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Overview 

In 2013, Michigan sex offender registration law was amended to add an annual $50 fee to 
the original initial $50 registration fee.  The annual fee is associated with sex offender 
registration verification requirements applicable to all registrants except those who are 
incarcerated.  Youth in secure residential placements, secure detention or jail are 
considered incarcerated.  Youth in non-secure placements or the community are not 
incarcerated.  The Michigan State Police, who operates the Michigan sex offender registry, 
has also revised forms used in sex offender notification, registration, and verification.  
Forms can be located at http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,1607,7-123-1645_3500---,00.html 

Questions and Answers 

Question:  It seems that a youth needs an ID card or driver’s license if they require 
registration as a sex offender.  How should I proceed? 
 
Answer:  A driver’s license or ID card is mandatory for any youth who is required to 
register as a sex offender.  If the ID card is not present, contact the nearest Secretary of 
State office to determine what documents are required for the ID card.  Coordinate with the 
facility to provide the birth record if the youth is in a facility and the facility requests 
assistance. 
 
Question:  I have received a new youth on my caseload.  The youth was adjudicated on a 
charge Criminal Sexual Conduct-3.  The court orders registration, but in my case review, I 
see none of the required forms.  What do I do? 
 
Answer:  Contact the court and seek clarification.  Forms documenting registration by the 
court should be obtained and filed in the youth’s case record. 
 
Question:  I was discussing my youth’s offense with him.  The youth had questions 
regarding the tier of the offense.  How do I find out which tier the offense belongs to and 
what this means? 
 
Answer:  In Michigan, state law splits sex offenses into three tiers (I, II, and III). Tiers 
determine the number of years a registrant is required to register and the frequency of 
required periodic verification.  Tiers can be found in the Sex Offenders Registration Act, 
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1994 PA295, as amended, MCL 28.721, et seq, and DHHS policy JJ3 300, Offense Class 
I-V, Sex Offender Registration, and DNA Profile Codes Exhibits VI-VIII. 
 
Question:  My youth is being de-escalated from a secure placement to a non-secure 
placement.  How does this affect the youth and my case? 
 
Answer:  De-escalation to a non-secure placement will remove the youth from an 
incarcerated status.  This will trigger sex offender verification requirements which will 
trigger the requirement to pay an annual $50 sex offender registration fee. 
 
Question:  My youth was in a non-secure residential treatment placement but the facility 
has issued a thirty-day letter citing aggressive behavior and violation of placement rules.  
They have asked for his removal from the placement and I am seeking a secure 
placement.  What does a placement failure and escalation in security level mean for the 
youth’s sex offender registration?   
 
Answer:  The move to a secure placement should trigger a reporting requirement to the 
Michigan State Police due to change in address.  Once the youth is placed in a secure 
placement, he is considered incarcerated.  While incarcerated, the verification 
requirements for sex offenders are held in abeyance. 
 
Question:  Who does the youth make annual $50 sex offender registration fee payment to? 
 
Answer:  The annual sex offender registration fee should be made to the local registration 
authority (local law enforcement office, Sheriff or the nearest Michigan State Police post). 
 
Question:  My sex offender says he has no money to fund the annual payment and claims 
his single parent has been unemployed a long time, is on the Bridge card, and using 
Medicaid.  What should I do? 
 
Answer:  The worker should verify the family’s claims and encourage the youth and mother 
to meet with the registration authority to seek relief. 
 
Question:  Wasn’t the sex offender registration law struck down by a judge’s ruling? 
 
Answer:  Portions of the law dealing with reporting status changes under certain 
circumstances were ruled unconstitutional by a Michigan court in early 2015.  Changes to 
the law may occur in the future.  The basic elements of the law remain unchanged. 


