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OVERVIEW 
 

Federal Law 

The Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing Adoptions 
Act of 2008 (PL 110-351) includes an option for states to receive 
matching federal funds to extend foster care maintenance pay-
ments, through federal title IV-E funding, to eligible foster youth 
ages 18, 19, and 20.  

State Law 

To implement this option, Michigan passed the Young Adult Volun-
tary Foster Care Act (MCL 400.641 - 400.671), which offers 18-, 
19- and 20-year-olds who were in state-supervised foster care at 
the age of 18 or older the option of living in a licensed foster family 
home, a child caring institution, or an approved setting in which the 
individual is living independently, until age 21.  

Court Rules 

MCR 3.616. Proceeding to Determine Continuation of Voluntary 
Foster Care Services, implements the judicial action requirements 
of 2011 PA 225, the Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care Act. 

ELIGIBILITY 
CRITERIA 

Consideration for Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care (YAVFC) is 
available to youth, who were in out-of-home placement after being 
referred or committed to the Michigan Department of Health and 
Human Services (MDHHS) for care and supervision, at the age of 
18 years-old. Youth requesting to participate in YAVFC must meet 
either of the following criteria: 

 Extending an open foster care case. 
 
The youth is currently receiving foster care services and is at 
least 18, but less than 21 years-old. 

 Entering/Re-entering YAVFC after case closure. 
 
The youth exited foster care/YAVFC after reaching 18 years 
old, but is less than 21 years-old. 

Note:  Youth with a delinquency (DL) court case must have a 
dual abuse/neglect case to be considered for eligibility. 
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PROGRAM 
REQUIREMENTS 

To qualify for an extension of foster care services and receive 
foster care maintenance payments the youth must meet one of the 
following conditions: 

 Actively completing high school or a program leading to a 
general educational development (GED). 

 Enrolled at least part-time in a college, university, vocational 
program, or trade school. 

 A youth who is on semester, summer, or other break, but was 
enrolled the previous semester and will be enrolled after the 
break, is considered enrolled in school.  

 A school determines if a student is enrolled in the institution. 
Once the school no longer considers a youth enrolled, he/she 
begins the grace period; see Grace Period later in this section.   

 Employed in either full- or part-time work or participating in a 
program that promotes employment (such as Job Corps, 
Michigan Works!, or another employment skill-building 
program). Participation must be at least 80 hours per month 
and may be at one or more places of employment and/or a 
combination of the above activities.  

 Incapable of the above educational or employment activities 
due to a documented medical condition. 

 If eligibility is based on incapacity, the caseworker must assist 
the youth in applying for Supplemental Security Income (SSI) if 
applicable; see FOM 902-10, SSI Benefits Application and 
Determination. 

VERIFICATION OF 
ELIGIBILITY 

Verification of eligibility must be documented in writing and placed 
in the youth’s case record. A completed eligibility verification form 
documenting that all requirements are met, must be provided to 
the caseworker prior to signing the DHS-1297, YAVFC 
Agreement. The following verification forms must be used to 
document eligibility: 
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 DHS-3380, Verification of Student Information (may also be 
used to verify vocational training or trade school). 

 DHS-38, Verification of Employment (may also be used to 
verify an alternative to employment). 

 DHS-54A, Medical Needs. 

Ongoing 
Verification of 
Eligibility 

Ongoing verification of eligibility is required at least quarterly, to 
coincide with the case service plan due date. The appropriate eligi-
bility forms must accompany the updated case service plan. The 
supervisor must review the forms and verify the youth’s eligibility. If 
the youth does not meet eligibility requirements, the caseworker 
must follow Reporting Eligibility Changes in this section. 

The caseworker must provide the youth with the appropriate eligibil-
ity verification form at least 45 calendar days prior to the due date. 

The youth must ensure the form is completed and returned to the 
caseworker by the due date. 

Exception:  The DHS-54A, Medical Needs form, may be submitted 
on an annual basis if the youth’s condition is expected to persist for 
more than one year, and there is a pending application for SSI. 

Reporting 
Eligibility Changes 

Youth 

Youth must report changes that affect eligibility requirements to 
his/her caseworker within three business days of the change. 
Failure to report changes timely may affect a youth’s eligibility for 
YAVFC; see FOM 902-21, YAVFC Funding and Payments. 

