temporary court ward cases, where the prospective guardian is 
requesting juvenile guardianship assistance, the worker must com-
plete the DHS-591, Juvenile Guardianship Best Interest Determina-
tion for Temporary Court Wards, form. The DHS-591 must be 
submitted to the DHS subsidy office along with the DHS-2051, 
Caregiver’s Permanency Planning Checklist, and to the court 
holding jurisdiction over the child’s abuse/neglect case.  

Note:  When the caseworker determines that it is not in the child’s 
best interest to be placed in a juvenile guardianship, the 
caseworker must attempt to state his/her determination on the 
record during a court hearing. This includes times when it’s not in 
the child’s best interest because the more preferred permanency 
goals (reunification or adoption) have not been adequately ruled 
out.  

If the court approves juvenile guardianship as a child’s permanency 
plan at a permanency planning hearing or post-termination review 
hearing, the department must conduct background checks and a 
home study.  
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Safe and Timely 
Interstate 
Placement of 
Children 

The Safe and Timely Interstate Placement of Foster Children Act of 
2006, (P.L. 109-239), requires the timely completion of interstate 
home studies. Juvenile guardianship (including relative) home stud-
ies requested by another state must be completed within 60 calen-
dar days. Placements cannot be made until training requirements 
are met and approval is given by the Interstate Compact on the 
Placement of Children (ICPC) Office. The law also adds an 
incentive program to encourage states to complete timely interstate 
home studies. To earn an incentive, the state must complete an 
interstate home study within 30 calendar days of the request; see 
ICM 100.  

Interstate 
Notification 

The DHS ICPC Office must be informed within 7 business days of 
the permanency plan goal change to juvenile guardianship for a 
Michigan foster child placed in foster care in another state. The 
assigned worker must complete the DHS-3309, Interstate 
Guardianship Plan Notice and send it to the DHS Interstate 
Compact Office, 235 S. Grand Ave., Suite 401, P.O. Box 30037, 
Lansing, MI 48909. The Interstate Compact Office will inform the 
state where the child is living of the plan for juvenile guardianship. 

Background 
Checks and Home 
Study (Assistance 
Not Requested) 

Before the court may appoint a guardian, the department must 
complete criminal background checks and Central Registry 
clearances for the prospective guardian and all other adults living in 
the household per foster care policy. 

LEIN documents must not be filed in the foster care case record. 
LEIN 
documents must be cross-cut shredded or incinerated after review, 
verification of data, and incorporation of this verified information in 
narratives; see FOM 722-06A. DHS must also conduct a home 
study of the prospective guardian’s home, unless a home study has 
been performed within the last 12 months. Results of verified 



GDM 600 5 of 21 JUVENILE GUARDIANSHIP 
GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

background checks and clearances must be submitted to the court 
within seven days of the child’s placement in a prospective 
guardian’s home or, if the child or youth already resides in the 
home, within seven days of the court’s determination at a 
permanency planning hearing or post-termination review hearing 
that juvenile guardianship with a current caregiver is appropriate. 
See FOM 722-06A for direction on Documentation of Verified 
Information and Disclosure of LEIN Information. If a new home 
study is required, it must be submitted to the court within 28 
calendar days of the child’s placement in a prospective guardian’s 
home or within 28 calendar days of the court’s determination that 
juvenile guardianship with a current caregiver is appropriate. If 
guardianship assistance is not requested, the DHS-616, Juvenile 
Guardianship Home Study, must be used if the BCAL-3130, Initial 
Foster Home/Adoption Evaluation, was not completed.  

Note:  LEIN documents can only be released to the court pursuant 
to a court order, or subpoena issued by the Circuit Court, including 
the Family Division.  

Licensing of 
Prospective 
Guardians 
(Requesting 
Guardianship 
Assistance)  

If the prospective guardian requests guardianship assistance, he or 
she must become a licensed foster parent and meet all licensing 
requirements, including fingerprinting and criminal history checks 
as listed for foster parents in FOM 922-1. A copy of the current 
foster home licensing assessment completed within the last 12 
months must be submitted to the court. If the assessment was not 
completed within the last 12 months, a copy of an addendum to the 
assessment updating information in the original assessment must 
be submitted to the court. The BCAL-3130 must be used for new 
foster home licensing assessments.  
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JUVENILE 
GUARDIANSHIP 
PROCESS FOR 
TEMPORARY AND 
PERMANENT COURT 
WARDS 

The assigned worker must submit the following documentation to 
the court when requesting juvenile guardianship: 

 A copy of the DHS-2053, Caseworker’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist. 

 A copy of the DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist. 

 A copy of the BCAL-3130, Initial Foster Home/Adoption 
Evaluation or DHS-616, Juvenile Guardianship Home Study 
(Not Requesting Guardianship Assistance). Criminal 
background checks and Central Registry clearances must be 
completed for all adult members of the prospective guardian’s 
household. Due to confidentiality issues, LEIN information and 
documents must not be shared via phone, fax or electronic 
mail (e-mail); see FOM 722-06A. 

 Any addenda to the above assessments if the original 
assessment is more than one year old. 

 Any special evaluations/licensing complaints for the 
prospective guardian(s). 

 Fingerprint clearance for the prospective guardian(s). 

 The DHS-591, Juvenile Guardianship Best Interest 
Determination for Temporary Court Wards, if the youth is a 
temporary court ward. 

 Written letter signed by the prospective guardian 
acknowledging that he/she understands that guardianship is 
permanent, that he/she plans to care permanently for the child 
and does not wish to adopt the child. 

Note:  The court may request additional documents.  

When the court grants approval to change the goal to juvenile 
guardianship and the prospective guardian(s) are requesting juve-
nile guardianship assistance, the documentation listed above must 
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be submitted to the DHS subsidy office, along with the application 
for juvenile guardianship assistance. See GDM 715 for juvenile 
guardianship assistance application requirements. 

A guardianship assistance agreement must be signed by both the 
prospective guardian(s) and the DHS designee prior to the court’s 
appointment of the guardian and is effective on the date of the 
guardian’s appointment by the court. 

If the guardianship assistance agreement is not signed by all 
parties before the date of the court’s appointment of the guardian, 
the child will not be eligible for juvenile guardianship assistance. 

Note:  When the child is a temporary or permanent court ward and 
the prospective guardian has indicated on the DHS-2051, 
Caregiver’s Permanency Planning Checklist, that he/she is not 
requesting juvenile guardianship assistance, the worker is not 
required to receive the DHS subsidy office approval prior to the 
court appointing a juvenile guardian. 

If the court approves the juvenile guardianship, an order appointing 
guardian will be entered. If the court denies the guardianship, a 
Family Team Meeting (FTM) with all involved parties must be 
scheduled to determine an appropriate permanency goal for the 
child.  

JUVENILE 
GUARDIANSHIP 
PROCESS FOR MCI 
WARDS 

The Michigan Children’s Institute (MCI) superintendent represents 
the state as guardian of state wards beginning with the date of the 
child’s commitment and continuing until the age of 19. The MCI 
Superintendent is authorized to consent to juvenile guardianship for 
a state ward. State wards include children who have been commit-
ted to the state through involuntary termination of parental rights in 
the Family Division of Circuit Court (Juvenile Code, MCL 712A.19b) 
or through release of parental rights by the legal parent(s) or 
licensed child placing agency to whom the child has been 
previously released (Adoption Code, MCL 710.28 and MCL 
710.29(7)). The MCI Superintendent must approve the juvenile 
guardianship of any state ward. When considering whether to grant 
consent for a juvenile guardianship, the MCI superintendent shall 
consult with the child’s lawyer-guardian ad litem (L-GAL).  
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The request for consent from the supervising agency is a recom-
mendation that the prospective guardian be granted consent by the 
MCI superintendent. In requesting consent for the juvenile 
guardianship of a child, the completed DHS-2049 or DHS-2050, 
Juvenile Guardianship Consent Request for MCI Ward form, and 
required documentation must be submitted to the MCI 
superintendent, Adoption Services Division, DHS Central Office.  

Consent Packet 

The following documents must be included when MCI consent is 
requested: 

1. DHS-2050, Juvenile Guardianship Consent Request for MCI 
Wards, or DHS-2049, Juvenile Guardianship Consent Request 
for MCI Wards - Not Requesting Guardianship Assistance, 
form. 

2. Copy of the child’s birth certificate. 

3. JC-63, Order Terminating Parental Rights (Child Protective 
Proceedings).  

4. Following voluntary release: 

 Release of Child by Parent (PCA 305). 

 Release of Child by Agency (PCA 306). 

 Order Terminating Parental Rights after Release or 
Consent (PCA 318). 

 Order Committing to Department of Human Services (PCA 
322). 

5. The following additional documents must be submitted with the 
consent packet for all American Indian/Alaska Native children: 

 Documentation of tribal consultation. 

 Documentation of the tribe’s recommendation. 

6. Copy of current BCAL-3130, Initial Foster Home/Adoption 
Evaluation, or DHS-616, Juvenile Guardianship Home Study 
and any addenda. 

7. DHS-1927, Child Adoption Assessment, and any addenda, if 
available. 
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8. DHS-2052, Caseworker’s Permanency Planning Checklist. 

9. DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning Checklist. 

10. Copy of the case plan/Updated Service Plan (USP) addressing 
the required elements cited in GDM 715. 

More Than One 
Family Wanting to 
Obtain 
Guardianship 

If there is more than one family who wishes to obtain guardianship 
of the same child, the Permanency Planning Checklists must be 
completed and, if the family is appropriate for guardianship, a DHS-
1926-G, Preliminary Guardianship Assessment, should be com-
pleted.  

The assigned worker should provide a separate memo within the 
consent packet that explains which family is being recommended 
for guardianship and the supporting information for this 
determination.  

If guardianship assistance will be requested, prospective guardians 
must be licensed foster parents and the child must live in the pro-
spective guardian’s home for at least six consecutive months prior 
to requesting guardianship assistance. In these cases, 
recommending a guardian other than the caregiver that the child 
has resided with for at least six months will cause a delay in 
permanency. The child will have to reside with the new prospective 
guardian for six months prior to the request for consent and 
guardianship assistance. This delay in permanency is significant 
but should not be the deciding factor in the caseworker’s decision 
to recommend a guardian. Preference should be given to the 
prospective guardian who best meets the needs of the child and 
with whom the child has a significant bond. 

Juvenile guardianship is an appropriate permanency goal only 
when reunification and adoption have been ruled out. If a relative or 
another adult with a significant relationship to the child is willing to 
adopt, the assigned worker must be able to demonstrate that there 
are compelling reasons why guardianship is the recommended per-
manency goal. 

MCI wards may not be replaced with another family without the 
approval of the MCI Superintendent. 
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Guardianship 
Assistance 
Application 

Each competing party family must be given information regarding 
the Guardianship Assistance Program (GAP), including Publication 
140, Making the Decision to Become A Child’s Permanent Family. 

A guardianship assistance agreement must be signed by both the 
prospective guardian and the DHS designee prior to the court’s 
appointment of the guardian and is effective on the date of the 
guardian’s appointment by the court. 

If the guardianship assistance agreement is not signed by all 
parties before the date of the court’s appointment of the guardian, 
the child will not be eligible for juvenile guardianship assistance. 

MCI REVIEW AND 
WRITTEN DECISION 

The MCI office must review the information provided by the super-
vising agency and the prospective guardian. The MCI office may 
request additional information from the supervising agency. Consul-
tation with other professionals may also occur. The MCI office may 
consult with the DHS Office of Family Advocate. The MCI superin-
tendent must issue a written decision containing a brief description 
of the factors considered and whether the MCI superintendent con-
sents to the juvenile guardianship. 

DENIAL OF MCI 
CONSENT TO 
APPOINT A 
GUARDIAN FOR A 
SPECIFIC CHILD 
 

Process 

The following process is to be followed when an assigned worker 
recommends that a prospective guardian not be granted consent to 
become a guardian of a specific MCI ward. 



GDM 600 11 of 21 JUVENILE GUARDIANSHIP 
GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

Written Notice of 
Agency’s 
Recommendation 
to Deny Consent 

If the assigned worker determines that the prospective guardian 
should not be recommended for consent, the prospective guardian 
must be informed and provided with a summary of the factors that 
were considered. 

The assigned worker must inform the family in writing, using the 
DHS-605G, Recommendation to Deny Request. The prospective 
guardian must also be informed that they may request a case con-
ference with the supervising agency to discuss information con-
tained in the BCAL-3130, Initial Foster Home/Adoption Evaluation 
or DHS-616, Juvenile Guardianship Home Study (Not Requesting 
Guardianship Assistance), and the DHS-2052, Caseworker’s Per-
manency Planning Checklist. The conference must be requested by 
the prospective guardian within 14 calendar days of receipt of the 
denial form (DHS-605G).The directions for requesting a case con-
ference are included in the DHS-605G.  

Case Conference 

Within 14 calendar days of receipt of the request for a case confer-
ence, the supervising agency director or designee must hold the 
case conference. The purpose of the case conference is to allow 
the prospective guardian to clarify or provide additional information 
concerning the BCAL-3130 or DHS-616 and the DHS-2051. Partici-
pants must include the assigned worker and the worker’s 
supervisor. For purchased services cases, the DHS foster care 
monitor must be included. MCI office assistance may also be 
requested. 

The prospective guardian may not discuss other applicant families 
in a competing party situation. A support person chosen by the pro-
spective guardian may attend the case conference. Additional par-
ticipants may be included at the discretion of the person conducting 
the conference. The supervising agency may limit the number of 
outside participants for good cause, such as the size of the group.  
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Final 
Recommendation 
of Supervising 
Agency 

Following the case conference, the person conducting the case 
conference must inform the prospective guardian of the final recom-
mendation in writing. If the agency does not recommend the 
prospective guardian be granted consent, the prospective guardian 
must be informed that additional information may be provided to the 
MCI office within 14 days. The appropriate mailing address must be 
provided. A copy of the letter to the prospective guardian should be 
forwarded to the lawyer-guardian ad litem (L-GAL) for the child. If 
an attorney represents the prospective guardian, a copy of the 
letter must also be provided to the attorney. 

