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Eligibility Criteria

• The Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care (YAVFC) Act 
allows the extension of foster care services to age 21. 
Consideration for YAVFC is available to youth who 
were in out of home placement after being referred 
or committed to the Michigan Department of Health 
and Human Services (MDHHS) for care and 
supervision and remained in care at the age of 18

– Note: Youth with a delinquency (DL) case must also have a 
dual abuse/neglect (N/A) case to be considered for 
eligibility. Youth with a DL case only are not eligible



Benefits of YAVFC

• Extending foster care to age 21 offers a safety net of 
supportive services and financial benefits during the 
critical transition to adulthood, including:
– Extension of foster care payments

– Continued oversight by a caseworker for additional support

– Counseling services

– Continued health care coverage

– Training in independent living skills

– More time to finish high school and pursue vocational or secondary 
education

– Federal funds



Extending vs. Entry/Re-Entry

• Youth enter YAVFC in one of two ways:

– Extending an open foster care case

• The youth is currently receiving foster care services and 
is at least 18 years old, but less than 21 years old

– Entering/Re-Entering YAVFC after case closure

• The youth exited foster care/YAVFC after reaching 18 
years old, but is less than 21 years old



Extending to YAVFC

• Youth transitions from an already open foster 
care case to YAVFC:

– Case remains open in MiSACWIS

– After eligibility is established and youth signs 
1297, YAVFC Agreement, legal status is changed to 
56, Young Adult Active



Entering/Re-Entering YAVFC

• Youth’s foster care or previous YAVFC case has 
been closed:

– After eligibility is established and the youth signs 
the 1297, YAVFC Agreement, case is opened in 
MiSACWIS under legal status 56, Young Adult 
Active



Program Requirements

• Actively completing high school or a program leading to a general equivalency 
diploma (GED)

• Enrolled at least part-time in a college, university, vocational program, or trade 
school

• Employed in either full- or part-time work or participating in a program that 
promotes employment (such as Job Corps, Michigan Works!, or another 
employment skill-building program). Participation must be at least 80 hours per 
month and may be at one or more places of employment and/or a combination of 
the above activities

• Incapable of the above educational or employment activities due to a documented 
medical condition



Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care 
Agreement DHS-1297

• Outlines eligibility requirements in the areas of education, employment, living arrangement, 
residence notification, visitation and case reviews

• Gives the Department of Health and Human Services placement and care responsibility 
similar to a removal order

• The agreement may not be signed until the youth reaches 18 years old, has family/juvenile 
court jurisdiction dismissed, and the youth has provided verification of eligibility

• The original agreement must be placed in the youth’s file and a copy given to the youth

• Youth are eligible for foster care services and payments effective the date the DHS-1297, 
YAVFC Agreement is signed. This includes board and care, administrative rate to PAFCs and 
case service payments



Eligibility Verification Forms

• DHS-3380, Verification of Student Information (may 
also be used to verify vocational training or trade 
school)

• DHS-38, Verification of Employment (may also be 
used to verify an alternative to employment)

• DHS-54A, Medical Needs



Verification of Eligibility

• Initial Verification

– Must be provided to the caseworker prior to 
signing the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement

• Ongoing Verification

– Ongoing verification of eligibility is required at 
least quarterly, to coincide with the service plan 
due date and 90 day reviews in MiSACWIS



Reporting Eligibility Changes

• Youth must report changes that affect 
eligibility requirements to his/her caseworker 
within 3 business days of the change.
– Changes that must be reported include but are 

not limited to:
• Address
• Phone number
• Household composition
• Reduction of work hours
• Enrollment/employment status
• Graduation or completion date



Grace Period

• A grace period is the period of time after the youth ceases to 
meet program requirements when eligibility can be re-
established without penalty

• Youth are allowed a 30-day grace period in which to re-
establish eligibility 

• Youth are allowed up to 3 grace periods per fiscal year, not to 
run consecutively

• A grace period begins the day immediately following the day 
the youth becomes ineligible, whether or not it is reported 
timely

• YAVFC payments and Medicaid coverage continue during 
grace period status



Grace Period

• A grace period cannot be used for youth who 
become ineligible due to one of the following 
circumstances:

– Reaches his or her 21st birthday

– Enters military service

– Legally adopted

– Marriage

– Death



90-Day Discharge Meeting

• Once ineligibility is discovered/reported:
– Within one business day of discovering the youth is no longer meeting 

eligibility requirements, the caseworker must make a 90-Day 
Discharge Meeting referral; see FOM 722-15, 90-Day Discharge 
Meeting