Note:  It is the caseworker’s responsibility to review change 
reporting requirements with the youth when signing the DHS-1297, 
YAVFC Agreement.  
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Caseworker 

Changes that affect a youth’s funding eligibility must be reported by 
the caseworker to the child welfare funding specialist (CWFS) 
within three business days.  

Changes that must be reported to the CWFS include: 

 The date a youth starts a grace period and the date the grace 
period is scheduled to end. 

 A youth’s living arrangement; for example, address changes, 
foster family license changes, child caring institution license 
changes, return to the biological parent’s home, and 
incarceration. 

 Changes in the youth’s family composition; for example, the 
youth has a child, there is a change in custody, or the minor 
child moves in/out of the youth’s home.  

 SSI/RSDI starting/stopping. 

 Case closure. 

 Caseworker change/agency change. 

Changes must be reported via the DHS-650-YA, Young Adult 
Voluntary Foster Care Checklist.  

Grace Period 

A grace period is the period of time after the youth ceases to meet 
program requirements when eligibility can be re-established without 
penalty; see FOM 902-21, YAVFC Funding and Payments. Grace 
periods are to be applied based on the following: 

 Youth are allowed a 30-day grace period in which to re-
establish eligibility.  

 Youth are allowed up to three grace periods per fiscal year. 

 A grace period begins the day immediately following the day 
the youth becomes ineligible, whether or not it is reported 
timely. 

 Within one business day of discovering the youth is no longer 
meeting the eligibility requirements, the caseworker must 
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schedule a 90-Day Discharge Planning Meeting; see Family 
Team Meeting in this item. 

 During the grace period it remains the caseworker’s 
responsibility to actively assist the youth in reestablishing the 
employment, education, or incapacitating medical condition 
requirements, and to include documentation of these efforts in 
the service plan. 

 YAVFC payments and Medicaid coverage continue during 
grace period status.  

Exception:  Payments will not continue if the youth enters a 
non-reimbursable placement, however, the youth will 
continue to be eligible for case management services during 
the grace period; see FOM 902-21, YAVFC Funding and 
Payments. 

A grace period may not be used for youth who become ineligible 
due to one of the following circumstances: 

 Reaches his or her 21st birthday. 

 Enters military service, excluding the Reserve Officers' 
Training Corps (ROTC) or a reserve component of the Armed 
Forces, see Termination of YAVFC in this item. 

 Legally adopted. 

 Marriage. 

 Death. 

YOUNG ADULT 
VOLUNTARY 
FOSTER CARE 
AGREEMENT 

The DHS-1297, Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care (YAVFC) 
Agreement, is an agreement that outlines eligibility requirements in 
the areas of education, employment, living arrangement, residence 
notification, visitation and case reviews. 

Youth Extending 

The option of YAVFC must be discussed during the Semi-Annual 
Transition Meeting, 90-Day Discharge Planning Meeting, and at 
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least 30 calendar days prior to the youth’s 18th birthday, as a part 
of a monthly home visit. 

Youth must sign a DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement, before 
participating in YAVFC. The youth is not eligible for YAVFC 
service or payments until the agreement is signed. The 
agreement may not be signed until all of the following has occurred: 

 The youth reaches 18 years-old. 

 Verification of eligibility has been received by the caseworker. 

 Family/juvenile court jurisdiction has been dismissed on or 
after the youth's 18th birthday, and the written court order has 
been received; see Judicial Determination in this item. 

 State wards have been discharged by the superintendent of 
the Michigan Children's Institute; see FOM 722-15, Case 
Closing. 

The original agreement must be placed in the youth’s record and a 
copy must be given to the youth. 

Youth Entering/ 
Re-entering  

The intake process for youth entering/re-entering YAVFC is as fol-
lows: 

 Youth requesting to enter YAVFC must be referred to the 
MDHHS office in the county in which s/he resides. 

Note:  Youth must live in the state of Michigan at the time of 
entry/re-entry in YAVFC; see Residency Requirements in this 
item.  

 Within three calendar days of a youth’s written or verbal 
request, the case must be opened and assigned to a 
caseworker. 

 Within five business days of case assignment, the caseworker 
must visit the youth in his/her placement or living arrangement 
and explain YAVFC requirements.  