A copy of the DHS-605G, Recommendation to Deny Consent, must 
be submitted to the MCI office with a copy of: 

 BCAL-3130, Initial Foster Home/Adoption Evaluation, or DHS-
616, Juvenile Guardianship Home Study (Not Requesting 
Guardianship Assistance). 

 DHS-2052, Caseworker’s Permanency Planning Checklist. 

 DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning Checklist. 

 Any addenda to these reports. 

Assigned workers should include a cover letter to the MCI office 
summarizing the reasons for their recommendation. The cover 
letter should also identify the L-GAL for the child and any other 
professionals (for example, therapist, medical care staff, teachers, 
etc.) who work with the child. 

Note:  If the agency reverses its position and recommends the 
family for guardianship, the BCAL-3130, Initial Foster 
Home/Adoption Evaluation, or DHS-616, Juvenile Guardianship 
Home Study (Not Requesting Guardianship Assistance), must be 
updated to reflect the change in recommendation. 

 



GDM 600 13 of 21 JUVENILE GUARDIANSHIP 
GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

Written Notice to 
Family of MCI 
Decision 

If the MCI office denies the consent to guardianship, a copy of the 
written decision must be sent from the MCI to the prospective 
guardian informing them of the denial of the request for consent to 
guardianship. The written decision must also be sent to the 
supervising agency and the L-GAL for the child. The supervising 
agency will be informed that they may proceed with permanency 
planning for the child. 

Notification of the denial to the prospective guardian from the MCI 
office must include information that MCL 712A.19c allows an 
individual who has been denied a request for consent to 
guardianship to file a motion that consent was withheld in an 
arbitrary or capricious manner. This motion must be filed within 56 
days of receipt of the decision to deny consent.  

Forwarding 
Information to the 
Court 

Copies of the denial of consent letter to the prospective guardian 
from the MCI office and the DHS-605G, Recommendation to Deny 
Consent, from the supervising agency must be presented to the 
court if a motion is filed. 

Decision by the 
Court 

When a motion is filed alleging that the MCI superintendent’s failure 
to consent was arbitrary or capricious, the court must ensure that 
notice is provided to the MCI superintendent and other parties enti-
tled to notice. The court must hold a hearing. If the court finds by 
clear and convincing evidence that the decision to withhold consent 
was arbitrary or capricious, the court may approve the guardianship 
without the MCI superintendent’s consent.  

Note:  Upon request from the assigned worker’s supervisor, the 
MCI superintendent or the director of the DHS Permanency 
Division may approve exceptions to the above process for MCI 
wards. Exceptions may be granted if it appears that doing so will 
achieve permanency and stability of a ward as quickly as possible 
and is in the best interest of the ward. The DHS-1785, Policy 
Decision, may be used for documenting an exception. 



GDM 600 14 of 21 JUVENILE GUARDIANSHIP 
GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

JUVENILE 
GUARDIANSHIP 
COURT 
DOCUMENTATION 

The assigned worker must submit the following documentation to 
the court when requesting juvenile guardianship: 

 A copy of the DHS-2052, Caseworker’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist. 

 A copy of the DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist. 

 A copy of the BCAL-3130, Initial Foster Home/Adoption 
Evaluation, or DHS-616, Juvenile Guardianship Home Study 
(Not Requesting Guardianship Assistance). Criminal 
background checks and Central Registry clearances must be 
completed for all adult members of the prospective guardian’s 
household. Due to confidentiality issues, LEIN information and 
documents must not be shared via phone, fax or electronic 
mail (e-mail); see FOM 722-06A. 

 Any addenda to the above assessments if the original 
assessment is more than one year old. 

 Any special evaluations/licensing complaints regarding the 
prospective guardian(s). 

 Fingerprint clearance for the prospective guardian(s). 

Note:  The court may request additional documents.  

When the court grants approval to change the goal to juvenile 
guardianship and the prospective guardian(s) are requesting juve-
nile guardianship assistance, the following documentation must be 
submitted to the DHS subsidy office, along with the application for 
juvenile guardianship assistance. See GDM 715 for juvenile guard-
ianship assistance application requirements. 

A guardianship assistance agreement must be signed by both the 
prospective guardian and the DHS designee prior to the court’s 
appointment of the guardian and is effective on the date of the 
guardian’s appointment. 
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If the guardianship assistance agreement is not signed by all 
parties before the date of the court’s appointment of the guardian, 
the child will not be eligible for juvenile guardianship assistance. 

Note:  When the child is a temporary or permanent court ward and 
the prospective guardian is not requesting juvenile guardianship 
assistance as indicated on the DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency 
Planning Checklist, the worker is not required to receive DHS sub-
sidy office approval prior to the court appointing a juvenile guardian. 
When the child is an MCI ward, the worker must request and 
receive consent from the Michigan Children’s Institute (MCI) 
superintendent on all MCI cases, including those in which juvenile 
guardianship assistance is not being requested by the prospective 
guardian or the prospective guardian is not eligible for juvenile 
guardianship assistance.  

When the court approves the juvenile guardianship, an Order 
Appointing Guardian will be entered. If the court denies the guard-
ianship, a Family Team Meeting (FTM) with all involved parties 
must be scheduled to determine an appropriate permanency goal 
for the child. 

ORDER APPOINTING 
GUARDIAN 

After the court has received the background checks, home study 
and the MCI superintendent’s written consent (for state wards only), 
the court may enter an order appointing a juvenile guardian or 
schedule the matter for a hearing. 

Note:  If guardianship assistance is requested, the 
determination of eligibility for guardianship assistance and a 
signed guardianship assistance agreement must be completed 
before the court enters the order appointing the guardian; see 
GDM 700-745. 



GDM 600 16 of 21 JUVENILE GUARDIANSHIP 
GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

TERMINATION OF 
COURT 
JURISDICTION AND 
FOSTER CARE 
CASE ACTIONS 
 

Temporary Court 
Wards 

For temporary court wards, court jurisdiction over the case under 
MCL 712A.2(b) (the child protective proceeding) does not terminate 
until after the court appoints the juvenile guardian and conducts a 
review hearing. The foster care case must remain open with all 
required foster care activities provided after the guardian is 
appointed. The foster care case must not be closed until the 
court terminates jurisdiction of the child abuse/neglect pro-
ceeding at a review hearing. 

State Wards 

For state wards, MCI jurisdiction ends after the court appoints the 
juvenile guardian, however, the foster care case must remain 
open with all required foster care activities provided after the 
guardian is appointed. The foster care case must not be 
closed until the court terminates jurisdiction of the child 
abuse/neglect proceeding at a review hearing. Court jurisdiction 
terminates after the court appoints a juvenile guardian and 
conducts a review hearing.  

Review Hearing 
Time Frames 

Required review hearings must be conducted: 

 No later than 91 days from the most recent review hearing if 
the guardian is appointed less than one year from the child’s 
latest removal from home. 

 No later than 182 days from the most recent review hearing if 
the guardian is appointed more than one year from the child’s 
latest removal from home.  

The court may require the department to file a written report for the 
review hearing. 

The court may hold a review hearing and terminate jurisdiction of 
the child abuse/neglect proceeding earlier than the 91 or 182-day 
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requirement. It is possible for the review hearing to be scheduled 
immediately following the court’s guardianship order. The foster 
care worker should routinely ask the court to schedule the final 
review hearing before the expiration of the 91 or 182-day time 
period. If the child has resided in the guardian’s home for an 
extended period and the court has appointed the guardian, an 
extended period of court and agency supervision should not be 
necessary. 

Required Foster 
Care Activities 
after the 
Guardianship 
Appointment 

During the review period, the foster care case and Medicaid 
remains open and all required foster care worker activities must 
continue until the court terminates jurisdiction of the child 
abuse/neglect proceeding. Agency supervision remains open under 
the child abuse/neglect case. 

A family who was licensed for foster care in order to receive 
juvenile guardianship assistance must maintain their license until 
the court’s jurisdiction of the child abuse/neglect proceeding is 
terminated. 

Payment Activities 
after the 
Guardianship 
Appointment 

The foster care payment must be ended effective the day immedi-
ately prior to the court order of guardianship. If the foster care 
payment authorization continues beyond the day immediately 
prior to the court order of guardianship, the foster care worker 
will need to recoup the foster care funds. For a child under 
foster care supervision by a private contract agency, the foster care 
administrative rate will be paid through the DHS Permanency 
Division from the date of the court order of guardianship to the date 
immediately prior to the court dismissing the wardship.  
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Actions When The 
Court Terminates 
Jurisdiction of the 
Child Abuse/ 
Neglect 
Proceeding 

The private child placing agency worker must send a copy of the 
court order terminating the jurisdiction of the child abuse/neglect 
proceeding to the DHS foster care monitor and the DHS Subsidy 
Office within 5 business days of the termination. For DHS super-
vised cases, a copy of the order terminating the jurisdiction of the 
child abuse/neglect proceeding must be sent to: 

DHS Subsidy Office 
235 S. Grand Ave., Suite 612 
P.O. Box 30037 
Lansing, MI 48909 

In all cases, the standards and procedures in FOM 722-15 must be 
followed to close the foster care case and Medicaid when the court 
terminates jurisdiction of the child abuse/neglect proceeding.  

COURT-ORDERED 
INVESTIGATIONS OF 
THE GUARDIANSHIP 

Following the court’s termination of jurisdiction under MCL 
712A.2(b), termination of the MCI’s jurisdiction and closure of the 
foster care case, the court’s jurisdiction over the juvenile guardian-
ship continues. The court must conduct annual reviews of the 
guardianship, which are based upon either a court hearing or an 
annual written report the guardian submits to the court and the DHS 
subsidy office. During the guardianship or in conjunction with an 
annual review, the court may appoint the department to conduct an 
investigation of the guardianship and file a written report of the 
investigation within 28 days of the appointment. The report must 
include a recommendation regarding whether the guardianship 
should continue or be modified and whether a court hearing should 
be scheduled. The assigned DHS worker may use the State Court 
Administrative Office (SCAO) JC 96 form, or another form as 
directed by the court. 
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REVOCATION OR 
TERMINATION OF 
JUVENILE 
GUARDIANSHIP 

The court shall, on its own motion or upon petition from the Depart-
ment or the child’s lawyer guardian ad litem, hold a hearing to 
determine whether a guardianship shall be revoked. A guardian or 
interested person may also petition the court for permission to 
terminate the guardianship. The JC 98 may be used to petition the 
court. Interested persons may include a parent if the parent’s rights 
were not terminated (for example, the guardianship was ordered 
prior to termination of parental rights). A petition to terminate a 
guardianship may include a request for appointment of a successor 
juvenile guardian (without guardianship assistance). 

If a petition for revocation or termination of the guardianship is filed, 
the court must hold a hearing on the petition within 28 days. In con-
junction with a revocation or termination petition, the court may 
order temporary removal of the child from the guardian’s home 
pending the hearing. If the court orders the child’s removal, the 
court must conduct an emergency removal hearing within 24 hours 
of the removal, and, unless the child has been returned to the home 
of the guardian, a review hearing within 14 days. The court may 
order a representative of the department to appear at the review 
hearing and give testimony or file a written report.  

Investigation and 
Report 

In preparation for a revocation or termination hearing, the court 
must order DHS to conduct an investigation and file a written report 
with the court. The report must be filed with the court not later than 
seven days before the revocation or termination hearing. The report 
must include the reasons for terminating or revoking a guardianship 
and a recommendation regarding temporary placement, if 
necessary. 

Hearing 

After a hearing on a petition to revoke a juvenile guardianship, the 
court must revoke the guardianship if it finds by a preponderance of 
the evidence all of the following: 

 Continuing the guardianship is not in the child’s best interest.  
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 It is contrary to the child’s welfare to be placed in or remain in 
the guardian’s home. 

 Reasonable efforts were made to prevent removal from the 
guardian’s home. 

After a hearing on a petition to terminate a juvenile guardianship, 
when there is no request to appoint a successor juvenile guardian, 
the court must follow the same procedure that is required for a 
hearing on revocation of a guardianship (above). If the termination 
petition includes a request for appointment of a successor 
guardian, the court must terminate the current guardian’s 
appointment and proceed with the investigation and appointment of 
the successor guardian. The department must conduct the required 
background checks and home study. A successor guardian is 
ineligible for guardianship assistance.  

Following revocation or termination (without a successor guardian) 
of a guardianship, the court’s jurisdiction over the previous child 
protective proceeding is reinstated under MCL 712A.2(b). The court 
must place the child under the care and supervision of the depart-
ment or, if parental rights were previously terminated, commit the 
child to MCI under MCL 400.203. 

Dispositional/ 
Review Hearings 

Within 42 calendar days following revocation or termination of a 
guardianship, the court must hold a dispositional hearing or, if 
parental rights were terminated, a post-termination review hearing. 
The department must prepare a case service plan and file it with 
the court no later than seven calendar days before the hearing. 

The court will schedule subsequent dispositional review hearings, 
regardless of whether the child has been returned to the custody of 
a parent or placed in out-of-home care. 
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LEGAL BASE 

The Michigan Department of Human Services (DHS) provides both 
title IV-E funded and state-funded guardianship assistance pro-
grams (GAP) for foster children placed in juvenile guardianships. 
The title IV-E funded program is based on federal Public Act 110-
351. The state funded program is based on Public Act 260 of 2008, 
as amended. Eligibility for either of these programs requires a DHS-
3313, Guardianship Assistance Agreement. 

FUNDING SOURCE 

Depending on the child’s eligibility, guardianship assistance is 
funded by either federal title IV-E or state funds. 

