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DEPARTMENT 
POLICY 

Low-income households who meet all State Emergency Relief 
(SER) eligibility requirements may receive assistance to help them 
with household heat and electric costs. Funding for energy services 
assistance is provided through the Low Income Home Energy 
Assistance Program (LIHEAP).  

Payments are applied to the fiscal year cap based on the SER 
Service Request Date, not the Benefit Issuance date(s). As a best 
practice, check the fiscal year cap(s) for each individual household 
member. Caps can be viewed in Benefit Issuance/SER 
Adjustments/View SER Cap. 

CRISIS DEFINED 

In compliance with Section 2604 of the LIHEAP statute, the 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
must provide some form of assistance within 48 hours of receiving 
an application for crisis assistance.  

Eligibility staff must contact the energy provider to secure a hold on 
the pending disconnect to resolve the immediate emergency and 
allow time to determine the household's eligibility for program 
benefits, if an automatic hold was not placed through MI Bridges. 

An energy crisis is one of the following: 

• An individual or household has a past due account or shut-off 
notice on an energy bill for his or her household. 

• A residential fuel tank is estimated to contain no more than 25 
percent of its heating fuel capacity or has more than 25 percent 
and tank is locked by provider 

• A stated need for household deliverable fuel or nontraditional 
fuel source such as wood, corn, cherry pits, etc. 

• A notice that the balance of a prepayment account is below 
$100. 

• A statement from a licensed service provider indicating the 
homeowner's furnace is inoperable and in need of repair or 
replacement.  
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LIFE THREATENING 
CRISIS DEFINED 

In compliance with Section 2604 of the LIHEAP statute, MDHHS 
must provide some form of assistance within 18 hours of receiving 
an application for crisis assistance.  

A household is considered to have a life-threatening energy crisis if 
all of the following criteria is met: 

• The household is not protected by Michigan's Winter Protection 
Plan (WPP) or some other shut off protection/moratorium.  

• The household has experienced disconnection of natural gas 
or electric service, has ran out of their household heating fuel, 
or the household has a statement from a licensed service 
providing indicating that the furnace is inoperable and in need 
of repair or replacement. 

• Restoration of energy service(s) is medically necessary.  

• The household does not have any temporary housing 
alternatives while the emergency is being resolved. 

COORDINATION 
WITH MEAP 

As required by Public Act 615, agencies receiving a grant to 
administer the Michigan Energy Assistance Program (MEAP) are 
required to offer services that will enable participants to become or 
move toward becoming self-sufficient, including assisting 
participants in paying their energy bills on time, assisting 
participants in budgeting for and contributing to their ability to 
provide for energy expenses, and assisting participants in utilizing 
energy services to optimize on energy efficiency. 

A household receiving an energy-related SER payment, for 
services covered in this item, qualify for MEAP services and 
assistance. The DHS-1419, State Emergency Relief Decision 
Notice, must inform the applicant that additional services are 
available through MEAP.  Include the following comment on each 
DHS-1419 when an energy service has been approved or when 
there is a denial due to the household having met their service cap 
in the current fiscal year: 

 A SER payment for heat or non-heat electricity service qualifies 
your household for additional energy services through the 
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Michigan Energy Assistance Program (MEAP). Please call 2-1-
1 for a referral to a MEAP grantee to see what other assistance 
you may be eligible to receive.  

Households that are currently enrolled in a provider-sponsored 
affordable payment plan (APP) through, Consumers Energy's 
Consumers Affordable Resource for Energy (CARE) Program, DTE 
Energy's Low Income Self-Sufficiency Plan (LSP), SEMCO 
Energy's Monthly Assistance Program (MAP) or UPPCO's Energy 
Assistance, Self-Sufficiency & Education (EASE) Program, Great 
Lakes Energy (Pathways) Program are not eligible for SER energy 
services. 

If a client is enrolled in a provider-sponsored program through 
Consumer's Energy, DTE, SEMCO UPPCO or GLE for only one 
energy service, it may be possible for the household to receive 
SER assistance for the energy service not covered by the 
provider's program. 

Information regarding MEAP, participating grantees and a list of 
providers who have opted out of participating in MEAP, can be 
found on the Michigan Public Service Commission's website under 
MPSC - Michigan Energy Assistance Program. Michigan law 
prevents electric companies, who have opted out of collecting the 
funding factor for MEAP, from disconnecting electric service to their 
customers between November 1st and April 15th.  Deny requests 
for energy services between November 1st and March 31st if the 
service provider is a non-participating electric service provider for 
the current fiscal year. 