 If the youth agrees to participate in YAVFC, the caseworker 
must provide the youth with the appropriate eligibility 
verification form. The form must be completed and returned 
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within 10 calendar days. The caseworker must follow-up with 
the youth to provide any needed assistance; see Verification of 
Eligibility in this item. 

 Upon returning the completed eligibility verification form, the 
youth must sign the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement.  

Note:  Youth are eligible for foster care services and payments 
on the date the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement is signed. 

 The original agreement must be placed in the youth’s record. 
Copies of the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement, must be: 

 Given to the youth. 
 Filed with the Circuit Court Family Division (CCFD) 

20, Ex-Parte Petition Regarding Young Adult 
Voluntary Foster Care; see Judicial Determination in 
this item. 

Court Appointed 
Guardians 

If there is a court order of mental incompetency and there is a court 
appointed guardian for the youth, the guardian is responsible for 
signing the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement. 

JUDICIAL 
DETERMINATION 

Federal guidelines require a judicial determination that remaining in 
foster care is in the youth’s best interests be made. If the order 
containing this finding is not signed by the judge or referee within 
180 days of the date the youth signed the DHS-1297, YAVFC 
Agreement, the youth is no longer eligible for the YAVFC Program 
and the case must be closed.  

Ex-Parte Petition and Attachments 

The following information must be attached to the Circuit Court 
Family Division (CCFD) 20, Ex-Parte Petition Regarding Young 
Adult Voluntary Foster Care: 

 DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement. 

 The applicable eligibility verification form(s). 

 The most recent USP/PWSP that includes the 
recommendation to participate in YAVFC. 
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 Any documentation that supports the youth’s efforts and 
participation in YAVFC. 

Youth Extending 

A youth may not participate in YAVFC until family/juvenile court 
jurisdiction is dismissed. The following steps must be completed in 
order to extend a YAVFC case: 

 Once the decision for a youth to participate in YAVFC has 
been made, the caseworker must request that the court 
schedule a review hearing for dismissal.  

 State wards must be discharged by the superintendent of the 
Michigan Children's Institute before participating in YAVFC; 
see FOM 722-15, Case Closing.  

 The court must terminate jurisdiction over the youth by 
dismissing the child abuse/neglect (CA/N) case on or after the 
youth’s 18th birthday. 

 The caseworker must obtain a copy of the written court order 
dismissing the CA/N case.  

 As soon as possible, but no later than five business days after 
receiving a copy of the written court order, the caseworker 
must have the youth sign the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement. 
The youth is not eligible for YAVFC until the agreement is 
signed. 

 The caseworker must file the CCFD 20, Ex-Parte Petition 
Regarding YAVFC, including all attachments with the court in 
the county where the youth resides, within 60 calendar days of 
the youth signing the agreement.  

Note:  If the youth resides in the county where the 
family/juvenile court jurisdiction is dismissed, the caseworker 
may bring the completed CCFD 20, Ex-Parte Petition 
Regarding Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care, all required 
attachments, and the youth to the review hearing, so that the 
DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement, can be signed and the petition 
can be filed immediately upon receipt of the written court order 
dismissing the CA/N case. 
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Youth Entering/ 
Re-entering 

Within 60 calendar days of the date the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agree-
ment, is signed, the caseworker must file with the court in the 
county where the youth resides, a CCFD 20, Ex-Parte Petition 
Regarding YAVFC, including all attachments to initiate the opening 
of the Voluntary Foster Care (VF) case. 

Ex-Parte Filing 
Delays 

Ex-parte petitions filed more than 60 calendar days after the youth 
signs the agreement may be accepted by the court, up to but not 
exceeding the 150th day, after the agreement is signed. 

Court 
Responsibility 

Within 21 calendar days of receiving the CCFD 20, Ex-Parte 
Petition Regarding YAVFC, the court will complete the following 
steps: 

 Establish jurisdiction based on the Young Adult Voluntary 
Foster Care Ex-Parte Petition and Agreement.  

 Make a determination regarding the youth’s best interest to be 
in foster care. 

 Serve the MDHHS and the youth with the CCFD 21, Order 
Regarding Voluntary Foster Care Agreement, which makes the 
best interest finding. 

 Terminate jurisdiction over the youth.  

Note:  A hearing is not required for this process, but may be 
held on the court's own motion or at the request of the youth or 
the department. 