PURPOSE 

The purpose of guardianship assistance is to provide financial sup-
port to ensure permanency for children who may otherwise remain 
in foster care until reaching the age of majority. Guardianship assis-
tance supports the goals of the Adoption and Safe Families Act of 
1997 (AFSA), which determined that guardianship provides perma-
nency for foster children when reunification and adoption are not 
viable permanency goals.  

The transfer of legal responsibility removes the child from the child 
welfare system, allows a caregiver to make important decisions on 
the child’s behalf, establishes a permanent caregiver for the child, 
and addresses financial needs through ongoing assistance pay-
ments. Juvenile guardianship should not be used for temporary 
placement of children. The program is specifically for children who 
would remain in foster care until age 18 if the juvenile guardianship 
was not established. 

Guardianship 
Assistance 

In order for a child to be eligible for guardianship assistance, the 
child must be in licensed foster care and meet either title IV-E or 
state funded guardianship assistance requirements (see GDM 
715). Eligibility must be certified by DHS and a DHS-3313, 
Guardianship Assistance Agreement, must be signed by the 
guardian and the DHS designee before the court’s appointment of 
the guardian. 
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Medicaid 

Children who qualify for title IV-E funded guardianship assistance 
are categorically eligible for Medicaid. 

The DHS Subsidy Office will determine Medicaid eligibility for chil-
dren who qualify for state funded guardianship assistance. Children 
who meet asset and income criteria as a family of one in the guard-
ianship will receive Medicaid through the guardianship assistance 
program. 

Nonrecurring 
Expenses 

Children who qualify for guardianship assistance are eligible for 
nonrecurring expenses reimbursement (see GDM 730).  

Medical Subsidy 

Children who meet eligibility criteria for guardianship assistance are 
eligible for the Medical Subsidy program as described in GDM 735. 
Medical subsidy applications may be submitted either before or 
after the appointment of the guardian and may be approved up to 
the child’s 18th birthday. Specific medical and/or mental health 
conditions must be certified and a Medical Subsidy Agreement 
must be signed by the guardian and the DHS designee before the 
coverage begins. 
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FORMS AND 
PUBLICATIONS 

The juvenile guardianship office has developed several forms and 
publications for use in the juvenile guardianship program. 

DHS Publication 
162 

DHS Publication 162, Michigan’s Juvenile Guardianship Assis-
tance Program, informs prospective guardians of the availability of 
juvenile guardianship assistance, nonrecurring juvenile guardian-
ship expenses and juvenile guardianship medical subsidy program. 
The brochure is also available on the DHS public web site at: 
www.michigan.gov/dhs. 

Forms 

The following forms are used for eligibility certification, case 
opening and the nonrecurring guardianship expenses (NRE) claim 
process: 

 DHS-2052, Caseworker’s Permanency Planning Checklist for 
MCI and Permanent Court Wards. 

 DHS-2053, Caseworker’s Permanency Planning Checklist for 
Temporary Court Wards. 

 DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning Checklist. 

 DHS-1127, Juvenile Guardianship Program-Other Payment 
Resources. 

 DHS-591, Juvenile Guardianship Best Interest Determination 
for Temporary Court Wards. 

 DHS-4817-G, Juvenile Guardianship Program Change 
Request. 

 DHS-3309, Interstate Guardianship Plan Notice. 

 DHS-3310, Certification of Guardianship Assistance Eligibility 
and request for Agreement. 

 DHS-3310-M, Juvenile Guardianship Medical Subsidy 
Application. 
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 DHS-1084, Guardian’s Request for Medical Subsidy Post 
Placement. 

 DHS-1344-G, Juvenile Assistance Case Opening Request. 

 DHS-4815-G, Juvenile Guardian Claim for Nonrecurring 
Expenses Reimbursement. 

 DHS-4816-G, Third Party Claim for Nonrecurring Expenses 
Reimbursement. 

The following forms are used for extension eligibility determination 
for youth who were placed in a juvenile guardianship and began 
receiving guardianship assistance payment on or after their 16th 
birthday: 

 DHS-1339-G, Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension 
Application. 

 DHS-881, Quarterly Young Adult Extension Review. 

These forms are available on the DHS public web site (www.michi-
gan.gov/dhs) or copies may be requested. Local DHS county 
offices should complete the DHS-1434, Warehouse Requisition. 
Private agencies and court guardianship staff should submit a 
written request (including quantity requested, form number and 
mailing address) either by E-mail to DHS-
FormsManagement@michigan.gov or by mail: 

 Michigan Department of Human Services 
 Forms and Mail Management, Ste. 1207 
 P.O. Box 30037 
 Lansing MI 48909 
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PRELIMINARY 
DETERMINATION 

Requests for guardianship assistance eligibility are completed by 
the supervising agency that is responsible for the care and supervi-
sion of the child. Prior to certifying a foster child’s eligibility for juve-
nile guardianship assistance, the policy in GDM 600 must be 
followed to determine whether juvenile guardianship is an appropri-
ate goal for the child. The certification of guardianship assistance 
eligibility is completed after the following documents are completed 
and included in the foster care case record to confirm that juvenile 
guardianship is an appropriate permanency goal: 

 DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning Checklist. 

 DHS-2052 or DHS-2053, Caseworker’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist. 

Certification of guardianship assistance must be approved and a 
written guardianship assistance agreement must be signed by the 
guardian and the Department of Human Services (DHS) subsidy 
program manager or DHS designee before the guardianship 
appointment is ordered by the court.  

GUARDIANSHIP 
ASSISTANCE 
ELIGIBILITY 
 

Child 
Requirements 

A child is eligible for guardianship assistance if all of the following 
requirements are met: 

 The child was removed from his/her home as a result of a 
judicial determination that continuation in the home would be 
contrary to the welfare of the child. 

 The child has resided in the home of the prospective guardian 
for at least six consecutive months prior to the application for a 
juvenile guardianship assistance eligibility determination. 

 Reunification and/or adoption have been ruled out as 
appropriate permanency options for the child and documented 
in the case service plan. 
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 The child has been consulted about the guardianship 
arrangement if he/she is at least 14 years old and is in 
agreement. 

 The child is strongly attached to the prospective guardian, and 
the guardian has a strong commitment to caring permanently 
for the child.  

Guardian 
Requirements 

A prospective guardian must request guardianship assistance by 
completing the DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist. Only DHS can determine eligibility and authorize guard-
ianship assistance payments. 

A prospective guardian requesting guardianship assistance on 
behalf of an eligible child must meet the following qualifications: 

All Funding Sources: 

 The eligible child has resided with the prospective guardian in 
the prospective guardian’s residence for a minimum of six 
consecutive months prior to applying for the guardianship 
assistance. 

 All criminal background checks, including national database 
fingerprinting and clearance of the Central Registry are current, 
as listed in foster care policy FOM 922-1 and licensing require-
ments. All adults living in the home must have criminal back-
ground checks. All adults living in the home must also have 
clearance of the child abuse and neglect registry in any state in 
which they have resided during the past five years. 

Title IV-E Funded: 

 The prospective guardian is the title IV-E eligible child’s relative 
and a licensed foster parent.  

 The child must be eligible for title IV-E foster care maintenance 
payments while residing in the prospective relative guardian’s 
foster home for at least six consecutive months after the 
license has been approved and prior to applying for juvenile 
guardianship assistance eligibility. 
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State Funded: 

 The prospective guardian is a relative or legal custodian of the 
eligible child. The prospective guardian must become a 
licensed foster parent prior to applying for juvenile 
guardianship assistance eligibility.  

 State funded guardianship assistance does not require the 
home to be licensed for the full six consecutive months that the 
child has resided in the home. 

Determining Title 
IV-E Eligibility 

The local DHS office designated staff person (Child Welfare 
Funding Specialist, supervisor or manager) must provide a copy of 
the DHS-350, Redetermination of Appropriate Foster Care Funding 
Source, (completed in the past 6 months) in all cases involving 
children living with a licensed relative in order to meet eligibility 
requirements for guardianship assistance. If it is determined that 
the child is not title IV-E eligible, relative guardianship assistance 
will be funded by state funds if all other eligibility requirements for 
the state program are met. 

Note:  Purchased services agencies will need to request the 
completed DHS-352, Initial Determination of Appropriate Foster 
Care Funding Source from the DHS local office. 

Title IV-E Funding 
for Siblings 

If DHS and the relative agree that a foster child who is a sibling of a 
title IV-E guardianship assistance eligible child should be placed in 
the same relative guardianship arrangement, title IV-E funded 
guardianship assistance may be paid on behalf of the sibling 
regardless of the sibling’s title IV-E eligibility. (See GDG for the 
definition of sibling.) The sibling does not have to meet the child 
eligibility requirements listed above, and the sibling’s placement in 
the home does not need to occur simultaneously with the eligible 
child’s placement.  

State Funding for 
Siblings 

Unlike the title IV-E program, each sibling must qualify for assis-
tance and meet all eligibility requirements for the state-funded 
guardianship assistance program. The inability of one (or more) sib-
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ling(s) to qualify for state-funded assistance does not prohibit sib-
lings from being placed together in the same guardianship. 

CASE PLAN 
REQUIREMENTS 

When guardianship assistance payments are requested for a child 
with a permanency plan of guardianship, the following documenta-
tion must be included in the case plan: 

 The steps the agency has taken to determine that it is not 
appropriate for the child to be returned home or adopted. 

 For temporary court wards only: 

 The efforts made by the agency to discuss the 
guardianship assistance arrangement with the child’s 
parents or the reasons why efforts were not made. 

 The reasons that termination of parental rights is not in the 
best interest of the child and the facts that demonstrate 
the guardianship is required on a permanent basis. 

 The reasons for any separation of siblings during placement. In 
cases where siblings are not placed together, documentation of 
the arrangements for regular visitation or other interaction 
between the siblings must be included in the case plan, unless 
there is documentation that the visitation or other ongoing inter-
action would be detrimental to the safety or well-being of any of 
the siblings. 

 The reasons why a permanent placement through a 
guardianship is in the child’s best interest. 

 The determination of the child’s eligibility for a guardianship 
assistance payment listed on the DHS-3310, Juvenile 
Guardianship Assistance Application. 

 The efforts the agency has made to discuss adoption by the 
prospective guardian as a more permanent alternative to 
guardianship. If the prospective guardian is a relative, the case 
plan must document the reasons why the relative has chosen 
not to pursue adoption.  

 The special needs of each child and the proven ability of the 
prospective guardian to adequately address the needs. 
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Specific services and supports the child has received or is 
currently receiving must be listed. 

CERTIFICATION 
PROCESS 

The certification of eligibility is completed when the prospective 
guardian has requested guardianship assistance on the DHS-2051, 
Caregiver’s Permanency Planning Checklist and the Case Plan 
Requirements (above) have been met.  

1. The assigned worker completes the DHS-3310, Juvenile 
Guardianship Assistance Application which documents that the 
following information is in the foster care case record (in 
addition to the Case Plan Requirements information): 

 The child’s demonstration of a strong attachment to the 
prospective guardian. 

 The guardian has a strong commitment to caring 
permanently for the child. 

 The child, if age 14 or older, has been consulted about 
guardianship. 

 The child is under age 18. 

 The child was placed in the prospective guardian’s home 
as a foster child. 

 The prospective guardian is a licensed foster parent. 

 All adult household members have successfully completed 
a criminal history check and child abuse registry check in 
accordance with foster care licensing requirements. 

 Title IV-E funded only: Prior to certification for 
guardianship assistance, the child has been eligible for 
title IV-E foster care payments while residing with the 
licensed prospective relative guardian for at least six 
consecutive months before applying for juvenile 
guardianship assistance and the prospective guardian has 
been a licensed foster care provider during those six 
months. 

 State funded only: The child has resided with the 
prospective guardian for at least six consecutive months in 
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the prospective guardian’s home prior to applying for 
juvenile guardianship assistance and the prospective 
guardian is a licensed foster care provider.  

2. The assigned worker and supervisor sign the DHS-3310 
certifying that all of the above information is complete and in 
the foster care case record. 

3. The completed DHS-3310 is submitted to the DHS subsidy 
office in central office with the following documents to request 
guardianship assistance: 

 The DHS-350, Redetermination of Appropriate Foster 
Care Funding Source, completed within the past six 
months, for children being placed with a relative guardian. 

 The current Determination of Care (DOC) form (DHS-470, 
470A or 1945) if the child is eligible for and/or receiving a 
foster care Determination of Care rate. 

 The Updated Service Plan (USP) including narrative of the 
case plan requirements. 

 A copy of the child’s birth certificate. 

 A copy of the most recent court order. 

 A copy of the DHS-2052 or DHS-2053, Caseworker’s 
Permanency Planning Checklist. 

 A copy of the DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency 
Planning Checklist.  

4. Designated below are the additional required documents for 
temporary, permanent and MCI wards: 

Temporary court wards 

The following documents must be included in the packet 
requesting guardianship assistance for a temporary court 
ward: 

 DHS-2053, Permanent Guardianship Consent Request for 
Temporary Court Wards. 

 Copy of the child’s birth certificate. 
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 Copy of the current BCAL-3130, Initial Foster 
Home/Adoption Evaluation, and any addenda. 

 Copies of any special evaluations/licensing complaints for 
the prospective guardian(s).  

 A copy of the DHS-591, Juvenile Guardianship Best 
Interest Determination for Temporary Court Wards. 

Permanent Court Wards 

The following documents must be included in the packet 
requesting guardianship assistance for a permanent court 
ward: 

 DHS-2052, Permanent Guardianship Consent Request for 
Permanent Court Wards. 

 The original DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist. 

 Copy of the child’s birth certificate. 

 The JC 63, Order Terminating Parental Rights (Child 
Protective Proceedings). 

 The applicable legal documents committing a child to the 
court following a voluntary release (PCA 305, 306, 318). 