Note:  If service was disconnected prior to November 1st, SER can 
assist to restore service if all eligibility requirements are met.  

SER eligibility for qualifying low-income households whose service 
provider opted out of collecting the MEAP surcharge resumes on 
April 1st.  

COVERED 
SERVICES 

 
Heating, Electric 
or Deliverable 
Fuels 

When the group's heat or electric service for their current residence 
is in past due status, in threat of shutoff or is already shut off and 

https://www.michigan.gov/mpsc/0,9535,7-395-93308_93327_93336---,00.html
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must be restored, payment may be authorized to the enrolled 
provider. The SER should be processed using the most 
advantageous amount to benefit the client, which may result in a 
credit to the energy account. If the total service balance is more 
than $425, and the fiscal year cap has enough remaining to cover 
the total service balance, use the total service balance. If the total 
service balance is less than $425.00 and there is still at least 
$425.00 available in their fiscal year CAP, enter $425.00 in the 
requested amount on the SER Service Request page and process. 
This will result in a credit balance. If the remaining balance in the 
cap is less than $425.00, use the remaining balance in the fiscal 
year cap if it will resolve the emergency for 30 days. This may 
result in a credit to the energy account. If the remaining balance in 
the cap is not enough to resolve the emergency, use the most 
beneficial balance (total service balance, past due balance or shut-
off balance). Payment will resolve the emergency for 30 days if 
using the shut off or past due amount.  

Example:  Client applies for natural gas heat 10/1/2023, shut off 
$145.00, past due $215.00, total service balance $355.00.  
Specialist would process using the total service balance of 
$355.00. Client now has $495.00 remaining in their cap. Two 
months later, after 11/13/2023, client applies for heat, shut off is 
now $305.00, past due $450.00, total service balance 
$585.00. Since client only has $495.00 remaining in their cap, 
specialist would process using the past due balance of $450.00 
and document, this is the most beneficial amount, over 
$425.00.   

Example:  Client applies for non-heat electric and application is 
processed on or after 11/13/2023, shut off is $75.00, past due 
$105.00, total service balance $155.00.  Client has $275.00 
remaining in the fiscal year cap.  Specialist would use $275.00 
the remaining balance in the fiscal year cap.  This is the most 
beneficial amount and under $425.00.  This will result in a credit 
to the account.   

Example: Client applies for natural gas heat and application is 
processed on or after 11/13/2023, shut off $145.00, past due 
$215.00, total service balance $355.00. Specialist would 
process using $425.00. Client now has $425.00 remaining in 
their cap. Two months later, client applies for heat, shut off is 
now $305.00, past due $450.00, total service balance $585.00. 
Since client only has $425.00 remaining in their cap, specialist 
would process using $425.00, the remainder in their cap.  
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Example:  Client applies for non-heat electricity 11/13/2023, 
shut off $525.00, past due $685.00, total service balance 
$885.00. Since the total service balance is more than the cap of 
$850.00, specialist would use the past due amount of $685.00 
to assist client to resolve the emergency for 30 days and 
document. Since the total service balance is over the cap and 
past due amount is over $425.00 (half of the FY cap), the most 
advantageous amount is the past due balance, therefore using 
the past due balance would be the most beneficial to the client.  

Note:  SER may be used to assist a household who is enrolled in 
the shut-off protection plan (SPP) as long as all other eligibility 
requirements are met.  

Payment may be made on a prepayment account for natural gas or 
electric services when the balance remaining in the account does 
not exceed $100. The SER benefit amount must not exceed the 
average billing amount for the past six months.  

Payment may be made up to the fiscal year cap for the necessary 
charges to deliver a 30-day supply of fuel for households that heat 
with deliverable fuel (fuel oil, propane or coal). For fuel oil and 
propane, a delivery to fill the tank is considered a 30-day supply. If 
the quote for a delivery is less than $600, enter $600 as the need 
amount if there is enough available in the fiscal year cap. If the 
quote is for more than $600, use actual amount. Payment for 
deliverable fuel will not be made if the deliverable fuel tank contains 
more than 25 percent of its heating fuel capacity. If, upon delivery, 
the existing supply is greater than 25 percent of the heating fuel 
capacity, the SER payment shall not be made.  