After this process is complete, the department will retain full 
responsibility of the YAVFC case and reporting requirements to the 
court will cease. 
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PLACEMENT AND 
LIVING 
ARRANGEMENT 
OPTIONS 

Youth in YAVFC may reside in one the following living arrange-
ments: 

  Licensed foster home. 

 Licensed child caring institution. 

 Licensed adult foster home.  

 Approved setting in which the individual is living independently. 
Placement options may include, but are not limited, to the 
following: 

 Rental home/apartment setting, with or without 
roommates. 

 College dormitory. 

 Relative home. 

 Friend/partner home. 

 Host home/supportive adult home. 

Note:  Placement with a legal and/or biological parent, whether or 
not parental rights have been terminated, is considered an ineligible 
placement; see FOM 902-21, YAVFC Funding and Payments. 

Matters to discuss when assisting youth with living arrangement 
decisions include but are not limited to the following: 

 Safety. 

 Level of supervision required. 

 Educational/employment opportunities. 

 Proximity to support people and services. 

 Financial circumstances. 

 Cultural considerations.  
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REPORTING 
REQUIREMENTS 

Case plans are required for YAVFC cases. The current DHS-68, 
Permanent Ward Service Plan (PWSP), must be used for all 
YAVFC case plans, regardless of prior wardship.  

For youth extending, entering, or re-entering YAVFC, an initial case 
plan must be completed within 30 calendar days of the youth 
signing the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement, and at least every 90 
calendar days thereafter; see FOM 722-09D, Permanent Ward 
Service Plan.  

Note:  The initial case plan must be completed on the DHS-68, 
PWSP. 

CASEWORKER/ 
YOUTH VISIT 
REQUIREMENTS 
 

Youth Extending  

The caseworker must continue to meet with the youth in his/her 
placement at least monthly. These visits are subject to the same 
documentation requirements as an open foster care case; see FOM 
722-06, Case Planning. 

Youth Entering/ 
Re-entering 

Within 30 calendar days of the case assignment date, the case-
worker must have two face-to-face contacts with the youth; at least 
one must occur in the placement. The first visit with the youth must 
take place within five business days from the date the case is 
assigned to the caseworker and be documented within the social 
work contacts of the case service plan. The caseworker must con-
tinue to visit the youth in his/her placement/living arrangement 
monthly thereafter; see FOM 722-06, Case Planning. 

DHS-1295, Young 
Adult Monthly Visit 
Report 

The DHS-1295, Young Adult Monthly Visit Report, must be com-
pleted with the youth during each home visit. A copy must be given 
to the youth and the original placed in the case record.  
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Youth Residing 
Out-of-State 

Youth participating in YAVFC who reside out-of-state must have an 
in-person visit once a month with the assigned caseworker unless 
an interstate compact/out-of-state private agency is providing 
courtesy supervision.  

RESIDENCY 
REQUIREMENTS 

Youth must live in the state of Michigan in order to file the CCFD 
20, Ex-Parte Petition Regarding Young Adult Voluntary Foster 
Care. 

County of 
Residence 

The county of residence is the county where the youth has a 
permanent address or where the youth lives the majority of the 
time.  

Homeless Youth 

The county where the youth resides the majority of the time may be 
used as the county of residence. For further clarification of 
homeless persons; see BEM 220, Homeless Persons.  

INTERSTATE 
COMPACT 

If the receiving state permits the extension of foster care to age 21, 
that state may provide supervision of the youth participating in 
YAVFC. If the state will not agree to supervise the case, the 
sending state has the option to contract with a private agency in the 
receiving state for courtesy supervision.  
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FAMILY TEAM 
MEETING (FTM) 
REQUIREMENTS 
 

Semi-Annual 
Transition Meeting/ 
Semi-Annual Case 
Review 

For a youth extending his/her case into Young Adult Voluntary 
Foster Care, a Semi-Annual Transition Meeting must be completed 
within 180 days from the date of the previous Semi-Annual 
Transition Meeting. For youth entering/re-entering, a Semi-Annual 
Transition Meeting must be held within 30 days of the youth signing 
the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement. Each Semi-Annual Transition 
Meeting must then be completed within 180 days from the previous. 
The Semi-Annual Transition Meeting must follow currently 
established guidelines; see FOM 722-06B, Family Team Meetings.   

Areas that must be addressed during the FTM include but are not 
limited to the following: 

 Safety. 