 Copy of the current BCAL-3130, Initial Foster 
Home/Adoption Evaluation, and any addenda. 

 Copies of any special evaluations/licensing complaints for 
the prospective guardian(s).  

 MCI Wards  

 When the child is an MCI ward, a single packet should be sub-
mitted to apply for MCI consent and guardianship assistance. If 
applying for both, the following consent documents must also 
be included in the packet: 

 Permanent Guardianship Consent Request for MCI Wards 
(DHS-2050). 

 The original DHS-2051, Caregiver’s Permanency Planning 
Checklist. 
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 Copy of the child’s birth certificate. 

 The JC 63, Order Terminating Parental Rights (Child 
Protective Proceedings). 

 The applicable legal documents committing a child to DHS 
following a voluntary release (PCA 305, 306, 318, 322). 

 Copy of the current BCAL-3130, Foster Home/Adoption 
Evaluation and any addenda.  

 Copies of any special evaluation/licensing complaints for 
the prospective guardian(s). 

 Child Adoption Assessment and any addenda, if available.  

5. The DHS subsidy office reviews the documentation, 
determines eligibility and the maximum monthly guardianship 
assistance rate and issues a DHS-3313, Guardianship 
Assistance Agreement. The agreement is sent to the assigned 
worker. (If MCI consent is requested, the agreement will be 
sent after consent is approved.) 

Note:  If it is determined that the child is not eligible for 
guardianship assistance, a Guardianship Assistance Denial 
letter (DHS-3311) will be sent to the assigned worker for 
delivery to the prospective guardian. 

6. The assigned worker reviews the agreement with the 
prospective guardian and negotiates the amount of ongoing 
monthly subsidy payments with the prospective guardian. The 
prospective guardian enters the amount of the negotiated 
ongoing monthly guardianship payment and signs the 
agreement. Another adult must witness the signature and sign 
the agreement as a witness. (The assigned worker may sign as 
the witness if the prospective guardian signs in the worker’s 
presence.) 

7. The assigned worker returns the signed agreement to the DHS 
subsidy office at the DHS central office. 

8. The DHS subsidy office reviews the agreement for accuracy 
and the DHS designee in the DHS subsidy office signs the 
agreement. A copy is returned to the assigned worker. The 
DHS subsidy office will retain a copy of the agreement(s).  
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9. The assigned worker gives the prospective guardian the copy 
of the signed agreement and maintains a copy in the foster 
care record. In purchased services cases, the assigned worker 
must send a copy of the agreement to the DHS foster care 
monitor for inclusion in the case record. 

After the guardianship assistance agreement has been signed by 
the prospective guardian and the DHS designee in central office, 
the assigned worker must ask the court to order the guardianship. 
No petition or filing fee is required. 

TIME FRAMES 

The request for guardianship assistance will be assessed and 
either approved or denied within 30 calendar days of receipt of a 
complete application in the DHS subsidy office. 
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INTRODUCTION 

 

Federal Law 

The Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions 
Act of 2008 (PL 110-351) includes an option for states to extend 
guardianship assistance agreements for youth who began receiving 
guardianship assistance at age 16 years or older.  

State Law 

To implement this option, Michigan passed the Young Adult Volun-
tary Foster Care Act (MCL 400.665 - 400.671 and MCL 
722.876(6)(2)), which allows eligible youth who were placed in 
Juvenile Guardianship with subsidy from the Michigan public child 
welfare system after their 16th birthday, to receive guardianship 
assistance until their 21st birthday, if they are in school, in job train-
ing, employed or incapable due to a documented medical condition. 

PROGRAM 
ELIGIBILITY AND 
REQUIREMENTS 

The guardianship assistance eligibility policies in GDM 715 apply to 
guardianship assistance for youth who were 16 or older when their 
guardianship assistance agreement became effective. For a youth 
to qualify for an extension of guardianship assistance until the 
youth’s 21st birthday, the youth must satisfy all of the following 
requirements: 

1. The youth began receiving guardianship assistance at age 16 
or older and is now between the ages of 18 and 20, and 
requests to extend guardianship assistance payments to the 
age of 21. 

2. The original guardianship order remains in effect. 

3. The youth had a guardianship assistance agreement effective 
up until his/her 18th birthday. 

4. The youth has signed a DHS-1339G, Young Adult 
Guardianship Assistance Extension Application. 

5. The youth meets at least one of the conditions listed below: 
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 Actively completing high school or a program leading to a 
general equivalency diploma (GED). 

 Enrolled at least part-time in a college, university, 
vocational program, or trade school. 

Note:  A youth who is on a semester, summer, or other 
break, but was enrolled in school the previous semester 
and will be enrolled after the break, is considered 
enrolled in school. 

 Employed in either full- or part-time work, or participating 
in a program that promotes employment (such as Job 
Corps, Michigan Works! or another employment skill-
building program). Participation must be at least 80 hours 
per month and may be at one or more places of 
employment, and/or a combination of any of the above 
activities. 

 Incapable of doing any of the above educational or 
employment activities due to a documented medical 
condition.  

Note:  If eligibility is based on incapacity, the subsidy 
worker must provide direction to the youth and/or 
guardian(s) on how to apply for Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI). 

6. The DHS-1339G, Young Adult Guardianship Assistance 
Extension Application, is reviewed by the DHS Subsidy Office 
and an agreement is issued if the youth meets the 
requirements of the program. The youth and the guardian(s) 
must sign a DHS-3313-YA, Young Adult Guardianship 
Extension Agreement, requesting the court to continue the 
guardianship.  

Note:  The DHS-3313-YA, Young Adult Guardianship Extension 
Agreement, is an agreement between the guardian and DHS which 
outlines eligibility requirements in the area of education and 
employment. 

VERIFICATION OF 
ELIGIBILITY 

The following must be provided to the DHS Subsidy Office to apply 
for a Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension:  
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 DHS-1339G, Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension 
Application. 

 One or more of the appropriate verification forms to document 
eligibility must be completed and returned with the DHS-
1339G: 

 DHS-3380, Verification of Student Information (may 
also be used to verify vocational training). 

 DHS-38, Verification of Employment. 

 DHS-54A, Medical Needs. 

Home Schooling 

Legal guardians who are requesting an extension of the guardian-
ship assistance payments for a child who is being educated at 
home must submit the following additional information to the DHS 
Subsidy Office with the extension application: 

 A copy of a comprehensive individual educational curriculum 
for the time period of 9th grade through 12th grade. The 
individual education curriculum must include instruction in the 
subject areas of reading, spelling, mathematics, science, 
history, civics, literature, writing, and English grammar; see 
www.michigan.gov/npshs. 

 A copy of confirmation of registration. 

 For a child residing in Michigan, the home school 
registration is available through the Michigan Department 
of Education. The registration document is SM-4325, 
Nonpublic School Membership form. Families may contact 
the Michigan Department of Education at: 

  Michigan Department of Education  
  Bureau of School Finance and School Law  
  Nonpublic School Unit 
  P. O. Box 30008 
  Lansing, MI 48909 
 
  Website: www.michigan.gov/mde 
  Phone: (517) 373-1833 



GDM 716 4 of 11 
EXTENSIONS FOR YOUTH ENTERING 

GUARDIANSHIP AT AGES 16-17 

GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

 For a child residing outside of Michigan, the family must 
provide confirmation of registration as available in the 
state in which the child resides. 

Note:  Foster care policy does not permit home schooling for 
children who have open foster care cases. 

APPLICATION FOR 
EXTENSION 

Guardians of youth who exited foster care to the guardianship 
assistance program between the ages of 16 and 18 may apply for a 
Young Adult Guardianship Extension if all of the following program 
requirements are met:  

 Continued to receive guardianship assistance up until their 
18th birthday.  

 Under the age of 21. 

 Meets the qualifications of the young adult guardianship 
program.  

 Still placed under his/her original juvenile guardianship order. 

The DHS-1339G, Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension 
Application, and the DHS-628-G, Young Adult Guardianship Exten-
sion Notice, will be mailed to the guardians no later than 90 
calendar days prior to the youth’s 18th birthday. The DHS-628-G, 
Young Adult Guardianship Extension Notice, will explain that the 
guardianship assistance payments will end when the youth reaches 
age 18 unless an extension agreement is in place. An explanation 
of eligibility, the application, and documentation requirements for 
extension will be included. The Young Adult Guardianship 
Extension Notice notifies the guardian that he or she has 30 
calendar days following the youth’s 18th birthday to submit the 
application and required eligibility verification. 
 
The DHS-628-G, Young Adult Guardianship Extension Notice, must 
also be sent to the court holding jurisdiction over the guardianship 
no later than 90 calendar days prior to the youth’s 18th 
birthday.The DHS-628-G, Young Adult Guardianship Extension 
Notice, informs the court that the youth may be eligible for an 
extension and asks the court to keep the guardianship case open 
for 120 calendar days following the youth’s 18th birthday or when 
they receive notification from the DHS Subsidy Office using the 
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DHS-1392, Notice of Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Denial 
form, whichever is sooner, unless the court determines that 
continuation of the guardianship is not in the youth’s best interest. If 
approved for an extension, the DHS-3313-YA, Young Adult 
Guardianship Assistance Extension Agreement, will be mailed to 
the court informing them that the case has been extended and to 
not dismiss the guardianship order. 

If an incomplete extension application is submitted to the DHS Sub-
sidy Office, the subsidy worker must respond in writing to the 
guardian with the DHS-793, Young Adult Guardianship Assistance 
Extension Missing Documentation Notice, within 14 calendar days 
of receipt of the application. The DHS-793, Young Adult Guardian-
ship Assistance Extension Missing Documentation Notice, will 
clarify the documentation requirements and will notify the guardian 
of any missing application or verification information.The guardian 
will have 30 calendar days following the date of the DHS-793, 
Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension Missing 
Documentation Notice, to provide missing documentation for the 
application to be processed with an effective date of the young 
adult’s 18th birthday.  

If the guardian does not provide the missing documentation within 
this time frame, the application will be denied and the guardian will 
need to re-apply. Once a complete application with required docu-
mentation is received by the DHS Subsidy Office, the department 
will process the application within 30 calendar days. The effective 
date will be the date the complete application was received in the 
DHS Subsidy Office. If at any time the court dismisses the 
guardianship order, the youth will no longer be eligible to re-apply. 

If an extension application is denied, the DHS Subsidy Office will 
provide a denial notice to the guardian that includes the reason(s) 
for the denial and information regarding the right to request an 
administrative hearing; see GDM 780, Administrative Hearings. The 
DHS Subsidy Office will send written notification to the court with 
jurisdiction over the guardianship case following the deadline to 
request an appeal or following the administrative hearing order. 

EXTENSION 
AGREEMENT RATES 

The maximum daily rate for extensions will be the same maximum 
rate that was established on the original DHS-3313, Juvenile 
Guardianship Assistance Agreement. The actual rate will be 
negotiated between the guardian(s) and the department.  
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EXTENSION 
AGREEMENTS 

After an extension is approved by the DHS Subsidy Office, the 
DHS-3313-YA, Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension 
Agreement, will be mailed to the guardian for signatures. The 
signed agreement must be returned to the DHS Subsidy Office 
within 30 calendar days of the agreement issuance date and must 
be signed by the DHS Subsidy Office manager before the 
extension payments are authorized. If the agreement is missing 
information the DHS-792, Young Adult Guardianship Assistance 
Extension Agreement(s)-Incomplete Notice will be sent to the legal 
guardians. If the agreement is not received within 30 calendar days 
of the agreement issuance date or the date of the DHS-792, the 
effective date will be the date the agreement was received by the 
DHS Subsidy Office. 

JUDICIAL 
DETERMINATION 

Within 30 calendar days of the date the DHS-3313-YA, Young Adult 
Guardianship Assistance Extension Agreement, was signed by the 
DHS Subsidy Office manager, the DHS Subsidy Office will provide 
a copy of the agreement to the guardian and the court with 
jurisdiction over the guardianship. Once the court receives the 
DHS-3313-YA, Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension 
Agreement, requesting the court to continue the guardianship, the 
court will determine whether guardianship remains in the youth’s 
best interest within 365 days of the youth’s 18th birthday and 
annually thereafter. The court order and proof of service reflecting 
the court’s decision to continue or deny extension of the 
guardianship must be provided by the guardian to the DHS Subsidy 
Office no later than 30 calendar days following the receipt of the 
guardianship order.  

FUNDING SOURCE 

The Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension program is 
funded by title IV-E and state funds. The funding source for the 
youth’s young adult guardianship extension is the same funding 
source that was established on the original DHS-3313, Juvenile 
Guardianship Assistance Agreement, when the child entered 
guardianship.  

During periods of ineligibility, a grace period for re-establishing 
eligibility may occur. A funding source change must occur for title 
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IV-E-funded cases during the grace period. Title IV-E-funded cases 
must be changed to state-funding when any grace period begins 
and must be changed back to title IV-E funding when the youth re-
establishes eligibility.  

MEDICAID 

Youth who are eligible for this program are categorically eligible for 
Medicaid during the extension period. 

CHANGE 
REPORTING 

Change reporting by the guardian of the Young Adult Guardianship 
Assistance is required as listed in GDM 740, Guardian 
Responsibilities, with the exception of the time frame for reporting. 
The guardian must report changes as soon as they occur, but no 
later than two weeks after changes that impact eligibility.  

GRACE PERIOD 

A grace period is the period of time after the youth ceases to meet 
the educational, employment, and/or incapacitating medical condi-
tions requirements. Grace periods are to be applied based on the 
following: 

 Youth are allowed a 30-day grace period in which to re-
establish eligibility. 

 Youth are allowed up to three grace periods per fiscal year. 

 The grace period begins the day immediately following the day 
the youth becomes ineligible, whether or not it is reported 
timely. 

 The Young Adult Guardianship Assistance payments and 
Medicaid coverage continues during the grace period. 

