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Interstate Compact for Juveniles (1CJ)

Signed by all 50 states; implemented in state law, MCL 3.692
Governed nationally by Interstate Commission for Juveniles.

Commission charters regional and functional committees
(such as rules, finance, training).

State law requires compliance with ICJ by-laws and ICJ rules.
State operations overseen in Michigan by ICJ State Council.
Each state has a compact office (Michigan within DHHS).

All casework done in Juvenile Interstate Data System (JIDS).

WWww.juvenilecompact.org



Other Law/Compacts Interfacing with ICJ

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children
(ICPC)(DHHS).

— Where both compacts might apply, ICJ overrides ICPC.
Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision.

— Like ICJ, but for non-juveniles (Michigan Department of
Corrections).

Extradition law (return of juveniles).

Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act.
Human Trafficking laws.

For supervision, ICJ overrides ICPC.



History/Purpose

|CJ revised/re-enacted in 2008; replaced original 1955
compact.

Ensures effective monitoring of juvenile offenders moving
from one state to another.

Provides for welfare and protection of juveniles and the
public.

Serves as the primary legal process for returning juveniles.



Three Things ICJ Does

Provides for the transfer of supervision of juveniles on
probation or parole from one state to another.

Provides for travel permitting for parolees/probationers
traveling across state lines.

Provides for the return of juveniles who have escaped,
absconded (on probation or parole), or run away from
home/placement (including foster care and non-wards).



Communications between States under ICJ

State ICJ offices communicate between states.

If county office in State 1 wants to speak with other state
county office, contact their state ICJ office.

Both state ICJ offices must approve “local-to-local” in
advance.

Local to local comms are limited in scope and duration.

Local to local comms are documented by memo in JIDS file.



Eligibility for Transfer of Supervision

Youth must be classified as a “juvenile” by sending state.

Can be:

— Adjudicated delinquent.
— Adjudicated status offender.

— Juvenile with deferred adjudication.

Must relocate for 90 consecutive days in receiving state.
Must have 90 days or more of supervision remaining.
Must meet residential criteria.



Residential Criteria

Juvenile to reside in receiving state with
— Parent/legal guardian.
— Relative or non-relative.
— Independently. OR
Full time student™® at (*provide proof of enrollment)
— Accredited secondary school.
— Accredited university.
— College.
— Licensed/specialized training program.
Residential treatment facility, is not ICJ, handled via ICPC.



Transfer of Supervision Timeline

Referring court/agency to Michigan ICJ office (Day 1).
Michigan ICJ office to Receiving State ICJ office.
Receiving State ICJ office to Receiving State local office.
Home evaluation by local office (30 days).

Receiving State local office to Receiving State ICJ office.
Receiving State ICJ office to Michigan ICJ office.
Michigan ICJ office to referring court/agency (by Day 45).



Transfer of Sex Offenders

Under ICJ, juvenile sex offenders (of any kind) cannot leave
Michigan for any reason for more than 24 hours without ICJ
documentation (travel permit or transfer of supervision)
processed by Michigan ICJ and filed in the receiving state.

For ICJ purposes, any sex offense makes youth a juvenile sex
offender (whether the offense requires registration or not).

SORA laws of both states apply.
|CJ referral of sex offender is like ICJ probation referral but add
— Risk assessment (such as ERASOR).

— Safety plan including addressing conditions in the referral
home.



|CJ Home Evaluation Overview

Receiving state local office worker conducts home evaluation
— Documents on ICJ Form VIII.
Home evaluation may result in accepted or denied placement

— Parent in receiving state given strong deference re
approval.

Supervision does not begin until home evaluation complete
and accepted.



Authority to Accept/Deny Supervision

Only the ICJ Compact Administrator or Designee can
approve/deny supervision of a referred case.

Acceptable reasons to deny supervision:
— Unsuitable placement.

— Juvenile not in substantial compliance with conditions of
supervision required by either state.

Juvenile’s age or offense cannot be used as basis for denial.



Mandatory Acceptance of Supervision

The receiving state SHALL ACCEPT supervision when:

— The juvenile has no custodial parent or legal guardian
remaining in the sending state, and

— The juvenile does have a custodial parent or legal guardian
residing in the receiving state.



Supervision/Services Requirements

The receiving state assumes the duties of supervision when it
accepts the transfer (on the home evaluation report). These
duties include:

— Reporting (quarterly, violation, or absconder reports).

— Visiting the juvenile.

— Monitoring compliance with probation/parole conditions.

— Being involved with the youth if he/she has Michigan legal issues.

— Travel permitting if the youth will leave Michigan for more than 24
hours.



Paying Restitution and Fees

The sending court provides the payment schedule and payee
information to the receiving state in its referral.

— There should be clear written directives from the court as to the

amount owed, when it is due, where payment is made, and acceptable
method(s) of payment.

The juvenile and/or their family pay the restitution

payment/fines directly to the adjudicating court in the
sending state.

— Supervising officer/caseworker encourages youth to make payments.

|CJ officers do not handle money/payments.



Treatment Services

The sending agency/court is financially responsible for
services ordered when:

— They are not available through the supervising agency in the receiving
state.

— They cannot be obtained through Medicaid, private insurance, or
other payer.

The sending state determines the age of majority and
duration of supervision.

MiSACWIS does not pay for any ICJ treatment services and ICJ
cannot reimburse.



|ICJ Progress Reports

ICJ Form 1X in JIDS.

Due at least every 90 calendar days.

Additional reports are provided when:
— Concerns arise over the juvenile (Violation Report).
— The juvenile absconds (Absconder Report).

The local office is expected to report violations to their state’s
|CJ office as soon as possible.