 Appropriateness and necessity of the placement. 

 Compliance with the case plan. 

 Permanency goals. 

 Progress toward achieving independence, including whether 
appropriate and meaningful independent living skill services 
are being developed. 

 Projected date by which the youth may no longer require 
extended foster care services. 

Note:  A neutral person without case management responsibility 
such as a permanency resource manager, supervisor, or program 
director, must facilitate the FTM. 

90-Day Discharge 
Planning Meeting 

Within one business day of discovering the youth is no longer meet-
ing eligibility requirements, the caseworker must schedule a 90-Day 
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Discharge Planning Meeting to be held within three business days, 
see FOM 722-06B, Family Team Meetings. 

The 90-Day Discharge Planning Meeting must be held to determine 
how the youth will regain eligibility or prepare for discharge from 
foster care. The youth must be informed that his/her case will close 
if eligibility requirements are not met by the end of the grace period. 

CHILD OF A FOSTER 
YOUTH 

Foster care maintenance payments are available for youth who are 
parents, as well as payment for the youth’s child, if that child is 
living or placed with the youth in the same home or child caring 
institution. Payments may be made for the child, regardless of the 
child’s wardship status or whether or not the child is under the care 
and supervision of MDHHS; see FOM 902-21, Youth Parent. 

MEDICAID 

Youth who are eligible for YAVFC are categorically eligible for Med-
icaid. The child(ren) of a parent in YAVFC is categorically eligible 
for Medicaid. 

TERMINATION OF 
YOUNG ADULT 
VOLUNTARY 
FOSTER CARE 
 

Youth-initiated 
termination 

Youth may terminate the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement, at any 
time, by notifying the caseworker, in writing, of his/her desire to ter-
minate YAVFC. 

MDHHS-initiated 
termination 

MDHHS must terminate the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement, if the 
youth becomes ineligible. Ineligibility for YAVFC occurs when the 
youth: 

 Discontinues his/her educational, vocational, or trade program 
and does not re-enter a similar program or meet another 
eligibility requirement within the 30 calendar day grace period. 
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 Is no longer employed at least 80 hours per month, and does 
not meet one of the other eligibility requirements within the 30 
calendar day grace period. 

 Is no longer deemed incapable due to a medical condition and 
does not meet one of the other eligibility requirements within 
the 30 calendar day grace period. 

 Refuses to make contact with the caseworker for more than 30 
calendar days. 

 Is incarcerated for more than 30 calendar days. 

  Reaches his or her 21st birthday. 

 Enters military service. 

Exception:  Membership in the Reserve Officers' Training 
Corps (ROTC) or a reserve component of the Armed Forces, 
such as Army National Guard of the United States, Army 
Reserve, Navy Reserve, Marine Corps Reserve, Air National 
Guard of the United States, Air Force Reserve, and Coast 
Guard Reserve does not disqualify a youth for YAVFC, unless 
participation requirements exceed 21 consecutive calendar 
days of active duty or training responsibilities.  

  Is legally adopted. 

 Marries. 

  Dies. 

Case Closure 
Process 

If the grace period ends and ineligibility continues, the caseworker 
must initiate case closure within one business day by completing 
the following steps: 

 Notify the youth, either verbally or in writing that a request is 
being made to close his or her case. 

 Submit a DHS-1302, YAVFC Case Closure Request, to the 
supervisor.  

 Obtain the supervisor’s signature of approval. 
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 Send the approved request to one of the following: 

 In a designated county, the county child welfare director. 
 In any other county, the county director. 
 For a PAFC provider, the agency’s director.  

 If the director approves the case closure, send a DHS-1301, 
YAVFC Case Closure Notice, to the youth and place a copy in 
the case file. 

 If the director denies the closure, schedule an FTM within one 
business day of receiving the denial, and conduct the FTM 
within three business days to determine how the youth will 
regain eligibility. 

YAVFC RE-ENTRY 

Regardless of the reason for a prior YAVFC case closure, the youth 
may re-enter YAVFC, before the age of 21, as long as the eligibility 
requirements are met. 

Youth requesting to re-enter YAVFC must have a new CCFD 20, 
Ex-Parte Petition Regarding YAVFC, including all attachments, filed 
with the court; see Judicial Determination in this item. 

Youth must also receive a new initial funding determination; see 
FOM 902-21, Funding. 
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