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EXPEDITED 
CONSENT CRITERIA 

Expedited adoption consent requests allow for expedient 
processing of approvals to avoid delays in achieving permanency. 
A request of the Michigan Children’s Institute (MCI) superintendent 
or his or her designee for expedited consent may be granted when 
the request meets certain criteria and there are no extenuating 
circumstances involved. 2011 PA 30 amended the MCI Law to 
allow the MCI superintendent to designate his or her authority for 
consent to adoption, guardianship, marriage, or emancipation of a 
child who is an MCI ward.  

County directors who have received written delegation from the 
MCI superintendent may consent to adoption when the case meets 
certain criteria. Consent packets meeting this criteria should be 
sent to the respective county child welfare director or county 
director for the county which had jurisdiction of the child in the child 
abuse and neglect proceeding. County directors must process 
expedited consents within 14 business days of receiving a 
complete consent packet. If the county director is unable to process 
the consent packet within 14 business days, he/she should forward 
the packet to the MCI office.  

All requests for expedited adoption consent must have supervisory 
approval that verifies all of the criteria/requirements below are met: 

 The recommended family is the only family requesting to adopt 
the child. There are no competing families for adoption and the 
child has been placed in the prospective adoptive home for at 
least six consecutive months. 

 The prospective adoptive home did not require a waiver to be 
signed due to the number of children in the home.  

 The prospective adoptive parent is not a married individual 
adopting without his/her spouse. 

 The child is residing in the adoptive home and all of his/her 
physical and emotional needs are being satisfactorily met. 

 This is the only child available for adoption or all available 
siblings (such as permanent court wards or MCI wards) are 
being adopted together. 
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 Record checks and clearances for all adults residing in the 
home are current; see ADM 0520, Background Checks, 
Clearances, Criminal History Checks, and Fingerprinting. 

 There is no history of criminal convictions. 

 The family has no foster home licensing investigations with a 
finding of rule noncompliance involving the care of a child or 
CPS investigations resulting in a finding of a preponderance of 
evidence of abuse or neglect. 

Note:  When the family has unsubstantiated CPS 
investigations or licensing complaints involving the care of a 
child, the consent request should not be treated as expedited. 

 Three references recommending the family for adoption of the 
children have been received. 

 There are no circumstances requiring additional documentation 
as defined by Adoption Family Assessment policy; see ADM 
0510, Circumstances Requiring Additional 
Documentation/Review. 

 Marriage and divorce verifications and medical evaluations of 
the adopting parent(s) are in the case record. 

Note:  Consent requests that involve an adoptive placement in 
another state must not be treated as an expedited consent. These 
requests must be sent to the Michigan Children’s Institute (MCI) 
superintendent’s office for review. This includes consent requests 
when the child is already placed with the recommended family. 
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