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OVERVIEW 

In order to be eligible to bill and receive payments, child care 
providers are required to comply with the Child Development and 
Care (CDC) program requirements. Providers who are found to be 
in violation of the rules may serve a disqualification period. 

RULE VIOLATIONS 

Rule violations include, but are not limited to: 

 Failure to maintain time and attendance records. 

 Inappropriate billing.   

 Failure to respond to requests for time and attendance records 
and/or other requested documentation by the Michigan 
Department of Education. 

TIME AND 
ATTENDANCE 
REVIEW  PROCESS 

 

The Child Development and Care (CDC) office at the Michigan 
Department of Education (MDE) will request time and attendance 
records from randomly selected child care providers.   

The CDC office will determine if the provider's records: 

 Comply with program requirements. 

 Indicate an error or errors. 

 Indicate an intentional program violation may have occurred. 
Provider Errors 

Provider errors are defined as unintentional errors made by the 
provider. 

When it is determined that a provider error has occurred, a notice of 
violation will be sent to the provider informing him or her of the 
error, even if the error is found on a second or subsequent review.  
If the same error continues, the provider may be assessed for an 
Intentional Program Violation. The following are examples of 
provider errors: 

 Caring and billing for more children than allowed at one time. 

 Providing care in the wrong location. 
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 Unlicensed provider failing to use required CDC Daily Time 
and Attendance Record.  

 Time and attendance records missing: 

 Parent/provider certifications. 

 Day/date. 

 Children's names. 

 In/out times. 
Intentional 
Program Violations  

Intentional program violations (IPV) are defined as an intentional 
act which leads to a provider receiving  a greater payment amount 
than they are entitled to and/or failing to respond to requests by the 
department for information.  

If a review determines an IPV may exist, additional attendance 
records will be requested from the provider. Once the review is 
completed, a summary will be presented to a review team for 
recommendation.  The recommendation will be forwarded to CDC 
Program Policy for final review and determination. 

The following are examples of IPVs: 

 Billing for children while they are in school. 

 Two instances of failing to respond to requests for records. 

 Billing for children no longer in care. 

 Knowingly billing for children not in care or more hours than 
children were in care. 

 Maintaining records that do not accurately reflect the time 
children were in care.   

Egregious IPVs will be forwarded by the CDC office to the Office of 
Inspector General for immediate review. 

DISQUALIFICATIONS 

Providers determined to have committed an IPV may serve the 
following penalties: 
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 First occurrence - six month disqualification. The closure 
reason will be CDC not eligible due to 6 month penalty 
period. 

 Second occurrence - twelve month disqualification. The closure 
reason will be CDC not eligible due to 12 month penalty 
period. 

 Third occurrence - lifetime disqualification. The closure reason 
will be CDC not eligible due to lifetime penalty. 

Bridges will send the DHS-4807, Notice of Child Development and 
Care Provider Ineligibility, and the DHS-4807-C, Client Notice of 
Child Development and Care Provider Ineligibility, when a 
disqualification is applied.  

Local offices can view disqualification information in Bridges on the 
Search Enrolled Provider screen in Inquiry or on the Provider Ser-
vice Details screen in Provider Management.  

Disqualifications will apply to all CDC service types. 

RECONSIDERA-
TIONS 

Providers are notified on the Provider Disqualification Notice that a 
reconsideration of the disqualification may be requested. The notice 
informs providers the reconsideration information must be 
requested within 15 calendar days of the date on the notice and 
sent to CDC Program Policy. No reconsiderations will be accepted 
after the 15-day time period, unless there are extenuating 
circumstances. 

RECONSIDERATION 
PROCESS 

When CDC Program Policy receives a request for reconsideration 
of the disqualification, any additional information provided will be 
reviewed. A reconsideration decision notice will be sent informing 
the provider  whether the disqualification has been reversed or 
upheld.  

The decision is final and no further requests for reconsideration will 
be granted. 
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ENROLLMENT OF A 
PROVIDER AFTER 
THE PENALTY 
PERIOD HAS ENDED 

When the penalty period has ended, the closure reason will change 
to CDC penalty period has ended. See BEM 704 for re-enroll-
ment requirements. 

If the provider is licensed/registered he/she will need to contact 
CDC Policy at 517-241-9492. CDC Policy will email the MDHHS-
Provider-Management@michigan.gov to reinstate the provider.  
The service begin date will be the first day that starts the pay period 
after the penalty period has ended, if the licensed/registered 
provider is eligible.  

Unlicensed providers will need to follow the enrollment process.  
See BEM 704. 

LEGAL BASE 

CDC 

The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act (42 
USC § 9858 et seq.), as amended by the CCDBG Act of 2014 
(Pub. L. 113-186). 
45 CFR Parts 98 and 99 
Social Security Act, as amended 2016 
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