Note:  A funding source change must occur for title IV-E-
funded cases during the grace period. Title IV-E-funded cases 
must be changed to state-funding when any grace period 
begins and must be changed back to title IV-E funding when 
the youth re-establishes eligibility.  

The guardian should contact the DHS Subsidy Office to discuss 
ways in which the youth could meet the requirements or the guard-
ianship assistance will terminate at the end of the grace period.  
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A grace period can not be used for youth who become ineligible 
due to one of the following circumstances: 

 Reaches his or her 21st birthday. 

 Enters military service. 

Exception:  Membership in the Reserve Officers’ Training (ROTC) 
or the reserve component of the Armed Forces; such as, Army 
National Guard of the United States, Air Force Reserve, and Coast 
Guard Reserve does not disqualify a youth from the Young Adult 
Guardianship Assistance Extension, unless participation 
requirements exceed 21 consecutive calendar days of active duty 
or training responsibilities. 

 Marries. 

 Begins receiving federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 
payments. 

 Is living with his/her biological parent(s). 

 Death. 

 The guardianship is terminated by order of the court having 
jurisdiction in the guardianship proceeding. 

QUARTERLY 
REVIEWS 

Continued eligibility for the extension program will be reviewed by 
the DHS Subsidy Office every three months, beginning three 
months from the effective date of the extension. Verification of the 
youth’s continued employment, education, vocational or job training 
enrollment, or inability to participate in any educational or employ-
ment activities due to medical reasons must be provided every 
three months.  

The DHS-881-YA, Quarterly Young Adult Extension Review, and 
applicable verification forms will be mailed to the guardian 30 calen-
dar days prior to the quarterly review due date for completion. If the 
DHS-881-YA, Quarterly Young Adult Extension Review, and 
applicable verification documentation are not returned to the DHS 
Subsidy Office within 30 calendar days from date on the DHS-881-
YA, Quarterly Young Adult Extension Review, payments will be 
terminated. 
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TERMINATION OF 
EXTENSION 

DHS may terminate the DHS-3313-YA, Young Adult Guardianship 
Assistance Extension Agreement and payments will end, if the 
youth becomes ineligible. Ineligibility occurs when the youth: 

 Discontinues his/her educational, vocational, or trade program 
and does not re-enter a similar program or meet another 
eligibility requirement within the 30 calendar day grace period. 

 Is no longer employed at least 80 hours per month or 
participating in a program that promotes employment (such as, 
Job Corps, Michigan Works! or another employment skill-
building program) and has not met one of the other eligibility 
requirements within the 30 calendar day grace period. 

 Is no longer deemed incapable due to a medical condition and 
is not in compliance with another eligibility requirement.  

 Is incarcerated for more than 30 calendar days. 

 Reaches his or her 21st birthday. 

 Marries. 

 Enters military service. 

Exception:  Membership in the Reserve Officers’ Training (ROTC) 
or the reserve component of the Armed Forces; such as, Army 
National Guard of the United States, Air Force Reserve, and Coast 
Guard Reserve does not disqualify a youth from the Young Adult 
Guardianship Assistance Extension, unless participation 
requirements exceed 21 consecutive calendar days of active duty 
or training responsibilities. 

 Begins receiving federal Supplemental Security Income (SSI) 
payments. 

 Is living with his/her biological parent(s). 

 Dies. 

 The guardian requests that the payment permanently stop. 

 The guardian no longer provides any support for the youth. 
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 The youth is adopted by the guardian or another individual.  

 The guardianship is terminated by order of the court having 
jurisdiction in the guardianship proceeding. 

The DHS Subsidy Office will send written notification of termination 
by mail to the guardian. This written notification will include a state-
ment of the department’s reason(s) for termination and rights to an 
administrative hearing; see GDM 780, Administrative Hearings.The 
DHS Subsidy Office will send written notification to the court with 
jurisdiction over the guardianship case following the deadline to 
request an appeal or following the administrative hearing order. 

RE-ENTERING THE 
YOUNG ADULT 
GUARDIANSHIP 
ASSISTANCE 
EXTENSION 
PROGRAM 

To re-enter the Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension 
Program the guardian must contact his/her subsidy worker for an 
application and required verification forms or locate this information 
on the DHS website, and submit this documentation to the DHS 
Subsidy Office. A guardian may re-apply for a youth to re-enter the 
Young Adult Guardianship Assistance Extension program if the 
youth exited foster care to the Juvenile Guardianship Assistance 
program between the ages of 16 and 18, is under the age of 21, 
and the young adult guardianship assistance extension was 
terminated when the youth: 

 Discontinued his/her educational, vocational, or trade program 
and did not re-enter a similar program or meet another 
eligibility requirement within the 30 calendar day grace period. 

 Was no longer employed at least 80 hours per month or 
participating in a program that promotes employment (such as 
Job Corps, Michigan Works! or another employment skill-
building program) and did not meet one of the other eligibility 
requirements within the 30 calendar day grace period. 

 Was no longer deemed incapable due to a medical condition 
and did not meet the other eligibility requirements within the 30 
calendar day grace period.  

 Was incarcerated for more than 30 calendar days. 
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The guardian may apply to re-enter the youth in the Young Adult 
Guardianship Assistance Extension program if he/she is under the 
age of 21, currently meets the eligibility requirements of the pro-
gram, and continues to be under a juvenile guardianship with the 
original guardian. 

Once a complete application with required documentation is 
received by the DHS Subsidy Office, the department will process 
the application within 30 calendar days. The effective date will be 
the date the complete application was received in the DHS Subsidy 
Office. 

If an extension application is denied, the DHS Subsidy Office will 
provide a denial notice to the guardian that includes the reason(s) 
for the denial and information regarding the right to request an 
administrative hearing; see GDM 780, Administrative Hearings.The 
DHS Subsidy Office will send written notification to the court with 
jurisdiction over the guardianship case following the deadline to 
request an appeal or following the administrative hearing order. 

RECOUPMENT 

Recoupment for overpayments will be pursued retroactively to the 
date that eligibility ceased; see GDM 770, Recoupment/Underpay-
ments/Tax Implications. 
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RATE 
DETERMINATION 
OVERVIEW 

After a child is determined eligible for guardianship assistance, a 
guardianship assistance payment rate is determined. A two-step 
process is used to establish the ongoing monthly guardianship 
assistance payment.  

1. The Department of Human Services (DHS) subsidy office 
determines the maximum guardianship assistance rate, based 
on the state’s foster care rates (see FOM 905-3).  

2. The prospective guardian and the assigned worker discuss the 
child’s needs and negotiate the ongoing monthly assistance 
payment up to the maximum rate. The agreed upon monthly 
payment is documented on the DHS-3313, Guardianship 
Assistance Agreement. The DHS-3313 must be signed by the 
guardian and the DHS designee prior to the court’s 
appointment of the guardian.  

MAXIMUM RATE 
DETERMINATION 

The DHS subsidy office determines a maximum rate for the child’s 
guardianship assistance payment. The rate is determined based on 
the foster care rate the child received prior to application for guard-
ianship assistance without regard to the income of the guardian. 
The rate determination includes any Determination of Care (DOC) 
rate that is approved for the child in foster care. 

Children Not 
Receiving Family 
Foster Care 
Payments 

For children whose care has been funded through financial support 
other than foster care payments (Such as, Department of Commu-
nity Health funds, Retirement, Survivors, Disability Insurance 
(RSDI), Supplemental Security Income (SSI)), a foster care rate 
must be determined and approved by the DHS local office. The rate 
must be determined based on the foster care payment the child 
would receive in a family foster home, including any DOC, if the 
alternate financial support was not being paid. The maximum 
guardianship assistance rate will be set using the foster care rate 
approved by the DHS local office.  
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Required 
Documentation of 
Child’s Needs 

The following documentation must be attached to the DHS-3310, 
Juvenile Guardianship Assistance Application in order to establish 
the maximum guardianship assistance rate. The documentation 
must be current at the time the complete application is received in 
the DHS subsidy office in order for it to be accepted and not subject 
to expiration during the review process.  

No DOC rate 

A copy of the most recent (within the last six months) DOC assess-
ment (DHS-470, 470-A, or 1945) must be submitted. 

DOC Rate 

A foster care rate that exceeds the DHS current standard mainte-
nance payment is considered a Determination of Care (DOC) Rate; 
see Foster Care Payment Resources, 903-03. If a child has care 
needs above a standard foster care maintenance rate, copies of the 
following foster care documents must be attached. 

DOC I, II, III 

 A DOC Level I, II and III requires: 

 A copy of a current DHS-approved DOC assessment 
(DHS-470, 470A, or 1945) dated within six months. This 
may be the approval for a projected rate if the child is not 
currently receiving foster care payments. 

 A copy of the DHS-67, Parent-Agency Treatment Plan & 
Service Agreement (for children receiving foster care pay-
ments), dated within three months of the application date.  

DOC Rate Above Level III 

 A DOC above Level III requires all of the above, plus: 

 A copy of the supporting documents that were submitted 
to the designated DHS manager to justify the rate. 

 A copy of the professional documentation that supports 
the DOC rate, if applicable. 
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 A copy of the approval memo from the designated DHS 
manager. 

 A description of the child’s special needs and specific 
information showing how the exceptional rate was 
calculated. 

Rate Changes 
before 
Guardianship 
Approval 

When a child’s DOC increases or decreases after a guardianship 
agreement has been issued, but prior to the court’s appointment of 
the guardian, the assigned worker must notify the DHS subsidy 
office. The assigned worker must submit a completed Change 
Request form (DHS-4817G) and attach a current DOC form (DHS-
470, 470A, or 1945) if applicable. The DHS subsidy office will 
review the DOC form and all supporting documentation. The 
guardianship assistance maximum rate will be reviewed and a new 
DHS-3313, Guardianship Assistance Agreement will be issued with 
a new guardianship assistance maximum rate. 

If the DOC rate has decreased, the guardianship assistance maxi-
mum rate will decrease. If the DOC rate has increased, the maxi-
mum guardianship assistance rate will increase. After the DHS-
3313 is issued, the agreement must be signed by the prospective 
guardian and the DHS designee prior to the court’s appointment of 
the guardian.  

Base Rate 
Increases After the 
Guardianship 
Appointment 

Guardianship assistance base rates increase when the child has a 
birthday which would affect the base guardianship assistance rate 
or when the legislature authorizes an increase in the base 
guardianship assistance rate. DOC rates are set prior to the 
appointment of the guardian and are not subject to increases after 
the guardianship begins. 
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Negotiation of the 
Ongoing Monthly 
Payment 

The ongoing monthly guardianship assistance payment is negoti-
ated in discussion between the guardian and the assigned worker 
by taking into account the child’s needs and guardian’s circum-
stances. The ongoing monthly payment may be set at any rate up 
to the maximum guardianship assistance rate determined by the 
DHS subsidy office.  

The assigned worker assists the prospective guardian in determin-
ing the amount that is needed to support the addition of the child to 
the prospective guardian’s family. 

The DHS-3313, Guardianship Assistance Agreement includes both 
the maximum rate set by the DHS subsidy office and the ongoing 
monthly rate requested by the prospective guardian. The 
agreement must be signed by the prospective guardian and the 
DHS designee prior to the court’s appointment of the guardian. 

Negotiated 
Changes in 
Ongoing 
Guardianship 
Payments  

Payments Established Below the Maximum Rate 

If the guardian agrees to an ongoing monthly assistance payment 
that is less than the maximum guardianship assistance rate indi-
cated on the DHS-3313, they may request a change once every 12 
months in the payment at a later date. 

The ongoing monthly guardianship assistance payment may not 
exceed the maximum guardianship assistance rate determined 
prior to the court’s appointment of the guardian. The rate may 
include any increases to the base guardianship assistance rate due 
to legislated or age-appropriate increases. 

If the child’s or guardian’s circumstances change and the guardian 
decides that the ongoing monthly guardianship assistance payment 
needs to be increased, they may request an increase of the 
ongoing monthly guardianship assistance payment up to the 
maximum rate that was established by the DHS subsidy office prior 
to the guardianship. 
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Payments Established at the Maximum Rate 

Guardians may request a decrease in the ongoing monthly guard-
ianship assistance payment if they decide that it is appropriate. 

Address for Requesting Rate Changes 

Requests for ongoing monthly rate changes must be made in 
writing and sent to: 

DHS Subsidy Office 
Michigan Department of Human Services 
Grand Tower, Suite 612 
P.O. Box 30037 
Lansing, MI 48909 

Effective Date of Rate Changes 

The effective date of a rate change is based on the date of DHS 
approval but no more than 30 calendar days from the date the writ-
ten request for rate change was received by the DHS subsidy 
office. The child is not eligible for an increased payment prior to the 
effective date. The rate change is activated when both the DHS 
designee and guardian have signed the new agreement. 

OTHER FINANCIAL 
BENEFITS  

When the court appoints the guardian, the guardian should apply to 
become the representative payee for children who are eligible for 
Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Retirement, Survivors, 
Disability Insurance (RSDI) or Veteran’s Administration (VA) 
benefits. Guardians should contact their local Social Security 
Administration office regarding SSI and RSDI. Guardians may 
apply to become the representative payee for VA benefits by 
contacting the Veteran’s Administration. The assigned worker must 
assist the guardian in applying for these benefits by providing the 
claim number under which benefits are received.  

A child may be eligible for both guardianship assistance payments 
and SSI. In the case of children who have been eligible for SSI prior 
to guardianship, the guardian must immediately notify SSI of the 
guardianship and the amount of the ongoing monthly guardianship 
assistance payment. The Social Security Administration will deter-
mine the child’s continued eligibility for SSI after guardianship and 
the amount of the payment.  
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If a guardian chooses not to request guardianship assistance 
because the child receives other financial support and does not 
have a guardianship assistance agreement signed by both the 
guardian and the DHS designee prior to the court’s appointment of 
the guardian, they will not be eligible for guardianship assistance 
payments in the future.  