Note:  Wood, including wood pellets, are not considered a 
deliverable fuel. 

Example: Client applies for deliverable fuel 11/13/2023, provider’s 
quote shows minimum fill of $550.00. Specialist would process 
using $600.00. Client now has $600.00 remaining in their cap. Two 
months later, client applies again for deliverable fuel, quote shows 
minimum fill of $550.00 again, specialist would process using 
$600.00, the remainder in their cap, however if the client’s minimum 
fill was $625.00, specialist would use $625.00 as this is the 
minimum fill required of the provider, in this instance, client would 
have a $25.00 copay. 

Exception:  For deliverable fuel, if the remaining fuel in the 
household’s tank is above 25% but they have received a notice that 
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their tank will be locked/disconnected or the tank has been 
locked/disconnected due to an unpaid balance, a policy exception 
can be submitted through Bridges to assist, up to the cap if all other 
eligibility requirements are met. See ERM 104 for policy exception 
requirements. 

Deposit, 
Reconnect Fees 

Deposits, special trip charges, delivery fees, pilot relights, pressure 
checks, reconnect fees, and related charges such as storage tank 
(pig) installation, delivery or rental can be paid if they are necessary 
to prevent an emergency and are required by the provider. These 
fees are not included in the fiscal year cap but do have a dollar limit 
per occurrence. 

SERVICES NOT 
COVERED 

Do not authorize energy services to pay for: 

• Repair or protection plans.  

• Unauthorized or illegal use. 

• Bankrupt accounts. 

• Cooking gas; see ERM 302, Utility Services. 

• Service used in businesses or nonresidential buildings or 
facilities such as rental units, garages, stores, or nonresidential 
farm uses. When a bill represents combined residential and 
nonresidential or business usage, pay only the residential 
portion if the utility can provide an approximate breakdown 
showing the residential use portion and the group applying for 
energy services pays the nonresidential costs. In the case of a 
client who works in their own home, if the bill is in the client’s 
name and the service address is the same as the client’s 
residence address, it is considered a residential bill and 
payment may be authorized. If the bill is in the name of the 
client’s business, it is considered a commercial bill and 
payment cannot be authorized. 

 Exception: Payment shall not be issued for energy services 
when the usage is in violation of the federal law.  
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 Example: A client has requested assistance for an electric 
shut off which includes costs associated to manufacturing 
medical marijuana. The client is not eligible for SER since 
federal law, 21 U.S.C. 841(a) prohibits the manufacturing of 
marijuana. 

• Air conditioning billed separately from residential electric 
service. 

• Common meter/service situations. This occurs when one meter 
or heat/electric unit services more than one residential unit or 
residence. If the energy provider can verify the group’s actual 
usage and the provider will accept the SER group’s portion and 
maintain services, payment may be made in full. 

• Back rent when the client has a judgment which includes 
money owed on a heat or electric bill. This is considered a 
relocation service, not an energy service. 

Example:  A client has requested payment for eviction which 
includes money owed on a heat or electric bill. The landlord 
has paid the bill up to date with the provider, but the client has 
not paid the landlord for the heat/electric, which is part of the 
rental agreement. The heat/electric payment would be 
included as part of the total amount needed to prevent 
eviction. 

• Payments to residential landlords, residential management 
companies, billing service agencies, or collection agencies are 
not eligible to receive emergency service (ES) or SER funds, 
as they are not the actual service provider. Examples of third-
party billing companies who are not eligible providers include: 

 Universal Utilities. 
 D & B Billing Services. 
 Electrical Inspection Company. 
 Infinity Billing Enterprises. 

• Secondary household fuel types. Payment may only be 
approved for the primary heating source. 

• Deposit for new service when the energy provider is regulated 
by the Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC).  

• Late payment charges when the energy provider is regulated 
by the Michigan Public Service Commission (MPSC).  
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Note:  Per MPSC billing rules, a regulated utility shall not assess a 
late payment charge against a customer whose payment is being 
made by MDHHS. The 2 percent late fee should not then become 
the responsibility of the customer but should be reduced to zero for 
any payments made by MDHHS through State Emergency Relief 
(SER) or the Michigan Energy Assistance Program (MEAP). 

