
   
  

235 SOUTH GRAND AVENUE  P.O. BOX 30478  LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909 

www.michigan.gov  (517) 373-9202 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IV-D MEMORANDUM 2013-032 
 

TO:  All Friend of the Court (FOC) Staff 
 All Prosecuting Attorney (PA) Staff 

All Office of Child Support (OCS) Staff 
   
FROM:  Erin P. Frisch, Director 

 Office of Child Support 
 

DATE: December 9, 2013 

 
UPDATE(S): 
                  

 Manual 
 

 Form(s) 

 
SUBJECT: Updates to the Notice of Order of Filiation (DCH-0839)  
 
RESPONSE DUE: None 
 
POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: Upon receipt 
 
PURPOSE: 
 
This IV-D Memorandum announces updates to the Notice of Order of Filiation (DCH-
0839). The Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) modified the DCH-0839 
in October 2013 to reflect an increase in the birth record fee.  
 
The DCH-0839 is available in the Michigan Child Support Enforcement System 
(MiCSES) as Form 6130. Form 6130 will be updated to match the changes in the DCH-
0839, and the revised form will be uploaded to MiCSES on December 10, 2013.  
 
DISCUSSION: 
 
On October 15, 2013, Governor Snyder signed House Bill 4786 into law,1 effective 
immediately. This law increases the fees charged to customers who contact the State of 
Michigan for vital records services. It increases the fee for a new birth record from $40 
to $50, and increases the fee for additional copies of a birth record from $12 to $16 
each. 
 
These fees are shown on the DCH-0839. Court staff will complete and submit a DCH-
0839 when a judge declares a legal father in a court order. Recording a DCH-0839 does 
not require a fee, but a fee ($50) is required if a new birth record is to be created.  

                                                 
1
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In addition to the increases in the fees on the DCH-0839/Form 6130, the caption under 
the “Total Enclosed” line has changed – the revision date has been updated to 10-2013, 
and the phrase “By Authority of MCL 333.2891(9)(a)” has been added.2 
 

NECESSARY ACTION: 
 
Retain this IV-D Memorandum until further notice. This memorandum obsoletes Action 
Transmittal 2005-068, Changes for the Notice of Order of Filiation (DCH-0839), and its 
attached DCH-0839 form (Rev. 12/2004).  
 
REVIEW PARTICIPANTS:    
 

Establishment Work Improvement Team  
Program Leadership Group 

 
CONTACT PERSON:  
 

Ellen Durnan 
OCS Policy Analyst 
durnane@michigan.gov 
(517) 241-8051 

 
CC: 
 

None 
 
SUPPORTING REFERENCES:  
 

Federal 
None 
 
State 
Public Act 136 of 2013 

 
ATTACHMENT: 
 

DCH-0839 (MiCSES Form 6130):  Notice of Order of Filiation 
 
EPF/ED/SM 
 
 
 

                                                 
2
 MCL stands for “Michigan Compiled Law.” 
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