The assigned worker must inform the prospective guardian that 
RSDI, SSI, and VA benefit payments may not provide ongoing 
assistance through age 18, depending on the source of the benefits 
and possible eligibility requirements based on income or continued 
disability. 
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TITLE IV-E FUNDED 
GUARDIANSHIP 
ASSISTANCE 

Children who are determined eligible for title IV-E funded guardian-
ship assistance are categorically eligible for Medicaid. A signed 
Guardianship Assistance Agreement (DHS-3313) and court 
appointment of a guardian are required in order to receive Medicaid 
through the program. The DHS Subsidy Office will open and 
maintain the Medicaid case after the foster care case is closed. 
Medicaid eligibility will continue as long as the guardianship 
assistance agreement is in effect. 

STATE FUNDED 
GUARDIANSHIP 
ASSISTANCE 

Medicaid eligibility for children who are eligible for state funded 
guardianship assistance and living in Michigan is determined by the 
DHS subsidy office. Children in juvenile guardianship will be eligible 
for Medicaid under Other Healthy Kids (see BEM 131), or Depart-
ment Wards, Title IV-E and Adoption Assistance Recipients (see 
BEM 117).  

There may be some cases where the child has significant income 
(above 150% of poverty level) from sources other than 
guardianship assistance. The child’s eligibility for Group 2 Persons 
Under Age 21 Medicaid should be determined. There may be a 
deductible in these cases (see BEM 132).  

Possible sources of income are Retirement, Survivors, Disability 
Income (RSDI) or other financial support the child receives. The 
prospective guardian’s income and assets are not considered in the 
determination of Medicaid eligibility for the child. See BEM 211 for 
Medicaid group composition information. 

The child’s countable income must be considered. The DHS 
subsidy office will open and maintain the Medicaid case after the 
foster care case is closed. 
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INTRODUCTION 

Nonrecurring Expenses (NRE) eligibility is based on the state’s fed-
erally approved title IV-E plan and state law. 

After eligibility is determined, the agreement is signed by the guard-
ian and the DHS designee, and the court has appointed the guard-
ian, the DHS subsidy office will determine allowable expenses 
claimed by the guardian or a third party (that incurred expenses on 
behalf of the guardian). The maximum allowable reimbursement is 
$2,000 per child.  

ELIGIBILITY 

A child may be determined eligible for nonrecurring expenses reim-
bursement if the child has been determined eligible for 
Guardianship Assistance (see GDM 715). 

AGREEMENT 

A written agreement, Guardianship Assistance Agreement (DHS-
3313) between the prospective guardian(s) and the department set-
ting forth the nature of the payment and the claim process, must be 
signed by both the guardian and the DHS designee before the court 
appointment of a guardian. A copy of the signed agreement will be 
given to the guardian. 

Detailed information about the agreement is available in GDM 740, 
Guardianship Assistance Agreements. 

PROCESS 

NRE are reasonable and necessary fees and expenses directly 
related to the process of obtaining juvenile guardianship of an eligi-
ble child.  

Nonrecurring expenses do not include costs or expenses incurred 
in violation of state or federal laws or that have been reimbursed 
from other sources or funds. 

The guardian or a third party, with the assigned worker’s 
assistance, must claim expenses to be reimbursed within two (2) 
years or less of the date of the court’s appointment of the guardian. 
If the expenses are not claimed within two (2) years of the guardian 
appointment, eligibility for reimbursement ends.  
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Claim Forms 

Nonrecurring expenses must be claimed on the Guardian Claim for 
Reimbursement of Nonrecurring Expenses (DHS-4815G), or the 
Third Party Claim for Reimbursement of Nonrecurring Expenses - 
Guardianship (DHS-4816G). More than one DHS-4815G or DHS-
4816G may be submitted for a child within the two-year period fol-
lowing the date of the court’s appointment of the guardian, if the 
expenses being claimed were not previously submitted and total no 
more than $2,000. 

Third Party 
Reimbursement 

A third party is a party who has incurred NRE expenses directly 
related to obtaining juvenile guardianship of an eligible child on 
behalf of the guardian. 

Guardianship 
Termination 

If a child’s guardianship is revoked or terminated before the two-
year expiration of expense reimbursement, the guardian or third 
party remains eligible for reimbursement of nonrecurring expenses 
for two years after the date of the original appointment of the guard-
ian.  

Sibling Group 
Claims 

Nonrecurring expenses applying to an entire sibling group may be 
submitted on one claim form, providing total expenses related to 
obtaining juvenile guardianship do not exceed the maximum allow-
able reimbursement of $2,000 per child. 

If the expenses exceed $2,000 for one child, those expenses must 
be divided and reported on each child’s claim form. If the expenses 
exceed $2,000 per child, only $2,000 per child will be reimbursed. 
Receipts or other appropriate documents must be attached to each 
sibling claim form. 

Child Not Placed 
Into Guardianship 

If a child who was certified eligible for NRE is not placed into guard-
ianship by court order, NRE reimbursement is not available. 



GDM 730 3 of 6 
NONRECURRING EXPENSES ELIGIBILITY 
AND REIMBURSEMENT - GUARDIANSHIP 

ASSISTANCE 

GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

Claim/ 
Reimbursement  

Claim procedures for the guardian who has incurred or will incur 
expenses, and is ultimately responsible for payment of the 
expenses related to obtaining juvenile guardianship, are as follows: 

1. The guardian completes, with the assigned worker’s 
assistance, the Guardian Claim for Reimbursement of 
Nonrecurring Expenses (DHS-4815G). Attach receipts or 
appropriate document for each expense incurred as outlined 
below and submit to the DHS subsidy office within two years or 
less after the date of the appointment of the guardian. 

2. The DHS subsidy office will determine the reimbursable 
expenses, the amount of reimbursement, authorize the 
reimbursement and initiate payment to the guardian after the 
guardian has been appointed by the court and a guardianship 
assistance case is opened by the DHS subsidy office. 

Third Party Claim/ 
Reimbursement 

Claim procedures for a third party that has incurred NRE on behalf 
of a guardian (who retains ultimate responsibility for payment), that 
are directly related to obtaining juvenile guardianship of a foster 
child are as follows: 

1. With the assigned worker’s assistance, the guardian and third 
party complete the Third Party Claim for Reimbursement of 
Nonrecurring Expenses (DHS-4816G). Receipts or appropriate 
document for each expense incurred must be attached. The 
claim must be submitted to the DHS subsidy office within two 
(2) years or less after the guardianship appointment by the 
court.  

 If more than one third party has incurred expenses on behalf of 
a guardian, a DHS-4816G must be submitted for each third 
party (and one for each child in a sibling group). 

2. After the guardian has been appointed by the court and a 
guardianship assistance case is opened by the DHS subsidy 
office, the office will determine appropriate reimbursable 
amounts, authorize reimbursement and initiate payment to the 
third party. 
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 Expense/Fee Receipt/Document/Other Required 

   

 Travel Mileage- Detailed travel log including dates 
traveled, addresses traveled to and from and 
purpose of travel. Mileage must be approved by the 
worker for the purpose of obtaining juvenile 
guardianship or other reasonable mileage required 
by the supervising agency. The DHS subsidy office 
will determine the reimbursable amount based on 
the state mileage rate in effect at the time of travel.  

  Airfare- A receipt showing passenger’s name, flight 
dates, points of travel, and cost of ticket. Airfare 
may be reimbursable if determined necessary by 
the assigned worker for the purpose of court 
hearing. Airfare would typically apply to interstate 
travel of a prospective guardian.  

  Assigned workers should contact the DHS 
Interstate Office prior to necessary travel regarding 
potential available transportation for a child over 
age five, or a child age five or under and a 
transporter (i.e, prospective guardian) when a child 
is required to travel between Michigan and another 
state.  

  Gas- Gas expenses are not specifically reimburs-
able. Mileage reimbursement includes coverage for 
gas expenses. 

  Bridge/Toll Fee- Receipt showing fee paid. These 
expenses may be reimbursable if associated with 
mileage as described above. 

 Lodging A receipt for lodging if the guardian travels in 
excess of 50 miles from the family residence for the 
purpose of obtaining juvenile guardianship. The 
DHS subsidy office will determine the reimbursable 
amount based on the current state rate plus taxes.  
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 Expense/Fee Receipt/Document/Other Required 

 Meals Travel must be for the purpose of obtaining juvenile 
guardianship. A receipt for each meal for immediate 
family members and foster child whose 
guardianship is in process, plus the date of travel, 
the meal (breakfast, lunch or dinner) and the 
number of people for whom meals were purchased. 
The maximum daily meal reimbursement rate for 
regular travel are in the state rate schedule. 
Individual meal reimbursement is based on the 
following schedule: 

Breakfast - When travel begins before 6 a.m. and 
extends beyond 8:30 a.m. 

Lunch - When travel begins before 11:30 a.m. and 
extends beyond 2 p.m. 

Dinner - When travel begins before 6:30 p.m. and 
extends beyond 8 p.m. 

   

 Medical Reimbursable medical expenses are for prospective 
guardians and family members living in the house-
hold and for expenses related to foster care 
licensing physicals only if required for guardianship 
eligibility that are not covered by other sources. A 
physician’s invoice or an insurance explanation of 
benefits identifying the patient’s name, date of 
service, description of service, and amount the 
prospective guardian must pay is required.  

 Psychological 
Evaluation 

Reimbursable expenses relate to a psychological 
evaluation for a prospective guardian when required 
by the assigned worker. Required documentation of 
the expense includes a psychologist’s invoice or 
insurance explanation of benefits identifying the 
guardian’s name, date of service, description of 
service, and the amount the guardian is responsible 
for and written correspondence from the assigned 
worker documenting agency’s requirement for the 
evaluation.  

 Licensing 
Assessment 

Foster care licensing assessments are completed 
without charge in the state of Michigan. For out of 
state licensing assessments, a detailed invoice from 
the agency where an expense was incurred by the 
guardian for licensing assessment, and written 
correspondence from the licensing worker detailing 
the circumstances surrounding the necessity of the 
expense. 
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 Expense/Fee Receipt/Document/Other Required 

 Attorney Fees An invoice from the attorney including dates of 
service, description of services, amount billed for 
services, attorney’s signature, and guardian’s 
signature verifying services. The guardianship 
process in Michigan does not require attorney 
services. 
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OVERVIEW 

Children who are eligible for the Guardianship Assistance Program 
(GAP) are eligible for post permanency services in the same man-
ner as adoptive families, including eligibility for medical subsidy. 
Medical Subsidy is a state-funded program. Eligibility is determined 
without respect to the guardian’s or child’s income. However, 
before medical subsidy reimbursement is made, the guardian must 
pursue all available private and public funding sources for medical 
costs, including private health insurance and public health benefits, 
such as Medicaid and Children’s Special Health Care Services. 

ELIGIBILITY 

A child may be eligible for the state funded Juvenile Guardianship 
Medical Subsidy if all of the following apply: 

 The child is certified eligible and approved by the DHS subsidy 
office for the GAP. 

 The child is under age 18. 

 The expenses to be covered by the medical subsidy are 
necessary due to a physical, mental or emotional condition that 
existed or the cause of which existed before the court order of 
guardianship appointment.  

 The physical, mental or emotional condition is certified as an 
eligible condition by the DHS subsidy office.  

 The guardian and DHS subsidy office designee have entered 
into a Juvenile Guardianship Medical Subsidy Agreement 
(DHS-3013-GA) covering all of the following: 

 Identification of the physical, mental or emotional 
condition(s) covered by the medical subsidy. 

 The duration of the medical subsidy agreement. 

 Conditions for continued eligibility for the medical subsidy. 

APPLICATION 

The assigned worker should apply for the Juvenile Guardianship 
Medical Subsidy (DHS-3310-M) concurrently with the Certification 
of Juvenile Guardianship Assistance Eligibility and Request for 
Agreement (DHS-3310), prior to the court’s order of guardianship. If 
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additional physical, mental or emotional conditions are diagnosed 
after the juvenile guardian is appointed by the court, the guardian 
may apply for certification of the conditions by using the same 
application form (DHS-3310-M). 

Prior to 
Guardianship 
Appointment 

Approved applications submitted prior to the court’s order of guard-
ianship appointment will be effective on the date of the court order 
of guardianship. A Juvenile Guardianship Medical Subsidy 
Agreement (DHS-3013-GA) must be signed by DHS and the 
guardian prior to submission of medical bills. 

After Guardianship 
Appointment 

Approved applications submitted on or after the date of the court 
order of guardianship will be effective the date the application is 
received by the department if the necessary documentation is 
received within 90 days after the application is received and the 
condition is approved. If the necessary documentation is not 
received with 90 days after the application is received, the 
application will be denied. A Juvenile Guardianship Medical 
Subsidy Agreement (DHS-3013-GA) must be signed by DHS and 
the guardian prior to submission of medical bills.  

DOCUMENTATION 
REQUIREMENTS 

Documentation requirements for Juvenile Guardianship Medical 
Subsidy are the same as for adoption medical subsidy. The require-
ments are in CFS 400. 

AGREEMENTS 

Policy regarding the medical subsidy agreement is in GDM 740. 

COVERED 
SERVICES 

Children who are eligible for Juvenile Guardianship Medical 
Subsidy are eligible for the same services as are adopted children. 
Policy regarding covered services is in CFS 640. 
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INTRODUCTION 

State and federal law require that the Department of Human Ser-
vices (DHS) enter into Guardianship Assistance Agreements (DHS-
3313) and state-funded Juvenile Guardianship Medical Subsidy 
Agreements (DHS-3013GA) with the guardian as a condition of eli-
gibility for: 

 Guardianship assistance. 

 Nonrecurring expenses. 

 Guardianship assistance-related Medicaid. 

 State-funded medical subsidy.  