For a list of regulated Gas Utilities go to MPSC - Gas Utilities in 
Michigan 

For a list of regulated Electric Utilities go to MPSC - Utility 
Addresses & Contacts (michigan.gov) 

ELIGIBILITY 
CRITERIA 

The client must complete the DHS-1514, Application for State 
Emergency Relief, the MDHHS-1171, Assistance Application along 
with the MDHHS-1171-SER supplemental form or submit an 
application electronically through MI Bridges. 

• All household members are included in the SER group. 

• Income of all household members is budgeted. 

• Assets of all household members are budgeted. 

• Income verification used for current eligibility for any other 
MDHHS administered program may be used, if available. If not 
available, income must be verified. 

• There is no income copayment for energy-related services. 
The household income must be at or below the LIHEAP 
income limit for the group to qualify for SER; see Exhibit II - 
SER Income Need Standards for Energy/LIHEAP Services in 
ERM 208.  

• The bill must be connected to the group’s current address. If 
the bill, including old or transferred balances, must be paid to 
start or maintain service at the current or new address, 
payment may be authorized up to the fiscal year cap, as long 
as the payment resolves the emergency. 

• The household fuel type must be correct for the type of 
payment requested. 

https://www.michigan.gov/mpsc/0,9535,7-395-93308_93325_93422_93762_94260-503211--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mpsc/0,9535,7-395-93308_93325_93422_93762_94260-503211--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mpsc/0,9535,7-395-93308_93325_93423_93500_94218-503159--,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mpsc/0,9535,7-395-93308_93325_93423_93500_94218-503159--,00.html
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• The requested amount in Bridges must match the amount on 
the past due or shut off notice/bill, or the declared amount 
needed for a deliverable fuel. If there is a discrepancy in the 
amount needed to resolve the emergency, there must be 
documentation in the case record. 

Note:  The requested amount for a prepayment account must 
equal the group's average billing amount for the past 6 months. 

• Verification that the required copayment(s) has been paid must 
be obtained prior to the MDHHS payment being issued. All 
other non-financial eligibility requirements must be met. 

• Payment can only be made to an enrolled energy provider, see 
ERM 401, Payments. 

Good Cause 

The required payment amount for both heat and non-heat electricity 
is $0, therefore Good Cause is granted for each energy-related 
service request. A SER group is not required to make payments in 
the 6 months prior to the SER application for an energy-related 
service request in order to be eligible for energy assistance. 

The SER Required Payments - Details screen should be completed 
as follows for any of the 6 months prior to the SER application 
month: 

The dropdown value next to the applicable SER service type(s) 
should contain a no response to the question, “Did the client have 
an obligation to pay for this month?” 

Decision Notice 

The DHS-1419, Decision Notice, must be sent to the client for 
every energy request. The notice must include the required 
payment amounts to inform the client of their obligation; see ERM 
103, Application Procedures. 

The DHS-1419, State Emergency Relief Decision Notice, must 
inform the applicant that additional services are available through 
MEAP. Include the following comment on each DHS-1419 when an 
energy service has been approved or when there is a denial due to 
the household having met their service cap in the current fiscal 
year: 
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 A SER payment for heat or non-heat electricity service qualifies 
your household for additional energy services through the 
Michigan Energy Assistance Program (MEAP). Please call 2-1-
1 for a referral to a MEAP grantee to see what other assistance 
you may be eligible to receive. 

Note:  The DHS-1150, Application Eligibility Notice, may be used to 
notify a client of a denied SER request and must be issued in 
instances where no DHS-1419 is generated through Bridges.  

SALES TAX ON 
DELIVERABLE 
FUELS 

Payments to deliverable fuels are subject to sales tax unless 
ordered by, billed to, and paid by DHHS. 