Reporting Violations/Violation Reports

If the supervised juvenile is out of compliance, the receiving
state sends an ICJ Violation Report to the sending state via
JIDS.

The sending state must respond with actions to be taken
within 10 days of receipt of the Violation Report.

Actions may include retaking of the youth back to the sending
state (usually the sending state requests continued
supervision).



Travel Permits

Mandatory for juveniles traveling out-of-state for more than
24 hours under any of the following circumstances:

— Sex-related offense (registerable or not).

— Violent offense resulting in personal injury or death.
— Offense with a weapon.

— State wards.

— Juveniles testing placement in another state*

*Allows for travel to placement prior to home evaluation completion.



Travel Permits (continued)

Maximum permit length/duration is 90 calendar days.

Authorized travel permit must be provided and received prior
to juvenile movement to the other state (processed via JIDS).

Receiving state ICJ office sends permit to local office of visit.

If for more than 30 days, permit or memo must include
language that states how juvenile is to report to sending
court/agency at intervals not to exceed 30 days.

In Michigan, local courts/agencies may file permits for cases
where not otherwise required by ICJ rule (for example, status
offenders).

Juvenile/family should maintain copy of permit with them.



Return of Juveniles

Return of a juvenile is required when:
— A non-delinquent juvenile runs away to another state.

— Ajuvenile is an escapee, absconder, or accused delinquent
and flees to another state.

— A juvenile under Compact supervision has a failed
placement (retaking).

Placement after return, investigation, and corrective actions
(if any) are considered the purview of the court/agency.



Release of Runaway to Parent/Legal Guardian

Within 24 hours of apprehension, authorities may release a
runaway to their parent or legal guardian (excluding
weekends and holidays) without an ICJ hearing as required
under rule 6-102.

— Not applicable if abuse/neglect is suspected.

After 24 hours, holding authorities must contact the holding
state ICJ office.



Holding Runaways in Secure Facilities

Runaways are held in secure facilities if:

— Parent pickup is not happening and held more than 24
hours.

— They are endangering themselves or others.
— Holding state law and juvenile age determine facility type.
OJJDP Exclusion

— Juveniles held pursuant to the ICJ are excluded from the
deinstitutionalization of status offenders requirements *.

— *holding non-delinqguent runaways in detention is an
approved deviation (most shelters provide no security).



Voluntary Returns of Juveniles

Voluntary is most common scenario (about 95% of returns).

Usually reported by holding state law enforcement or ICJ
office.

Juvenile is subject of a hearing before judge in holding state.
— GAL may be appointed, at court discretion, optional.

If juvenile consents to return, juvenile signs ICJ Form Ill.
— If not, returns to detention and start involuntary return (requisition).

Form lll sent to home state who funds/arranges transport.
— Michigan ICJ office, with Travelers Aid, and Conlin Travel

— Form Il youth fly normally fly home without escort via
commercial airlines; they are watched in layovers.



Voluntary Return (continued)

For allegations of abuse/neglect associated with return:
— Holding state authorities notify holding state ICJ office.
— Holding state ICJ office notifies home state ICJ office.

— Home state ICJ office works with appropriate court/agency
to effect safe return of the juvenile.

— Form Il must indicate who will assume responsibility for
the juvenile if the juvenile is not returning to parent/legal
guardian.



Non-voluntary Return Overview

Rule 6-103 for returning non-delinquent runaways and/or
accused status offenders.

Rule 6-103A for juveniles who are escapees, absconders, or
accused delinquents.

When notified of refusal to voluntarily return, court/agency in
home state must prepare ICJ requisition within 60 days of
being notified.



Non-Delinquent Returns

Parent, legal guardian or custodial agency in home state must
petition the court for a requisition. Petition includes:

Juvenile name and date of birth.

Name of petitioner.

Basis of entitlement to juvenile custody.
Circumstances surround running away.
Location, if known, when petition to be filed.

Other information showing juvenile is not emancipated and is
endangering his/her welfare or that of others.

Petition is verified by affidavit and accompanied by certified
copies of documents showing entitlement to custody of
juvenile.



Non-Delinquent Returns (continued)

The judge in the home state determines if:
— Petitioner is entitled to legal custody.
— Juvenile ran away without consent.
— The juvenile is/is not an emancipated minor.
— Itis in the best interest of the juvenile to return.

On determination of best interest, the judge signs the ICJ
Form I.



Escapee, Absconder, or Accused Delinquent
Return

The court in the home state presents a completed ICJ Form |l
and certified copies of supporting documents to their state ICJ
office.

— Judgment.

— Order of adjudication/commitment.

— Petition alleging delinquency.
The home state ICJ office reviews the documents enters the

documents in JIDS and sends the originals to the holding state
|CJ office.

The holding state ICJ office relays the originals to the
applicable court in the holding state.



scapee, Absconder, Accused Delinquent Return
(continued)

If not already detained, the holding state court shall order the

juvenile be held pending a hearing to determine if the
requisition is in order.

— Hearing required within 30 days of receipt of a requisition.
The holding state court will review the package for adequacy.

The hold state court will either order the youth returned to
the home state or issue findings as the court deems
appropriate.

The juvenile may change his/her mind and sign a Form Ill at
any time up to and at the hearing.

Youth returned over their objection must be escorted on
return.



Summary

Three functions of ICJ

— Probation Supervision.
— Travel Permitting.

— Returns.

Supervision (Home evaluation, status reports, monitoring)
Returns

— Escapees and Absconders.

— Non-delinquent runaways including non-wards.

For ICJ training, contact Michigan ICJ office, 517-373-3831
Questions or Comments???