Guardianship assistance and medical subsidy agreements are writ-
ten legally binding arrangements between the department and the 
guardian(s) which include the agreement provisions. 

AGREEMENT 
PROVISIONS 

 
Guardianship 
Assistance/ 
Nonrecurring 
Expenses 

The following provisions are included in both title IV-E and state 
funded guardianship assistance agreements: 

 Type of assistance to be paid. 

 Maximum guardianship assistance rate. 

 Amount of negotiated ongoing monthly guardianship 
assistance payment agreed to by the guardian(s) and the 
Department of Human Services (DHS) and any services and 
other assistance to be provided under the agreement. 

 Provisions for the protection of the interests of the child in 
cases where the guardian(s) and child move to another state 
while the agreement is in effect. 

 The guardianship agreement is in effect regardless of the state 
in which the guardian and child reside. 

 Nature and amount of nonrecurring expenses to be paid. 

 Medicaid eligibility. 
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 Conditions for continued payment of guardianship assistance. 

 Legislative increases and decreases that affect all cases. 

 Duration of the ongoing guardianship assistance monthly 
payment. 

 The procedures by which the guardian may apply for additional 
services as needed.  

Note:  If a needed service specified in the agreement is not 
available in the state of residence, the state making the original 
guardianship assistance payment remains financially responsible 
for providing the specified service. 

Medical Subsidy 
(State-Funded)  

The following provisions are included in state-funded medical sub-
sidy agreements: 

 Medical conditions covered by medical subsidy. 

 Requirements for continued payment of medical subsidy. 

 Continuation of eligibility regardless of a change in state 
residency. 

 Duration of the medical subsidy agreement. 

 Reimbursement requirements. 

OBTAINING 
AGREEMENTS 

 
Guardianship 
Assistance 
Agreements 

The DHS-3313, Guardianship Assistance Agreement, is issued by 
the DHS subsidy office. The assigned worker applies for this agree-
ment by submitting a DHS-3310, Certification of Guardianship 
Assistance Eligibility and Request for Agreement, to the DHS sub-
sidy office. 

Ongoing monthly guardianship assistance is paid in the amount 
negotiated between the guardian(s) and DHS, up to the maximum 
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amount entered by the DHS subsidy office on the DHS-3313, 
Guardianship Assistance Agreement. Details of the rate determina-
tion process are in GDM 720. 

Nonrecurring 
Expenses (NRE) 
Agreements  

The guardian(s) and DHS enter into an agreement for reimburse-
ment of nonrecurring expenses as a result of submission and 
approval of the DHS-3310, Certification of Guardianship Assistance 
Eligibility and Request for Agreement. Approval of the DHS-3310 
application results in the issuance of the DHS-3313, Guardianship 
Assistance Agreement. 

All agreements must be signed by both the guardian(s) and the 
DHS designee prior to the court’s appointment of the guardian. If 
the court’s appointment of the guardian is signed by the court prior 
to completion of all signatures on the agreement, reimbursement is 
not available. 

Claims for reimbursement of expenses by the guardian or autho-
rized third party may be initiated after the agreement is signed by 
all parties. Processing of reimbursement payments will begin after 
the appointment of the guardian, the DHS-1344G, Guardianship 
Case Opening Request, and appropriate receipts/documentation 
have been received by the DHS subsidy office. (See GDM 745, 
Guardianship Assistance Case Opening and Duration.) 

Nonrecurring expenses claims may be paid up to two (2) years 
after the date of the appointment of the guardian. The guardian(s) 
or authorized third party must claim the reimbursement for eligible 
expenses not later than two (2) years from the date of the court’s 
appointment of the guardian. (See GDM 730, Nonrecurring 
Expenses Reimbursement.) 

Medical Subsidy 
Agreements 

The Medical Subsidy Agreement (DHS-3013GA) is issued by the 
DHS subsidy office after approval of the DHS-1341G, Juvenile 
Guardianship Medical Subsidy Application. Prior to guardianship, 
the assigned worker assists the prospective guardian in applying 
for the medical subsidy agreement by submitting the DHS-1341G to 
the DHS subsidy office. After the guardian is appointed, the 
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guardian(s) apply for the medical subsidy agreement by submitting 
the DHS-1341G to the DHS subsidy office.  

The medical subsidy agreement must be signed by the guardian(s) 
and the DHS designee after the child’s eligibility has been deter-
mined by the DHS subsidy office. If the medical subsidy is signed 
by all parties on or before the court’s signature on the guardian’s 
appointment, the effective date of the agreement will be the date of 
the court’s appointment of the guardian.  

If the medical subsidy agreement is signed after the court’s signa-
ture on the appointment of the guardian, the effective date of the 
agreement will be the date of the appointment of the guardian or 
the effective date entered on the agreement by the DHS subsidy 
office, whichever is later.  

Medical bills will not be processed for payment until the guardian(s) 
and the DHS designee have signed the agreement and the DHS-
1344G, Guardianship Assistance Case Opening Request, has been 
processed by the DHS subsidy office. 

AGREEMENT 
PROCEDURES 

 
Guardianship 
Assistance and 
Medical Subsidy 

The DHS subsidy office: 

 Prepares the appropriate agreement for the child. 

 Sends the guardianship assistance agreement to the assigned 
worker. 

 Sends the medical subsidy agreement to the assigned worker 
with the DHS-3012GA, Medical Subsidy Agreement 
Instructions. 

The assigned worker: 

 Reviews each agreement with the guardian. For Guardianship 
Assistance Agreements, negotiates the ongoing monthly 
guardianship assistance payment amount with the guardian. 
(See GDM 720.) 
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  Assists the guardian(s) in filling in all blanks on the agreement 
according to the agreement instructions. 

 Returns the agreement to the DHS subsidy office. 

The DHS subsidy office: 

 Reviews the agreement for completeness and accuracy and 
resolves all problems before proceeding. 

 Obtains the DHS designee signature on the agreement. 

 Returns the agreement to the assigned worker. 

The assigned worker: 

 Provides the original signed agreement to the guardian and 
maintains a copy in the foster care case record. POS agencies 
must provide a copy of the agreement to the DHS foster care 
monitor. 

 Proceeds with the guardianship process. 
Post-Guardianship 
Medical Subsidy 

The DHS subsidy office: 

 Prepares the Medical Subsidy Agreement (DHS-3013GA). 

 Sends the agreement to the guardian with the DHS-3012GA, 
Medical Subsidy Agreement Instructions. 

The guardian: 

 Reviews the agreement, signs, and has a witness sign the 
agreement, following the instructions on the DHS-3012GA, 
Medical Subsidy Agreement Instructions. 

 Returns the signed agreement to the DHS subsidy office. 

The DHS subsidy office: 

 Reviews the agreement for completeness and accuracy and 
resolves all problems before proceeding. 

 Obtains the DHS designee signature on the agreement. 

 Returns the signed agreement to the guardian. 



GDM 740 6 of 7 
JUVENILE GUARDIANSHIP ASSISTANCE 

AGREEMENTS/GUARDIAN 
RESPONSIBILITIES 

GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

AGREEMENT 
SIGNATURES 

 
Guardianship 
Assistance 

A guardianship assistance agreement must be signed by both the 
guardian and the DHS designee prior to the court’s appointment of 
the guardian and is effective on the date of guardian’s appointment.  

If the guardianship assistance agreement is not signed by all 
parties before the date of the court’s appointment of the guardian, 
the child will not be eligible for guardianship assistance. 

Medical Subsidy 

A medical subsidy agreement can be signed any time after the child 
is certified eligible. If the medical subsidy agreement is signed 
before the date of the court’s appointment of the guardian, the 
effective date of the agreement will be the date of the guardian’s 
appointment.  

If the medical subsidy agreement is signed after the court’s appoint-
ment of the guardian, the effective date of the agreement will be the 
date of the court’s appointment of the guardian, or the effective 
date entered on the agreement by the DHS subsidy office, 
whichever is later.  

GUARDIAN 
RESPONSIBILITIES 

The guardian(s) must notify the DHS subsidy office, in writing, no 
later than 7 days after a change in the guardian’s address.  

The guardian(s) must notify the DHS subsidy office, in writing, no 
later than 30 days after any of the following occur: 

 The guardianship is revoked or terminated. 

 The child’s marriage. 

 The child’s death. 

 The child enters the military service. 

 The child becomes emancipated. 

 The child is adopted. 
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 The child becomes a ward of the Juvenile Court through 
voluntary or involuntary action. 

 The guardian is no longer providing any support of the child. 

Recoupment procedures will be followed for changes that result in 
an overpayment. 

School Attendance 

All school-age children who receive juvenile guardianship assis-
tance payments must be enrolled full-time (or in the process of 
enrolling) in elementary or secondary education through a school, 
home school, or independent study program in accordance with the 
law in their residence state, or unable to attend school on a full-time 
basis due to a medical condition that is supported by 
documentation in the child’s case record. 

Note:  Foster care policy does not permit home schooling for 
children who have open foster care cases. 

The annual report is used to provide the above information to DHS. 

Annual Review of 
Eligibility 

An annual report will be provided to all guardians receiving guard-
ianship assistance to determine continuing eligibility of the child and 
guardian. Failure to complete and return the annual report to the 
DHS subsidy office will result in further action to determine the 
child’s and guardian’s continued eligibility for guardianship assis-
tance programs. 
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CASE OPENING 
 

Guardianship 
Assistance and 
Medical Subsidy 

The assigned worker is responsible for informing the DHS subsidy 
office of the appointment of a guardian immediately after the court 
signs the guardianship order. Guardianship assistance, nonrecur-
ring expenses and medical subsidy is opened when all of the 
following are completed: 

1. A guardianship assistance and medical subsidy agreement, 
signed by the guardian(s) and the Department of Human 
Services designee, is complete. 

2. The foster care payment has been closed. 

3. The assigned worker has submitted the DHS-1344G, 
Guardianship Assistance Case Opening Request, signed by 
the guardian(s).  

Note:  The DHS-1344G is required to initiate the guardianship 
assistance payment and to determine the appropriate funding 
source for the guardianship assistance (title IV-E or state 
funds). 

4. The assigned worker has submitted a copy of the court’s 
signed appointment of guardianship.  

GUARDIANSHIP 
ASSISTANCE 
DURATION 

Guardianship assistance eligibility shall exist until one of the follow-
ing conditions occurs: 

 The child becomes 18 years of age. 

 The child has not yet reached his/her 18th birthday, but is 
emancipated by any of the following: 

 Court order. 
 Marriage. 
 Entering the military service. 

 The child dies. 
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 The child is adopted. 

 The guardianship is revoked or terminated. 

 The guardian has requested in writing that the guardianship 
assistance payment permanently stop. 

 A determination of ineligibility is made by the Department of 
Human Services.  

 One or more of the following are reasons for a determination of 
ineligibility: 

 The guardian dies. 

 The guardian is no longer legally responsible for the 
support of the child. 

  The guardian is no longer providing support for the child. 

Reporting 
Changes 

The guardian (or guardian’s representative, in the event of the 
guardian’s death) must notify the DHS subsidy office in writing 
within 30 days after any of the above changes occur. Recoupment 
procedures will be followed for changes not reported timely.  

Notice of 
Agreement 
Termination 

The guardian shall be notified of guardianship assistance agree-
ment termination due to one or more of the above conditions by a 
DHS-4103-G, Guardianship Assistance Case 
Closure/Overpayment Notice. A copy of this form must also be sent 
to the court with jurisdiction over the juvenile guardianship. 

MEDICAL SUBSIDY 
DURATION 

Note:  Medical subsidies are not title IV-E funded or subject to title 
IV-E regulations.  

Medical subsidy eligibility shall exist until one of the following condi-
tions occurs: 

 The child becomes 18 years of age. 
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 The child has not yet reached his/her 18th birthday, but is 
emancipated by any of the following: 

 Court order. 
 Marriage. 
 Entering the military service. 

 The child dies. 

 The guardianship is terminated. 

 A determination of ineligibility is made by the Department of 
Human Services based on one or more of the following: 

 The guardian receives a Family Support Subsidy for the 
child from the Michigan Department of Community Health. 

 The child is removed from his/her home as a temporary 
court ward due to delinquency or due to a child protective 
proceeding (MCL 712A.2(a) or.2(b)). 

Reporting 
Changes 

The guardian must notify the DHS subsidy office in writing within 30 
days after any of the above changes occur. Recoupment proce-
dures will be followed for overpayments. 

Notice of 
Agreement 
Termination 

The guardian shall be notified of the medical subsidy agreement 
termination due to one or more of the above conditions by a DHS-
4103G, Guardianship Assistance Case Closure/Overpayment 
Notice, from the DHS subsidy office. Recoupment of excess pay-
ments will be initiated if necessary. 

CHILD MADE A 
TEMPORARY 
COURT WARD 

 
Guardianship 
Assistance 

If a child is removed from his or her home due to delinquency as a 
temporary court ward under MCL 712A.2(a) or a child protective 
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proceeding under MCL 712A.2(b), the guardianship assistance 
payment must be continued unless the guardian is no longer 
providing any support for the child. Support includes various forms 
of financial support such as payments for therapy, tuition, clothing, 
maintenance of special equipment in the home, or services for the 
child’s special needs. If the state determines that the guardian is 
providing some form of financial support to the child, the state may 
continue the guardianship assistance payment after renegotiation 
of the ongoing monthly guardianship assistance payment and 
signatures by the guardian(s) and the DHS designee on the 
renegotiated agreement. 

Child Removed 
and Placed 
Outside the Home 
as a Temporary 
Court Ward 

MCL 712A.18(2) requires a court to order a guardian to reimburse 
the costs of care or service when a child is placed outside of his or 
her home.  

Child Placed in 
Own Home as a 
Temporary Court 
Ward 

MCL 712A.18(3) permits the court to order a guardian to reimburse 
the costs of care or service when a child is placed in his or her own 
home. 