Example:  Client completes application requesting assistance 
with their fuel oil/propane. Specialist sends email to provider 
requesting estimate/invoice for propane fill for their 
client.  (Invoice should be made to DHHS, with client’s address 
for delivery). Propane company emails DHHS specialist the 
estimate/invoice. Since DHHS ordered the propane and 
received the estimate/invoice and DHHS will make payment, the 
invoice is tax exempt.  (DHHS is the purchaser of the service, 
therefore exempt from sales tax) 

Example:  Client completes application requesting assistance 
with fuel oil/propane and provides an 
estimate/invoice. Specialist processes request and 
approves. Since the estimate/invoice is between the provider 
and the client, the invoice is subject to sales tax. (The invoice is 
between the client and the provider, therefore, since the client is 
the responsible party, it is subject to sales tax) 

TRIBAL 
PAYMENTS 

Indian tribal organizations may receive LIHEAP funds directly from 
the federal government to help with heat, electric and furnace repair 
bills. Payments are made available by the tribal organization to the 
members of the tribe, usually in the form of direct payments to the 
provider. The tribal members may apply for SER, but payments are 
limited to the highest amount available either from MDHHS or the 
tribal organization. 
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The worker must notify the program office, via an email to: Policy-
SER@michigan.gov, of the tribal LIHEAP payment so the fiscal 
year cap can be adjusted. 

To avoid duplicate payment, verify any tribal LIHEAP 
authorizations. Notify Front End Eligibility (FEE) if necessary. 

VERIFICATION OF 
NEED AND COST 
OF THE 
EMERGENCY 

Verify past due status, threatened shutoff or the need for 
reconnection of natural gas or electricity, by using the online portal 
or contacting the energy company. For SER groups who have a 
prepayment account, verify that their prepayment balance does not 
exceed $100. Contact can be in the form of a written notice, 
telephone call, fax, email or information on the provider’s secure 
website. Documentation of this verification must be uploaded and 
saved into the ECF.  

Accept the group's statement as verification of need for deliverable 
fuels, wood and other non-metered heating sources.  Release of 
payment under Benefit Issuance MUST not be completed until the 
final invoice has been received and uploaded to ECF.  Household 
fuel type on the Household Information Page and Household 
heating source on the SER Service Request Details MUST be 
entered correctly to match the service being authorized. 

A bill must be obtained before authorizing a payment. A fax, 
email or scanned copy of the bill received directly from the 
provider is acceptable as long as it includes all the pertinent 
information that would be included on the actual bill.  

Exception:  The specialist may only use a DHS-223, 
Documentation Record, for deliverable fuels, wood and other non-
traditional heating source estimates or to clarify discrepancies. The 
DHS-223 may not be used as a verification source for natural gas, 
non-heat electric or other energy types that receive monthly 
statements and shut off notices. Documentation on the DHS-223 
must include: 

• Date. 

• Client name and case number.  

• Amount needed to resolve the emergency. 

• Name on account. 

mailto:policy-SER@michigan.gov
mailto:policy-SER@michigan.gov
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• Any other pertinent account information. 

• The name of the person at the utility company who provided 
the information along with the signature of the MDHHS staff 
person obtaining the information. 

Photocopies of bills are not accepted. 

The original bill, including scanned copies, fax, email or DHS-223 
must be attached to the original DHS-849 and forwarded to the fis-
cal unit. See ERM 401, Payments, for the proper use of the DHS-
849. 

PAYMENT LIMITS 

 

Effective 
October 1, 2023 

 

Energy Type Service 
Code 

Fiscal Year Cap 
 

Natural gas and wood 63 $850 

Deliverable fuel (fuel oil, propane, 
coal) 

63 $1200 

Other fuel (kerosene, corn 
pellets, cherry pits, etc.) 

63 $850 

Residential electric (not used for 
heat) 

65 $850 

All-electric home (combined heat 
& residential use) 

64 $850 

Deposits/fees for energy service 26 
(heat)/27 
(electric) 

$200 per 
occurrence 
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Authorizations 

Before authorizing the department’s portion of the cost of services, 
verify that the non-citizen proration and/or client contribution have 
been paid by the client or will be paid by another agency. 
Verification from a MEAP grantee that the household will be 
enrolled into an energy provider’s Affordable Payment Plan (APP) 
can be used to satisfy the household’s client contribution. 

Approve payment if it will resolve the emergency and if the energy 
provider will maintain or restore service for at least 30 days. Do not 
authorize any energy services payment that will not resolve the 
current emergency, even if the payment is within the fiscal year 
cap. 

Note:  MEAP cannot be used for non-citizen proration. Additional 
payments made by another agency, which reduce the client’s total 
bill to a zero balance, should not reduce the SER payment. The 
MDHHS payment is not reduced when another agency is paying 
the client’s current balance (the amount not subject to shut off) so 
the client’s account will have a $0 balance. If you are unsure if the 
additional agency commitment results in $0 owed on the account, 
please confirm the information with the energy provider.  