– Within three business days of receiving the referral, an FTM must be 
held to determine how the youth will regain eligibility or prepare for 
discharge from foster care. The youth must be informed that his/her 
case will close if eligibility requirements are not met by the end of the 
grace period 



Caseworker Change Reporting 
Responsibility

• Changes that affect a youth’s funding and 
eligibility must be reported by the caseworker 
to the Child Welfare Funding Specialist 
(CWFS), within 3 business days

• Changes are reported using page 6 of the DHS-
650YA, Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care 
Checklist



Changes That Must Be Reported

• Starting/stopping a grace period

• Changes in youth’s living arrangement (e.g., address changes, foster family 
license changes, CCI license changes, return to the biological parent’s 
home, incarceration)

• Changes in the youth’s family composition (e.g., the youth has a child, 
there is a change in custody, the minor child moves in/out of the youth’s 
home) 

• SSI/RSDI starting/stopping

• Case closure

• Caseworker change/agency change

• An annual transition meeting not completed timely  

• Changes in eligibility



Reimbursable Placements

• Licensed foster family home

• Licensed relative home

• Child Caring Institution

• Independent Living –

– Rental home/apartment setting, with or without 
roommates

– College dormitory 

– Relatives home

– Friend/partner home



Ineligible Placements

• Parental Home - youth living with a biological parent, 
whether or not parental rights have been 
terminated, is considered ineligible for YAVFC 
payments. A grace period will not be applied, 
payments will stop immediately, and the case must 
be closed

• Incarceration – youth who are incarcerated are not 
eligible for YAVFC payments. YAVFC payments will 
end the first date of incarceration. The youth is 
eligible for a grace period 



Youth Parents

• A youth parent in an independent living placement will be paid the age 
appropriate rate for each of his/her minor children living with him/her

• Youth may not simultaneously receive FIP while receiving YAVFC payments 
for him/her or their children

• Youth may complete a repayment agreement for FIP they received while 
they were eligible for YAVFC payments. The repay agreement should be 
completed by the FIS worker. Once a repayment agreement is completed 
the youth may receive payment back to the date of eligibility



Information to the Youth

• It is critical to inform the youth: 

– YAVFC program eligibility requirements 

– Effective date of payments

– Payment schedule – since payments are made after the 
service dates, the youth will not receive a payment for at 
least 30 days after signing the DHS-1297 

– Help the youth prepare financially

– Assist the youth with applying for other programs such as 
FAP, YIT, ETV, and financial aid



Judicial Determination

• Federal guidelines require that there be a 
judicial determination that remaining in foster 
care is in the youth’s best interests if title IV-E 
foster care maintenance payments are to 
continue beyond the first 180 days of the 
voluntary placement



YAVFC Petition and Attachments

• The following documents and information must be included 
when filing the petition for Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care:
– Circuit Court Family Division (CCFD) 20, Ex-Parte Petition Regarding 

Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care

– DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement

• The applicable eligibility verification form(s)

• The most recent USP/PWSP that includes the 
recommendation to participate in YAVFC

• Any documentation that supports the youth’s efforts and 
participation in YAVFC



Filing the Petition

• Whether entering or re-entering, the CCFD 20, 
Ex-Parte Petition Regarding Young Adult 
Voluntary Foster Care must be filed with the 
Circuit Court Family Division within 60 days of 
the youth signing the DHS 1297, YAVFC 
agreement. 

• The CCFD 20 can be found at: 
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Forms/co
urtforms/youngadultfostercare/ccfd20.pdf

http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Forms/courtforms/youngadultfostercare/ccfd20.pdf


Court Responsibility

• Within 21 calendar days of receiving the CCFD 20, Ex-Parte Petition 
Regarding YAVFC, the court will complete the following steps:

– Establish jurisdiction based on the Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care Ex-Parte 
Petition and Agreement 

– Make a determination regarding the youth’s best interest to be in foster care

– Provide the Department of Human Services and the youth with the CCFD 21, 
Order Regarding Voluntary Foster Care Agreement, which makes the best 
interest finding

– Terminate jurisdiction over the youth 

– NOTE: A hearing is not required for this process, but may be held on the 
court's own motion or at the request of the youth or the department

– After this process is complete, the department will retain full responsibility of 
the YAVFC case and reporting requirements to the court will cease



Case Management - Reports

• Case plans are required for YAVFC cases. The 
Permanent Ward Service Plan (PWSP), must be used 
for all YAVFC case plans, regardless of prior wardship 

• For youth extending, entering, or re-entering YAVFC, 
an initial case plan must be completed within 30-
calendar days of the youth signing the DHS-1297, 
YAVFC agreement, and at least every 90 calendar 
days thereafter



Case Management - Visits

• Within 30 calendar days of the case assignment date, the caseworker must have 
two face-to-face contacts with the youth; at least one must occur in the 
placement. The first visit with the youth must take place within five business days 
from the date the case is assigned to the caseworker and be documented within 
the social work contacts of the case service plan. The caseworker must continue to 
visit the youth in his/her placement/living arrangement monthly thereafter; see 
FOM 722-6, Developing the Service Plan.