Medical Subsidy 

Medical subsidy will be closed during the period when a child is 
removed from the home as a temporary court ward due to delin-
quency or due to a child protective proceeding. The medical 
subsidy may be reopened upon the child’s return to the home.  

Adoption by the 
Guardian 

If a guardian is receiving guardianship assistance and subsequently 
applies to adopt the child, a DHS-1341, Adoption Support 
Subsidy/Nonrecurring Adoption Expenses Application must be 
submitted to the DHS subsidy office prior to the finalization of the 
adoption. If the child is determined eligible as a special needs child, 
an adoption support subsidy agreement must be signed by the 



GDM 745 5 of 5 
JUVENILE GUARDIANSHIP ASSISTANCE 

CASE OPENING AND DURATION 

GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

adoptive parent(s) and the DHS designee prior to the finalization of 
the adoption. If the child was eligible for title IV-E adoption support 
subsidy prior to the guardianship, the title IV-E funding eligibility will 
be available for the adoption. 



GDM 760 1 of 3 
ADDRESS CHANGES/OUT OF STATE 

CASES 

GDB 2014-002 

2-1-2014 

 

 

CHILD GUARDIANSHIP MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

GENERAL 
INFORMATION 

Once approved, juvenile guardianship assistance and medical sub-
sidy will continue even if the guardian(s) moves out of the state, 
provided all other eligibility requirements are met. A guardian may 
not change a child’s domicile to another state without court 
approval.  

Children moving into Michigan with guardianship assistance and 
medical assistance from another state may be eligible to have 
Michigan Medicaid opened by the DHS subsidy office. 

ADDRESS CHANGES 

Address changes must be submitted to the DHS subsidy office in 
writing within 7 days of the change of address. The change 
information should be submitted as far in advance as possible so 
that guardianship assistance checks can be directed to the correct 
address. The written address change must include the following 
information: 

 Guardian’s name. 

 Phone number. 

 Child’s name. 

 Child’s date of birth. 

 Complete old address. 

 Complete new address (including any post office box number, 
if applicable). 

 Effective date of new address. 

 Guardian’s signature. 

Note:  If the guardian is also a licensed foster parent or day care 
provider, they must also contact the appropriate licensing office. A 
guardian must inform the court of any change of address within 7 
days of the change. 
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MEDICAID 
 

New Cases 
Opening With an 
Out-of-State 
Address 

Michigan Medicaid will not be opened for children whose guardian’s 
home is located in another state. 

At case opening, the DHS subsidy office will complete Interstate 
Compact on Adoptions and Medical Assistance (ICAMA) Form 6.01 
and notify the child’s state of residence that the Medicaid should be 
opened in that state. 

Michigan Children 
Moving to Other 
States  

For title IV-E funded guardianships, children who are eligible for 
Medicaid through Michigan’s guardianship assistance program 
should be eligible for the Medicaid program in the state where they 
live. 

For state funded guardianships, the guardian should apply for their 
state’s Medicaid program at the social services office in their com-
munity.  

Before moving, the guardian should contact the DHS subsidy office 
to change their address and inform the office that they will need 
Medicaid in the new state. 

The DHS subsidy office will complete the DHS-315, ICAMA Form 
6.01 Notice of Medicaid Eligibility/Case Activation, for the child and 
inform the new state of the need for medical assistance through 
that state’s program. 

Children Moving to 
Michigan from 
Other States 

A child who moves into Michigan with guardianship assistance-
related Medicaid eligibility from another state may receive Medicaid 
through Michigan’s Medicaid program. All title IV-E funded 
guardianship assistance cases are categorically eligible for 
Medicaid.The DHS subsidy office in central office authorizes and 
maintains current Medicaid for these children. 
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The guardian of an eligible child who is moving into Michigan 
should contact the state that issued the guardianship assistance 
agreement.The originating state should complete the ICAMA Form 
6.01 Notice of Medicaid Eligibility/Case Activation and forward it to: 

Michigan Department of Human Services 
DHS Subsidy Office, Suite 612 
P.O. Box 30037 
Lansing, Michigan 48909 
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RECOUPMENT 

Recoupment for overpayments will be pursued retroactively to the 
date that eligibility ceased to exist. 

Notice of Non-
Support Process 

When the DHS subsidy office is made aware that a child is no 
longer in the guardian(s) home and the guardian(s) are no longer 
providing any support for the child, the DHS subsidy office will send 
the DHS-1184-G, Initial Letter Regarding Guardianship Support, to 
the guardian(s).  

The DHS-1184-G notifies the guardian(s) that the DHS subsidy 
office was informed that the child is no longer in their care and that 
they are no longer providing any support for the child. The DHS-
1184-G informs the guardian(s) that they must notify the DHS 
subsidy office, in writing as to how they have been providing 
support for the child and how they intend to provide support for the 
child in the future. A written response and supporting 
documentation are required within 14 calendar days from receipt of 
the DHS-1184-G by the guardian(s).  

Failure by the guardian(s) to provide the requested information will 
result in a DHS-4103-G, Juvenile Guardianship Assistance Case 
Closure/Overpayment Notice, being issued to the guardian(s) and 
commencement of the recoupment process.  Recoupment will be 
retroactive to the date reported on the DHS-1184-G, that the child 
was no longer in the guardian(s) home and being supported by the 
guardian(s).  

The DHS-4103-G notifies the guardian(s) of their right to an 
administrative hearing; see GDM 780- Administrative Hearings for 
more information. 

Note:  Recovery of juvenile guardianship assistance overpayments 
is handled by the Reconciliation and Recoupment Section in 
Central Office. 

Recoupment 
Process When 
Eligibility Ceases 
to Exist 

If fraud is suspected, the DHS subsidy office must make a referral 
to the Office of Inspector General for their investigation; see Office 
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of Inspector General Referral Process subsection below for process 
information. When a referral to the Office of Inspector General is 
not required, the DHS subsidy office will begin the process below. 

The recoupment process for an overpayment will be immediately 
initiated when the DHS subsidy office is made aware that eligibility 
no longer exists; see GDM 745-Juvenile Guardianship Assistance 
Case Opening and Duration, for more information regarding 
eligibility criteria.  

The DHS subsidy office will initiate the recoupment process by 
issuing the DHS-4103-G, Juvenile Guardianship Assistance Case 
Closure/Overpayment Notice, to the guardian(s). The DHS-4103-G 
must include the dates the overpayment was issued, the total 
amount of overpayment and a short description of the cause of the 
over payment. The DHS-4103-G also notifies the guardian(s) of 
their right to an administrative hearing; see GDM 780- 
Administrative Hearings for more information.   

The DHS-4103-G must be mailed to the guardian(s) along with the 
DHS-325-AA, Debtor Repayment Agreement. The DHS-325-AA 
informs the guardian(s) that they have the option to make payment 
in full, have a reduction in their assistance (if currently receiving 
assistance for another child) or make monthly payments. The DHS 
subsidy office must upload a copy of the DHS-4103-G and the 
DHS-325-AA, into MiSACWIS. The guardian(s) must indicate which 
repayment option they have selected from the options listed above 
by one of the following actions:  

 Send a check or money order for the entire amount due 
payable to the State of Michigan to the DHS Cashiers Unit, or 

  Return a signed copy of the DHS-325-AA, to Reconciliation 
and Recoupment Section, Suite 710, PO Box 30037, Lansing 
MI  48909 with one of two boxes checked, either assistance 
reduction (only can occur if provider has an active assistance 
case) or manual monthly payments made payable to the State 
of Michigan and send to the DHS Cashiers Unit. 

Note:  Recovery of juvenile guardianship assistance overpayments 
is handled by the Reconciliation and Recoupment Unit in Central 
Office. 
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Reconciliation and 
Recoupment 
Overpayment 
Process 

When the DHS-325-AA, Debtor Repayment Agreement, is received 
by the DHS Reconciliation and Recoupment Section, the 
recoupment information will be entered into their unit recoupment 
database, as a receivable.  

Whenever the guardian(s) have questions regarding how the 
amount of overpayment was determined, the Reconciliation and 
Recoupment Section will direct the guardian(s) to the DHS subsidy 
office. The DHS subsidy office will review the information on the 
DHS-4103-G with the guardian(s) and will address concerns and 
disputes with the guardian(s).   

After the DHS subsidy office addresses any concerns or disputes 
with the guardian(s), the DHS subsidy office may make changes to 
the recoupment amount or dates for the overpayment time period. If 
a change is made, the DHS subsidy office will reflect this on a 
revised, DHS-4103-G and send an updated DHS-325-AA to the 
guardian(s).  The DHS subsidy office may determine that the initial 
recoupment amount and dates were correct and will notify the 
Reconciliation and Recoupment Section to proceed with 
recoupment of funds.  

If the DHS-4103-G is revised, a copy must be uploaded in 
MiSACWIS and copies must be sent to the Reconciliation and 
Recoupment Section and the guardian(s). 

The Reconciliation and Recoupment Section establishes the 
receivable into the subsidy overpayment database, monitors for 
compliance of repayments based on the signed DHS-325-AA, 
Debtor Repayment Agreement, and assesses for delinquency in 
payments.  Reconciliation and Recoupment Section receives 
notification of voluntary payments from the Cashiers Unit and 
adjusts guardian(s) debtor accounts accordingly to maintain the 
proper debtor claim balance.   

Note:  All phone calls or written correspondence received regarding 
payments will be addressed by the Reconciliation and Recoupment 
Section unless it is a new concern or debate of the overpayment 
amount. 
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Attorney General 
Referral 

In the event a debt due to an overpayment of juvenile guardianship 
assistance becomes delinquent, the debt may be referred by 
Reconciliation and Recoupment staff to the Attorney General’s 
Office for further collection efforts.  The Attorney General's Office 
will pursue collections on such claims through voluntary 
repayments, civil lawsuits, probation violations and 
seizure/garnishment on civil and criminal restitution orders. 

Office of Inspector 
General's Referral 

A referral to the Office of Inspector General shall be made if fraud is 
suspected. The DHS subsidy office must make a referral to the 
Office of the Inspector General for investigation, using the DHS-
834, Fraud Investigation Request.  

UNDERPAYMENTS 

Retroactive payments are issued to correct underpayments caused 
by administrative error. An underpayment occurs when the 
guardian is paid less than the amount of assistance they are 
eligible to receive. Examples of administrative errors are: 

 Computer or machine errors. 

 Misapplication of policy by DHS staff. 

 Failure to process a change in a timely manner. 
TAX IMPLICATIONS 

Guardians with specific tax questions or requests for information 
about how guardianship assistance affects their income tax must 
be referred to the Internal Revenue Service (www.irs.gov) or the 
Michigan Department of Treasury (www.michigan.gov/treasury). 
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ISSUES SUBJECT 
TO ADMINISTRATIVE 
HEARINGS 

The Department of Human Services has an administrative hearing 
process to provide for the right to contest a department decision or 
case action when a client believes the decision is contrary to law or 
DHS policy. The issues of eligibility denials, failure of the state to 
complete required paperwork prior to the court’s appointment of the 
guardian, rates, case closure, and/or reduction of benefits are 
issues subject to administrative hearings. The guardian has the 
burden of proof in a hearing. 

Guardianship assistance rates are negotiated, agreed to and 
signed by guardians by the act of signing the DHS-3313, 
Guardianship Assistance Agreement. 

Notice 
Requirements 

Application forms and each written notice of action taken on a case 
must provide applicants with information on their right to a hearing. 
This includes an explanation of how and where to file a hearing 
request and the right to be assisted by and represented by anyone 
chosen by the applicant. 

The applicant must receive a written notice of all case actions 
affecting eligibility or the amount of benefits. When a case action is 
proposed or taken, the notice must specify: 

 The action the department is taking. 

 The reason(s) for the action. 

 The specific manual item(s) that cites the legal basis for an 
action, or the regulation or law itself. 

 The circumstances when assistance will continue until the 
hearing decision is received. If the DHS action is upheld, the 
payments made during the time must be repaid to the 
department. 

Note:  When title IV-E assistance cases are continued until the 
hearing decision the funding source must be changed to state-
funded. If the hearing decision is to continue assistance the 
funding source must be change back to title IV-E. 
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Exception:  There will not be a notice of case action when a 
hearing decision is issued. The decision serves as notice of the 
action. 

The subsidy office must give timely and adequate notice of actions 
that will result in discontinuance, termination, suspension or reduc-
tion of assistance. 

Adequate notice means a notice containing the information above. 
Timely notice of these actions means that the notice must be 
mailed at least 10 calendar days before the effective date of action 
by the department.  

In the following circumstances, the subsidy office must send ade-
quate notice to the applicant/guardian no later than the date of the 
action taken (immediate negative action): 

 When the subsidy office has factual information confirming the 
death of the payee or the eligible child. 

 When the subsidy office receives a written statement signed by 
the payee that he/she no longer wishes to receive guardianship 
assistance or the statement provides information which 
requires termination or reduction of assistance, and the payee 
has indicated in writing that he/she understands that the 
discontinuance of assistance is the result of the information.  

 The payee’s whereabouts are unknown and the DHS mail 
directed to the payee has been returned by the post office 
indicating no known forwarding address. The payee’s check 
must be made available to him/her if the whereabouts become 
known during the payment period covered by a returned check. 

 A special allowance granted for a specific time period is 
terminated, and the recipient has been informed in writing at 
the time of the initiation that the allowance shall automatically 
terminate at the end of the specified period. 

 When the subsidy office has factual information in the form of a 
court order reporting that the guardianship has been termi-
nated.  
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Who May Request 
an Administrative 
Hearing 

Administrative hearings may be requested by an applicant for 
guardianship assistance or a guardian or a child who has received 
assistance under a guardianship assistance agreement.  

A hearing request with a client signature may name an authorized 
hearings representative who is authorized to stand in for or repre-
sent the client in the rest of the hearing process. 

See AAM 700 for detailed administrative hearing policies. 
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