Payments are applied to the cap of the client. Client is defined as 
the applicant for or recipient of SER and includes all group mem-
bers. Every individual in the group who benefits from the payment, 
including minor children, will have payments applied to their individ-
ual cap. The payments applied to the cap follow the individual even 
if they move from one household to another.  

In instances where a group member has met the cap, but the rest 
of the household has not received an energy-related SER payment, 
an exception request should be submitted through Bridges. This will 
allow the household to qualify for additional MEAP services. 

Example:  A SER payment is made for heat on the mother’s 
case. The payment applies to the mother’s cap and to all the 
children who live with her. One child leaves the home and 
moves in with the father. The father then applies for SER for 
heat. The child’s cap is applied to the father’s eligibility 
determination because the child has benefited from the previous 
heat payment. 

Bridges tracks all energy service authorizations and cap limits for 
each individual. In order to view the payment caps, complete an 
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inquiry in Bridges for each SER group member. Caps can be 
viewed in Benefit Issuance/SER Adjustments/View SER Cap. 

ACCESSING 
CLIENT ENERGY 
ACCOUNT 
INFORMATION 

 
On-line Account 
Access 

DTE – DTE Energy Assistance Portal 

URL: DTE - Agency Portal (dteenergy.com) 

Consumers Energy – Consumers Energy Portal for Agency 
Self Service (CE PASS) 

URL: Login (consumersenergy.com) 

Michigan Gas Utilities- MGU 

URL: https://accel.michigangasutilities.com/energyassistance 

MDHHS local office security coordinators and their backups are the 
designated account administrators for DTE and Consumers Energy 
online access. Security coordinators are responsible for enrolling 
staff and maintaining appropriate access to DTE Energy Assistance 
Portal and CE PASS to determining SER eligibility.  MGU is 
responsible for enrolling staff and maintaining appropriate access, 
contact CAC@michigangasutilities.com for any questions. 

Changes to local office security coordinators should be reported 
directly to the SER policy mailbox, do not contact DTE or 
Consumers Energy directly with these requests.  

• All MDHHS staff and managers who intend to use the online 
access must provide all necessary profile information 
requested by the energy provider, which may include personal 
information. 

• MDHHS staff must be trained and supplied with a user ID and 
password prior to use. 

• All trained staff and managers are allowed to access the 
website to obtain payment history, other account information, 
and to allow a confirmation of payment. 

https://dteagency.dteenergy.com/Portal/#/
https://www.consumersenergy.com/cepass/Account/LogOn
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Faccel.michigangasutilities.com%2Fenergyassistance&data=05%7C01%7CMclaughlinJ%40michigan.gov%7Cb39f013a07274dc99e0508db6822dcf1%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C638218271194575908%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=NhUPVb71Z0Gu%2BESm%2FS8%2FtfaC1QfwfuHIuQQQzP7QNYQ%3D&reserved=0
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• MDHHS staff MUST use the account statement provided on 
the website in lieu of an actual bill. A copy of the online 
statement must be uploaded to the ECF. DHS-849 must be 
local printed to move from pending correspondence to history.   

• MDHHS staff MUST submit a payment confirmation via the 
website. The commitment requires the approved DHS-849 
invoice number and amount. If the commitment is not entered 
for DTE, the 30-day eligibility hold placed will remain in lieu of 
an additional 30 days from the payment date.   

Example:  Client applies on 9/7/2023, 30-day hold is placed 
through 10/6/2023. Worker processes SER on 9/8/2023 which 
results in a copay. Client makes copay on 9/12/2023 and 
provides verification.  Worker processes copay on 9/13/2023, 
releases DHHS payment and adds commitment to DTE online 
portal.  A new 30-day hold is placed through 10/12/2023. Client 
cannot be put into shut off before 10/12/2023.  

• An application for assistance includes a disclaimer to allow 
access to account information with energy providers via fax, 
email, and phone or company website. When the client signs 
the application (which is required for all SER energy requests), 
they are giving MDHHS staff permission to access the site. No 
separate release of information is required. 

• Energy providers' websites are to be used for business 
purposes only, are not for unauthorized or personal use and 
are monitored. Providing false information for a user profile or 
conducting personal activity can result in disciplinary actions.  

LEGAL BASE 

Mich Admin Code, R 400.7001 et seq. 
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