• The DHS-1295, Young Adult Monthly Visit Report, must be completed with the 
youth during each home visit. A copy must be given to the youth and the original 
placed in the case file. 

• Youth participating in YAVFC who reside out of state must have an in-person visit 
once a month with the assigned caseworker unless interstate compact is providing 
courtesy supervision.



Semi-Annual Transition Meetings

• For a youth extending his/her case into Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care, a Semi-
Annual Transition Meeting must be completed within 180 days from the date of 
the previous Semi-Annual Transition Meeting. For youth entering/re-entering, a 
Semi-Annual Transition Meeting must be held within 30 days of the youth signing 
the DHS-1297, YAVFC Agreement. Each Semi-Annual Transition Meeting must then 
be completed within 180 days from the previous. The Semi-Annual Transition 
Meeting must follow currently established guidelines; see FOM 722-06B, Family 
Team Meetings.  

• SATM must address the following:
– Safety 

– Appropriateness and necessity of the placement

– Compliance with the case plan

– Permanency goals.

– Progress towards achieving independence

– Projected date by which the youth may no longer require YAVFC 



Semi-Annual Transition Meetings

• Title IV-E eligibility is dependent on the Semi-Annual Transition Meeting 
being completed timely!

• If the Semi-Annual Transition Meeting has not been completed within 180 
calendar days of the previous review, a youth cannot be title IV-E funded

• Once the Semi-Annual Transition Meeting has been completed, title IV-E 
funding can resume on the first day of the month that the meeting was 
held

• A reimbursability determination must be completed in order to re-
establish eligibility. All case review dates must be reported to the CWFS 
using the DHS-650YA

• Semi-Annual Transition Meetings cannot be facilitated by the assigned 
caseworker



PAFC Role and Responsibilities

• PAFCs will receive the administrative rate for supervising YAVFC 
cases

• Youth extending may remain with his/her PAFC worker and do not 
have to be sent back to MDHHS

• Youth entering YAVFC will require a coordinated effort by MDHHS 
and the PAFC. MDHHS offices will have to determine locally how 
cases will be sent to a PAFC.  Things to remember:
– YAVFC payments for the administrative rate will be effective the date the 

youth sign’s the DHS 1297, YAVFC agreement 

– The previous PAFC should be given the option to take the case back (if the 
youth makes the request) for case consistency

– PAFC workers may complete the initial intake requirements (visits, verifying 
eligibility, witnessing the signing of the YAVFC agreement etc.)



Termination of Young Adult 
Voluntary Foster Care

• Youth may terminate the DHS-1297, YAVFC 
Agreement, at any time, by notifying the 
caseworker in writing of his/her desire to 
terminate the agreement

• MDHHS must terminate the DHS-1297, YAVFC 
Agreement, if the youth becomes ineligible.



Loss of Eligibility

• Ineligibility for YAVFC occurs when the youth:
– Discontinues his/her educational, vocational, or trade program and does not re-enter a 

similar program or meet another eligibility requirement within the 30 calendar day grace 
period

– Is no longer employed at least 80 hours per month, and does not meet one of the other 
eligibility requirements within the 30 calendar day grace period

– Is no longer deemed incapable due to a medical condition and does not meet one of the 
other eligibility requirements within the 30 calendar day grace period

– Refuses to make contact with the caseworker for more than 30 calendar days

– Is incarcerated for more than 30 calendar days

– Reaches his or her 21st birthday

– Enters military service

– Is legally adopted

– Marries

– Dies



Case Closure Process

• Notify the youth verbally or in writing that case closure is being requested

• Submit a DHS 1302, YAVFC Case Closure Request, to the supervisor

• Obtain supervisor approval

• Send the approved request to one of the following:

– In a designated county, the county child welfare director

– In any other county, the county director

– For a PAFC provider, the agency’s director

– If the director approves, send a DHS-1301 Case Closure Notice to the youth, 
place a copy in the file and send the 1301 with the 1302 to the CWFS

– If the director denies the closure, make an FTM referral within 1 business day 
and schedule an FTM within 3 business days to determine how the youth will 
regain eligibility



YAVFC Re-Entry

• Regardless of the reason for a prior YAVFC case closure, the 
youth may re-enter YAVFC, before the age of 21, as long as 
the eligibility requirements are met

• Youth must sign a new YAVFC agreement after providing 
verification of eligibility

• Youth requesting to re-enter must have a new CCFD 20, Ex-
Parte Petition Regarding YAVFC, including all attachments, 
filed with the court

• The youth will also require a new initial funding 
determination. The caseworker must submit a new DHS-
650YA, Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care Checklist to the 
CWFS with all required attachments 



Forms
Form Type of Form When is it Completed? 

DHS-1297, Young Adult Foster 
Care Agreement 

 At program entry 

DHS-3380, Verification of 
Student Information 

Eligibility At program entry and every 
quarter thereafter 

DHS-38, Verification of 
Employment 

Eligibility At program entry and every 
quarter thereafter 

DHS-54A, Medical Needs Eligibility At program entry and every 
quarter thereafter 

DHS-650YA, Young Adult 
Voluntary Foster Care Checklist 

Funding Funding Determination 

Circuit Court Family Division 
(CCFD) 20, Ex-Parte Petition 
Regarding Young Adult 
Voluntary Foster Care 

Court Must be filed within 60 days of 
youth signing DHS-1297 when 
extending or re-entering 

CCFD 21, Order Regarding 
Voluntary Foster Care 
Agreement 

Court Must be received within 180 
days of youth signing DHS-1297 
when extending or re-entering 

DHS-1295 Young Adult Monthly 
Visit Report 

Case Management Completed at monthly home 
visit 

DHS-442, Permanent Ward Case 
Service Plan 

Case Management Within 30 days of signing the 
DHS-1297 and every 90 days 
thereafter 

DHS-1302, Young Adult 
Voluntary Foster Care Case 
Closure Request 

Case Management/Closure When caseworker initiates case 
closure 

DHS-1301, Young Adult 
Voluntary Foster Care Case 
Closure Notice 

Case Management/Closure When Director approves case 
closure 

 



YAVFC Funding and Payments



YAVFC Funding Determinations and 
Payments

• Youth entering and re-entering YAVFC require an initial 
funding determination prior to initiating payments

• To continue YAVFC payments, reimbursability determinations 
must be completed every 180 days or sooner if a youth’s 
situation changes

• Funding Source for YAVFC is Title IV-E or general funds 



Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care 
Checklist, DHS-650YA

• After the youth signs the DHS-1297, YAVFC agreement the worker must 
request the initial funding determination and initiate payments by 
submitting the DHS-650YA, Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care Checklist to 
the Child Welfare Funding Specialist (CWFS)

• DHS-650YA and required documentation must be submitted within 2 
weeks of the youth signing the DHS-1297. The worker must submit the 
packet to their direct supervisor who will review the packet and submit to 
the CWFS 

• The Judicial determination best interest finding is not required when 
submitting the initial packet 

• Follow the directions on the DHS-650YA as defined in each section and 
answer EVERY question on pages 1 through 5

• Attach all required documentation to be submitted with the DHS-650YA



Reimbursability Determination

• Reimbursability determinations are due every 180 days from 
the date the youth signed the DHS-1297, YAVFC agreement

• The DHS-650YA pages 4 and 5 must be submitted to the Child 
Welfare Funding Specialist (CWFS) five months after the date 
the youth signed the DHS-1297, Young Adult Voluntary Foster 
Care (YAVFC) Agreement

• The Order Regarding Voluntary Foster Care with the best 
interest finding should also be provided at this time if not 
previously provided

• A semi-annual case review FTM must be completed for youth 
participating in YAVFC every 180 days. The first review is due 
within 180 days of the date the youth signed the DHS 1297



YAVFC Payments

• Payments may begin the date the youth signs the DHS-1297, 
YAVFC agreement

• Payments are made after service dates have occurred. 
Payments follow the foster care schedule

• DOC rate can be paid to licensed family foster homes

• CCI placements may be paid effective the date the youth signs 
the DHS-1297

• Administrative rates may be paid effective the date the youth 
signs the DHS-1297



Questions?

• See policy items FOM 722-16, 902-21, and 
902-21A

• Questions regarding FOM 722-16 can be sent 
to: MDHHS-YAVFC@Michigan.gov

• Questions regarding FOM 902-21 and 21A can 
be sent to: MDHHS-
FederalComplianceDivision@Michigan.gov

mailto:MDHHS-YAVFC@Michigan.gov
mailto:MDHHS-FederalComplianceDivision@Michigan.gov

